We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay with kid !!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wild Elephant Eco Friendly Resort
Ranked #21 of 100 Hotels in Munnar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We booked the standard suite for 2 nights with my one year old daughter and it was a wonderful experience. Although the resort is located somewhat inside, the stay was comfortable and the manager and waiters are very much helpful and kind enough to prepare baby food for my daughter. The rooms are clean. The resort location is awesome and very much close to nature..... Would definitely recommend it for family. Thanks for making our stay in Munnar memorable !!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank Venkateswarara ... M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (266)
There are newer reviews for Wild Elephant Eco Friendly Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 266 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2013

Visited elephant resort 1/11 and 2/11. It was a wonderful experience. We stayed at the bamboo cottage. The view from the cottage was superb!! The resort itself is very beautiful.The resort is nestled in a very quiet place , little far from munnar town, but if you are looking for views and silence, go for it, it is the best you will find.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Varsha N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Being a mallu suggested this resort to my other state colleagues. Contact person Anil confirmed the so called bamboo cottage though he didn't send the email confirmation saying internet is not working and assured cottage availability without advance. Anil confirmed the cottages when we started from Cochin. On reaching Munnar, Anil's phone as well as all other munnar numbers of this resort became not reachable. Somehow we managed to find the resort which is situated 20kms away from Munnar @ night 9. Reji, the incharge came with the news Anil has left with the message: Non availablity of cottage or any rooms as advance was not paid. Further communication with cochin office was attended by Seetharaman(the same guy who is writing meaningless excuses for bad reviews here), ended up to be meaningless as he was shielding Anil (Excuses like no advance and nowhere in munnar rooms will be available today). By then the in charge Reji arranged 2 below average double rooms in nearby resort Exotica. The booked cottage as we were able to see was occupied by a larger group(Of course more people means more money). As assured next day we were moved to cottage but ended up paying almost double than what was promised. Before writing this review only we found out the online booking options through trip advisor with much cheaper rates for the so called bamboo cottage. The whole munnar turned out to be disaster because of the attitude of this single guy, Anil.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank travelfreakfrombang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Had worst experience with this resort. Made phone booking for cottage and on reaching there we were informed cottages were already occupied and no rooms are available. Anil with whom booking was made was not reachable as his phone was switched off. Later accommodated in a nearby resort.

Room Tip: Dont trust the manager Anil. Better to book online.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bangreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We booked this hotel looking at the good ratings on trip advisor.It turned out to be a nightmare
We had been last week. We had booked the bamboo cottage.

Cottage was filled with cockroaches and large spiders. (I have pictures of them ).The lighting in the room is very very dim, so its difficult to make out that there are insects.

No phones in the rooms, so we had to go to the reception to catch a person who gave us a
repellant to chase these insects.


We could hear the sound of a rat at night , but we just brushed it off thinking it was an imagination.In the morning we saw the rat running across the room.

The resort is very far from Munnar town, the roads are not so good so the travel is dangerous at night. It took us around 2 hours from munnar town .

The food is pretty average. Just one item will be served on the breakfast which they claim to be be a buffet.Only the buffet is complimentary . Any other meals is very expensive.

Not much place within the resort. swimming pool seemed dirty.No phones in the rooms.
We left the resort within one day .

They charge around 6700 Rs for the cottage.I could have got a suite in munnar town in a decent hotel.

Worst place to stay in , Lucky to escape the rats , spiders and cockroaches !

Room Tip: Avoid this place .
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank raju84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Disgusting .the staff were unresponsive
,the bamboo cottage was filled with spiders ,insects and a rat. The food was average .it is definitely not worth the money and most definitely not for the kids.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank legoka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We had been to this resort for two days from 14th Oct to 16th Oct 2013. I wasn't exactly sure how this resort would turn out to be when I booked it on the Internet. But I was really amazed by the enchanting greenery and mind-boggling view around the resort. You can have the view of the forests, mountains, tea estates and even a waterfall (you may go on a trek to the waterfalls which must be 20 minutes walking distance from the resort) from this magnificent resort. You must visit yourself to believe.

This resort is very far from Munnar town (around 24 kms), therefore you need to make transport arrangements to get to the hotel and back to the town. But the additional expense is worth the experience that you will cherish over your life time.

We stayed in the standard non-air conditioned room. There wasn't any television or telephone, which are a bare essential in today's life. However, the leaf cottage and tree house are also worth for the beautiful view directly from your room.

Hospitality was excellent. The resort manager Anil was very helpful and accommodative.

Food was a little bit of a spoil-sport though the food prices were very resonable.

I hereby provide the ratings for the resort.
Location -5 / 5
Hospitality - 5 / 5
Infrastructure - 3.5 / 5
Food - 3 / 5
Overall Experience - 4 / 5

Room Tip: The resort plans to put up televisons and telphone in all the 4 standard non-air conditioned rooms...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sandeep S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munnar hotels
13.7 mi away
Camp Noel
Camp Noel
#1 of 1 in Pazhathottam
539 reviews
5.9 mi away
Season7, The Nature Resort
Season7, The Nature Resort
#7 of 14 in Chithirapuram
129 reviews
0.2 mi away
Woodpecker Resort
Woodpecker Resort
#8 of 8 in Pothamedu
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Bella Vista Resort
Bella Vista Resort
#58 of 100 in Munnar
292 reviews
4.2 mi away
Spice Country Resorts
Spice Country Resorts
#8 of 14 in Chithirapuram
368 reviews
3.4 mi away
Misty Mountain Resort
Misty Mountain Resort
#4 of 9 in Pallivasal
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Elephant Eco Friendly Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Elephant Eco Friendly Resort

Address: Viripara | Near Letchmi Tea Estate, Munnar 685611, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Munnar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Munnar
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Munnar
Price Range: $43 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wild Elephant Eco Friendly Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by Mountains,Tea Gardens and a Waterfall it is a great setting of Nature with all its bounties.A perfect hideout for people who want to relax in a peaceful environment without any disturbance, enjoying the beauty of pristine nature relaxing near the pool and hearing the sounds of crickets and the gurgling waterfall which can be viewed from the resort.The cottages and rooms are also aesthetically designed to gel with Nature. The Leaf cottage made partly of Bamboo leaf, The Mud cottage made of Mud and the Treetop cottage which has a Deck perched on a tree.The rooms have a good view of the swimming pool and the mountains.The resort has a restaurant where homely food served which is all prepared fresh with vegetables grown within the estate of the resort itself.Guests can trek down to the waterfall nearby and enjoy the tea estates and the Nature around or choose to take a Jeep safari which would take them into the wilderness where they can see numerous waterfalls, flowing rivers, a fish pond,hanging bridges etc.They can also choose to travel to Munnar for sightseeing and boating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Wild Elephant Eco Friendly Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wild Elephant Eco Friendly Hotel Munnar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing