We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great budget accommodation in the tea plantations”
Review of Zina Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Munnar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Zina Cottage
Ranked #15 of 161 Specialty Lodging in Munnar
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great budget accommodation in the tea plantations”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We came to Zina cottage after spending one night at a cheaper place in town. Considering that most of the places with this kind of view in Munnar are much more expensive, zina is actually very well priced. Yes, the rooms are very basic, but comfortable enough and very spacious. They had hot water, toilet paper, soap and extra blankets if needed. The location is superb and the owners lovely and helpful. A much better option than anywhere in town!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlemissgina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    35
    15
    13
    13
See reviews for
15
54
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Set on a tea plantation this was a beautiful setting. The service was excellent and the food was great. We went on a 5hr hike with the gentleman who manages the place and it was good time. The room was quite spacious and clean. Hot is by the bucket but actually hot.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Skhoury83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

Such a beautiful place to stay, the best in Munnar. Set in old Munnar amongst the tea plantations making this place the perfect getaway. Me and my friend stayed longer then expected due to its serene and welcoming atmosphere. Valou was absolutely amazing, the perfect host! Helped him cook dinner on many nights!
And if you want an honest opinion on anything just ask.
Really couldnt say one bad thing about Zina. If you're offered to do a trek, say yes! Much better then these organised tourist traps.
A big thank you to everyone there!
Will not forget our stay.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank CSAmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Zina Cottage is clearly overrated by the Lonely Planet and sad enough they know it and definitely overcharge on the rooms.
First impression was rather bad since our room (the cheapest) was very old-fashioned, damp and cold, quite dark, the windows didn't shut properly and it just didn't seem entirely clean. Fair enough the bathroom was newly decorated and we had hot water. The walls are rather hear-through but the bonus is the outdoor area with an absolutely lovely view over the tea plantations.
Overall we spent two nights at Zina Cottage and after the first few hours I didn't regret our choice. Somehow the Cottage has its charme and the great hike with evening talks to beer or afternoon reading in the sun definitely brightened up the memory of the place.
Therefore I think the place is worth a visit if you know what you're going for, I just wish they would go down with their prices a little since it seems not appropriate for the place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Having read positive reviews about Zina Cottage on Trip Advisor and Lonely Planet, I decided to stay at Zina Cottage for a couple of days during my trip to Munnar.

I'm so glad I did! Zina Cottage is located up in the hills, in the middle of a tea estate.

With no signboards leading the way, it would be tricky to say the least, to find the place without giving its trusted Manager, Velu a call. I had read positive feedback about Velu too and now I know why. He's extremely helpful and resourceful; be it organizing a pick-up when you're stranded in some part of town or taking you on a thrilling trek through the mountains near by. He will ensure you enjoy your stay at Zina Cottage.

The view from the resort and location are Zina's highlights. Their rooms are fairly basic and clean; hot water is available 24/7, unfortunately not in the shower (you'll have to make do with a bucket instead).

They serve a healthy breakfast of eggs (done however you like), toast, butter and jam, tea/coffee and a plate of vegetable salad (odd that it's veg not fruit, but I'm not complaining). However for all other meals, you'll have to go down to the city and find a restaurant.

If you're looking for a refreshing change of scenery, Zina Cottage won't disappoint. The owner of Zina also has a place in the city, called JJ Cottage. However, I wouldn't recommend it. Zina's charm is its location, specifically the fact that it's away from the clutter and chaos of Munnar city.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hazel_c719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 15, 2013

After 4 weeks in India, the cheapest and the simplest accommodation turned out to be the best one. Yes, only bucket shower, yes, only basic furniture. But after half a day of walking through spectacularly mountainous tea plantations (with or without guide from the hotel) and following trails of wild elephants, you sit in the evening on the terrasse surrounded by tea plantations, sipping tea, reading or chatting with the kind and serene hotel manager and then immediately fall asleep dreaming of a visit by one of the elephants you have missed on the way.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simbaddf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We had problems finding accommodation in Munnar and came to Zina cottages as the lonely planet recommended this place for the hospitality. Upon arrival the youth who was permanently plugged into his earphones and seems to be running the place showed us to the rooms, and then disappeared. We had no idea where he went and where the reception was, or who to contact if we needed help or information.
The rooms are very basic as you'd expect for the money, damp and not particularly fresh smelling. There was no toilet paper, no shower and only a single sheet for the double bed which was rather annoying in the cold weather.
We had to book a rickshaw into town the next morning as we couldn't find out whether breakfast was included (we still don't know) and managed to find the plugged in youth hanging out in the kitchen when it came to paying.
Having read about the hospitality at this place I don't know who the owner has left running it in their absence but they would do well to sort them out as this level of service is not acceptable at any hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank howsey51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munnar hotels
0.2 mi away
Woodpecker Resort
Woodpecker Resort
#8 of 8 in Pothamedu
101 reviews
13.6 mi away
Camp Noel
Camp Noel
#1 of 1 in Pazhathottam
528 reviews
4.0 mi away
Munnar Tea Country Resort
Munnar Tea Country Resort
#3 of 14 in Chithirapuram
869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
The Leaf Munnar
The Leaf Munnar
#2 of 14 in Chithirapuram
488 reviews
4.3 mi away
Moselberg Riverside Cottages
0.4 mi away
KTDC Tea County Munnar
KTDC Tea County Munnar
#12 of 97 in Munnar
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zina Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zina Cottage

Property: Zina Cottage
Address: Old Munnar, Seven Mallay Est | near Lions school,moolakkada,munnar, Munnar 685613, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Munnar
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 161 Specialty Lodging in Munnar
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hi, its a cottage in middle of tea plantation,from munnar town 2km far away to this place,very clam and quit place,everyone can feel the freshness of the nature ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Zina Cottages Hotel Munnar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing