We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT WORTH STAY”
Review of Bella Vista Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bella Vista Resort
Ranked #58 of 98 Hotels in Munnar
Ranchi, India
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“NOT WORTH STAY”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

its just a budget hotel. faulty sanitary fittings. room telephone does not work. cable TV has only local channels. staff though cordial but highly unskilled and inexperienced. horrible menu. poor food preparation. complimentary breakfast does not even offer eggs to order... never make mistake of staying there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vs58Chennai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    66
    37
    28
    39
See reviews for
102
122
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We checked in on the 11th of december 2012 and observed that the location of the place was horrible being 13 km away from the main city. there was no view of munnar at all from anywhere near the hotel. Although the outer look is beauiful the interior is horrible. The bathroom glass was broken and nobody cared whether the room was cleaned or not. The service itself was far below the bar and the manager and attendants were rude and unhelpful. They even forced me to partake of a completely vegetarian and south indian menu for the comlipentary breakfast. Thy would not listen to our complaints and instead stated that non veg was chargeable. There s no parking space or drivers' quarters either. So you can see why no one in their right mind could ever want to stay there.

Room Tip: Think twice before you go
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ANANTA9001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rajeevaugustine, Owner at Bella Vista Resort, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
it is painful to note that your stay with us was miserable. We are genuinely sorry that you ended up in the life in hell. We have taken every effort to portray the real picture of the unique property through our website and all other means available to us.
The peak season in September to January unfortunately due to high volumes of guest, the crowds would have affected our service … which was not supposed to happen.
We value your remarks. I also promise you that the staff will be given proper training to ensure prompt service to our valuable guests. Bellavista to Munnar 10 km distance only we are mentioned all details in website.
Surprisingly, we have had 20 to 22 guest per day stayed with us, with praises and constructive criticism which simply means that human taste differs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Munnar hotels

Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 13, 2012

We had a wonder ful time at munnar while staying with Bella vista. rates were highbut was worth, we had 2 rooms on top floor where the view were excellent,very clean and well maintained. would be back to Bella vista for our next trip.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 421Tara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rajeevaugustine, Owner at Bella Vista Resort, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
We at Bellavista Resorts would like to Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your trip to Munnar. We are extremely delighted to learn that you had a pleasant and memorable stay with us. Your comments regarding our hospitality and service is highly appreciated and our entire team would be made known of the same. Appreciation from guests are a great motivating factor for us and that keeps us going and we assure you that we will strive harder to make it even more memorable the next time around. Do come back to stay with us.
Thank you. Rajeev Augustine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calicut, Kerala, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 11, 2012

it was really wonderful when we had two days in Bella Vista. The most important thing is, the location . it's in a calm and quite area.. superb greenery in and around... we enjoyed the food and services a lot... a special thanks to Mr. Rajive for his superb Hospitality...
we will come again...
Thanks and regards
Tony

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tonyttnv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rajeevaugustine, Owner at Bella Vista Resort, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
We at Bellavista Resorts would like to Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your trip to Munnar. We are extremely delighted to learn that you had a pleasant and memorable stay with us. Your comments regarding our hospitality and service is highly appreciated and our entire team would be made known of the same. Appreciation from guests are a great motivating factor for us and that keeps us going and we assure you that we will strive harder to make it even more memorable the next time around. Do come back to stay with us.
Thank you. Rajeev Augustine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I booked this resort via Makemytrip after checking the pictures on their website. On reaching the resort, the Honeymoon Cottage showed to me was completely different from the pictures. The room had rotten wooden floors, a small fan with no regulator, a dimly lit bathroom with a broken commode due to which the entire room was filled with stench and a sitout perfect to get bitten by insects. I complained to the manager and he offered to shift me to a different room if i pay for the upgrade.

I called MMT and asked to me accommodated to a different hotel. When MMT spoke to the manager, he agreed to shift us to a different room which was no better than the previous one(pictures attached). And this room was the top most room they had in the resort. I asked to be put in a different room but the manager declined saying all rooms are booked. I stayed in the resort for 2 nights and did not see any activity on those rooms(no lights, no guests for bf, etc.)

Anyways, the room allocated to me was as pathetic as the previous one. The bed was rotting, there were spiders and insects in the room, the paint on the walls was falling off, the light fittings had been ripped out and the management never bothered to get them installed again.

Another weak point for this hotel is that its around 12 kms away from Munnar town and you can either take a bus or auto to town. But after sundown, the roads are deserted and it becomes unsafe of couples or families to travel alone. Since the resort is in an isolated location, you have no option than to eat at their restaurant where the prices are sky high. The egg roast(Egg Curry) that costed me around 130 rupees had 1 egg only. A butter roti for 30 rupees was as this as paper and had nutralite on it. Aloo Zeera had aloo from dosa stuffing with zeera sprinkled on it. Dont bother asking the restaurant staff about the food quality as they are impolite and you will not get a straight answer.

The breakfast usually consisted of Toast, Dosa, Sambhar, Chutney and Coffee. You can get this for 30 rupees in Munnar Town.

If the owner of the resort invests a little more and hires decent staff instead of giving explanations here, this resort could be turned around.

I would not recommend staying here. You can get a far better accommodation anywhere else in Munnar for less tariff.

Room Tip: Dont stay here. Look around and you will find cheaper and better accomodations
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Discoverer00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Just last week we had a very bad experience at this Hotel Bella Vista at Munnar. We had booked our rooms by paying full advance online & confirmed our booking by calling the hotel twice. We had a very bad surprise when we actually reached the place, to know that our reserved rooms were given to someone else ( even though we had even called them while travelling from Cochin to Munnar ). We were offered very substandard quality rooms of a very small size & lacking basic amenities like wardrobe, clean linen,bath towels, minibar etc. The bathroom was in a pathetic condition with leaking taps, plastic doors with broken hardware etc. Ceiling fan regulator was not in working condition.
The staff was very rude & non co operative. Since we had paid advance thru' Expedia.com, we were told to talk to them & hotel manager was not ready to return our money. So we had no choice but to accept whatever rooms they gave to us. ( Munnar was already fully booked due to holiday rush ) Our advise, please check thoroughly about hotels before doing online bookings.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank PRAVIN0112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rajeevaugustine, Owner at Bella Vista Resort, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Sorry for the inconvenience happened here, we apologies



We don’t have mini bar facility in the rooms please contact expedia for that, if you book thourgh expedia we cant cancel the booking if you book though our online site its possible to cancel the booking as per the cancellation policy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munnar hotels
16.8 mi away
Camp Noel
Camp Noel
#1 of 1 in Pazhathottam
535 reviews
3.8 mi away
Bellmount Resorts
Bellmount Resorts
#52 of 98 in Munnar
340 reviews
0.3 mi away
Spice Country Resorts
Spice Country Resorts
#8 of 14 in Chithirapuram
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Season7, The Nature Resort
Season7, The Nature Resort
#7 of 14 in Chithirapuram
125 reviews
0.3 mi away
Munnar Tea Country Resort
Munnar Tea Country Resort
#3 of 14 in Chithirapuram
911 reviews
4.3 mi away
Woodpecker Resort
Woodpecker Resort
#8 of 8 in Pothamedu
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Resort

Property: Bella Vista Resort
Address: Chithirapuram Post, Munnar 685565, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Munnar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 98 Hotels in Munnar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bella Vista Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bella Vista Resort is beautifully set on a magnificent hillside in the very calm and virgin hamlet called Chithirapuram. The Bella Vista Resort is an ideal place to take refuge from the maddening crowd and pressures of everyday life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Bella Vista Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing