We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“actual and honest review:- please avoid this hotel”
Review of Bella Vista Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bella Vista Resort
Ranked #62 of 101 Hotels in Munnar
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I had booked hotel Vella vista in Munnar which was advertised as a resort with 3 star facilities and within 10 Kms of Munnar.

When I came to check in but seeing the state of facilities i didn't check in and stayed in another hotel.

Here are some facts:-

1.its 15 km from Munnar city centre actually in a totally secluded place far from human habitation.Well 15 kilometers is too much when you are in hills.The place is dark and you cant stay with family.

2. It's not even a resort, not an hotel but a glorified home stay. They advertise as a 3 star hotel but actually a patch of bungalows. The pictures are even photoshopped and you will be shocked when you actually see this hotel.

3. The rooms are improper and filthy . I had paid for an extra bed but only allotted a pillow.The assistants are very shabby and rooms are filled with mosquitos


4.lack of hygiene all around

There are many hotels within the same range and i a much much better state. This hotel is not even worth more than 500 rupees a night and they charge 2000 for which you can get much better rooms.

I am also surprised how can anybody rate this as a good hotel . I booked through Make My Trip so got cheated ,but this hotel hardly gets any walk in guests.

Even i feel the reviews of this hotel are fudged as after paying 2K for a room in this hotel nobody am sure can rate this as excellent.

Room Tip: Don't book this hotel. At this price you will get many better options.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank PD007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rajeevaugustine, Owner at Bella Vista Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Dear Guest, thank you very much for staying with us and sharing your experience .
Sorry for the inconvenience happened here in our property, we really apologise
1. Our property is 11 kilometres from Munnar town in the website also mentioned that 11 km then u argued that 15 km ,the place is not dark at all. so many hotels and resorts are near.
2. You are the first person said that Bella vista is a home stay we don’t know why ?
3. Regarding the extra bed we only provide the extra bed once the guest checked in you say that we only provide extra mattress
4. We have lot of guest from different region not the first guest from Make my trip side.
That date our resort was full, no complaints from guest ,4 to5 rooms in makemytrip side gust . with praises and constructive criticism which simply means that human taste differs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (292)
There are newer reviews for Bella Vista Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 292 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

I checked into this hotel just last week,made a booking online.since i was travelling from cochin the hotel staff asked if i needed a hiredcab,to which i said yes. The cab came at exactly the time i had asked, and the service was upto the mark.i had booked an ambience room (the room with the medium price

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 3,456,865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rajeevaugustine, Owner at Bella Vista Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear Guest,
We at Bellavista Resorts would like to Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your trip to Munnar. We are extremely delighted to learn that you had a pleasant and memorable stay with us. Your comments regarding our hospitality and service is highly appreciated and our entire team would be made known of the same. Appreciation from guests are a great motivating factor for us and that keeps us going and we assure you that we will strive harder to make it even more memorable the next time around. Do come back to stay with us.
Thank you. Rajeev Augustine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Was there at bella vista last month gud experience i ever had in a resort nice location gud fud wel service with experienced staff so peaceful soroundings i def suggest al my friends and cousins to belavista only

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nidhilonge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Tom and his staff were excellent. This is important as you are a good distance from the town of Munnar or any other food/drinks. Food in the restaurant could not be faulted.Room was clean but the decor was a little tired. Grat views and the garden was extremely well kept.

Room Tip: Buy beer in Munnar and put it in the hotel fridge
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2onholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Best thing about the place is that its extremely serene with an amazing view!

It is slightly far from the city, so go here if you have your own transport.

I could also see some ants in the room, which was slightly a buzz kill.

But in the end, they provided an upgrade, for no extra charge, so i cant complain.

Staff, is friendly and helpful!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
4  Thank Desh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

One of the perfect place for a beautiful stay in the outskirts of Munnar... No doubt one of the good hotel among all the hotels I saw in Munnar. Rooms were Big, spacious & clean and staffs are courteous.The view from the hotel is beyond description. Quiet and calm surroundings, a good place to relax & enjoy with your family.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank wildghats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

The Resort has excellent location. We booked super deluxe cottage which were very big in size. The rooms are very clean and room service is good. The small garden with 2 ducks is perfect entertainment for small kids. The breakfast served is excellent. I would recommend all to book rooms from the higher floor to get decent view of the valley. During our stay we order a la carte lunch when we reached the hotel. The food was very Good and service was very nice (thanks for Mr.vinod).
.
The front office Manager Mr. Tom & Rajeev was very cooperative and helped us a lot. Overall we had a very good experience.
place is really wonderful we enjoy the food, service and the dance thank you Bellavista staff...i (just Bellavista started campfire with DJ ground that is upper graund )recommend this place for the families. We will visit again n again...............A big cheers to all smiling staff..........

Room Tip: super deluxe cottage
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank vidhuvarghese1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munnar hotels
16.8 mi away
Camp Noel
Camp Noel
#1 of 1 in Pazhathottam
539 reviews
3.8 mi away
Bellmount Resorts
Bellmount Resorts
#46 of 101 in Munnar
343 reviews
0.3 mi away
Spice Country Resorts
Spice Country Resorts
#8 of 14 in Chithirapuram
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Woodpecker Resort
Woodpecker Resort
#8 of 8 in Pothamedu
103 reviews
0.3 mi away
Munnar Tea Country Resort
Munnar Tea Country Resort
#4 of 14 in Chithirapuram
946 reviews
2.5 mi away
Season7, The Nature Resort
Season7, The Nature Resort
#7 of 14 in Chithirapuram
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Resort

Address: Chithirapuram Post, Munnar 685565, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Munnar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 101 Hotels in Munnar
Price Range: $28 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bella Vista Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bella Vista Resort is beautifully set on a magnificent hillside in the very calm and virgin hamlet called Chithirapuram. The Bella Vista Resort is an ideal place to take refuge from the maddening crowd and pressures of everyday life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bella Vista Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing