We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unexplored side of nature resort.”
Review of Nature Zone Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nature Zone Resort
Ranked #6 of 164 Specialty Lodging in Munnar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 24, 2013

It was my first stay in tree house and it was the most amazing experience I could have while traveling. I would just put few lines to share my experience.
1) The ride from munnar in a jeep will be the most adventures drive you will remember once you are back home. I give it 10 out of 10. Bumpy ride in tree gardens. Excellent !!
2) Our tree house was on hieght and in front of that it was forest. You can imagine staying in forest when you are sitting in your balcony. It was beautiful.
3) The hotel will arrange a tracking for you. Enjoy sunset its beautiful.
4) People are very helping and nice and very good food.
5) Do not expect very fast service as this is a forest resort and its huge property. But they will try best to help you with best service.

Room Tip: Take the forest side tree house or sky view tents. Go with full love of nature and you will see it h...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mohit_Vyas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (350)
There are newer reviews for Nature Zone Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 350 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2013

This property was strongly recommended by our tour planner, especially suggesting that my 5 year old daughter would lover the experience. And it did exceed our expectations and left us exciting moments.

To start with this property is off road and can only be accessed by a 4x4 wheel drive. Remember to be in touch with the front office staff and time out your jeep pick up at the base. The first 3kms is tarred road, and within minutes you hit the off road trail to nature zone resort.

I promptly wore my slip disc belt, that I had carried just in case I needed one.
Caution: If you have any back injuries try to seat in the front seat, would not make much difference but could be better.

Rooms: The resort has a combination of Tents and Tree top rooms. We had booked a tree house. The rooms are spacious with bare minimum comforts, cost beds & attached bathroom. The minimalism in the rooms made the stay special. Except the lights, there was fan, tv. In the night this made for a thrilling experience in the jungle with absolute no artificial sounds to disturb the stillness of the wild.

The rooms and the facility were well maintained and hygenic. Would be only be disappointment if one is not prepared to experience wilderness in it's raw form.

Food: Food Was amazing. Especially when we reached late post lunch hours the chef made some spicy chicken fry, which was lip smacking.

The viewing point from the resort gives one of the most beautiful views of the Munnar valley. One could spends hours just idling away if one has the time.


Points to remember:
1. Carry a torch, would be handy especially if you are walking from the restuarant area back to your tree house. It's a dimly lit but thrilling 5- minute walk.
2. No phones in the room: Hence plan and order you food, toiletries in advance.I felt it was just nice to be without any room phone.

Overall, a must place to stay if you appreciate nature and are an adventure lover.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandar_Karnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We recently spent one night here as part of an 8 day tour with In Love with Kerala. The ride up to the “Nature Zone” was bumpy, but exceptionally beautiful. A special jeep transfer must be arranged, and the windy dirt road leads through peaceful tea fields and hilltop forests. Unlike the other 2 days we spent getting to, driving around and returning from Munnar, we were the only people on the trail…no honking jeeps or giant buses full of other tourists. It was beautiful and pristine.

Unfortunately, the above are the only positive things I can say in reviewing this establishment. My wife and I both regret ever disembarking that jeep at Nature Zone, we should have just rode back in to town and stayed at a decent hotel! I will separate the complaints we had with this “resort” into three sections:

1) Noise pollution and lack of cleanliness of the grounds.
All hope for a peaceful and quiet stay was ruined by kitchen staff blaring a Bollywood movie. The kitchen was at least 300 meters down the hill, but we could hear every note/song and word of the movie! Any illusion of being in a remote “Nature Zone” was further shattered by the loud call to prayer from the mosque in the not too distant village –this of course was repeated at the customary times the following morning about an hour before sunrise and mid morning. On top of that, waste and rubbish were stashed all over the property. Just outside our tree house there were extra planks and other wasted laying around or leaning on two separate trees (see 1st photo)
2) Poor layout/design of the tree houses.
There was “IV” scrawled in chalk next to our door, so I assume we stayed in room 4. It was situated so close to two other tree houses and built so poorly (gaps in the walls, broken windows, doors that don’t fit properly etc.) that we could (and did) hear our neighbor’s conversations and flatulence. Secondly, rather than building a balcony with a view out into the surrounding forest, ours over looked the staff housing and storage shed.

3) Complete lack of maintenance and absolute filthiness of the rooms.
I will summarize here, but please look at my photos and see for yourself:
The flooring they use in the rooms cannot be mopped or swept, so one can only assume that the floors have NEVER been properly cleaned!
Much of the walling and doors look like they were built with scrap wood.
The doors and some of the walls are disintegrating with rot.
The towels were stained and dirty.
The plastic curtain over the bathroom wall was stained and dirty.
The walls and ceiling in the bathroom were covered in mold.
Instead of repairing a broken glass window next to the bed, they had simply taped a plastic bag over it.

Our room was located about 400 meters uphill from the reception/office. The phone number I was given for the office did not work, so I had to trek down to reception to complain. The manager was defensive and would do nothing but offer me a smaller, more remote and just as poorly maintained tree house further up the hill. As it was already past dark and we had no way of returning to town on our own, my wife and I were forced to stay overnight. To top everything off, as we were gong to bed, a cockroach fell from the ceiling and landed on the bed right next to my shoulder.

This hotel is an absolute rip-off! Please read the other negative reviews, look at my photos and do yourself a favor by never spending a night in one of their disgusting tree houses!

Room Tip: The two tree houses we inspected were both abysmal. Filthy and disgusting. If you find yourself un...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Karuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed in this resort for 3 nights & 4 days, 2 nights in tree house and one night in tent. We reached on 22nd of dec and left on 25th. The location of the resort was the main attraction for us. Of course the journey to reach the place was very tiresome, but an experience which we will not forget. If you really want to relax away from your regular tensions, this is the best place away from all the noises except the music of nature. If you are looking for some place where you want to have some indoor games and all, then this is not the place. But for nature lovers this will be the best. We got a tree house which was enough spacious and the balcony was open to forest. The room was pretty neat and toilet was clean. We could not find any rodents, ants, etc, not even mosquitoes. The rooms are maintained well even if it was very close to the nature. The food was good. The staffs were very polite and all our requirements were attended well. There was a small fun party arranged on the Christmas Eve and we could eat some authentic Kerala dishes in the party. Fresh juices that we used to get for breakfast were really fresh!!!, the taste still stays..... Tent was also well maintained and you can get a direct sunrise view just in front of your tent.

Room Tip: If tree house, select the one which has other tree house view from front balcony and forest view fro...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SiniVahid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

I found this resort from the net..while searching for a place to stay in munnar. Found the pics quite nice, the idea of tents and tree houses attracted me for the booking. I got a tailor made honeymoon package from the resort. But....When we reached the resort it was breathtaking... awesome. what concept, hats off. You find yourself somewhere faaaar away from the crowds, in a mystically secluded place, like a magic land. Located in the lap of pure nature, breathtaking surroundings, what natural beauty. The accommodations were excellent, each type unique in their own ways. And the staff...wow...extremely hospitable. We thank Nature Zone wholeheartedly for our honeymoon sooooo memorable, so unique. Thanks for all the special services.thanks a lot...
Mrs Shreyashee Mukherjee

Room Tip: try both the tents and tree house, each are unique experiences in their own ways..
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shreya09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed here on Christmas eve as part of our tour of Kerala. Our driver told us that we must wait for a jeep to take us up through the tea plantations and to the resort. This turned out to be a 15-20 minute ride up a steep slope on a bone rattling road and was an experience that we won't forget. You wouldn't want to do this if you have any back problems or if you are of a nervous disposition though!

At arrival we were given a cold drink and then shown to our treehouse which was up a steep hill and steps. 5 stars to the porters who heaved our bulging cases onto their heads and made it to the top without breaking into a sweat!

Our treehouse was rustic, very small and leaned to one side which added to the fun! It was clean enough with a small balcony and we liked the excitement of hearing wolves howling in the distance and seeing a pair of eyes staring at us from a tree at night time (we never did work out who the eyes belonged to!). It was cold at nighttime though and we wore jumpers to bed!

As it was Christmas eve the staff had organised some 'entertainment' and a buffet which were average. We decided halfway through the evening that we would go for a walk but the staff warned us that wild animals were passing through the area nearby and not to go out of the gate. However, the following morning we discovered that although there was a gate, there was no fence around the edge of the resort anyway!!

Although the resort is not luxurious the location is perfect for walking and wildlife spotting. We got some beautiful photos during our walk around the tea plantations.

Room Tip: The rustic tree houses were lots of fun but quite a walk up a steep hill.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelMeMore5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Very polite staff, enjoyed the day in silence.
We booked 2 tents which were quite spacious and the doors opens to a bright sunrise. Well maintained rooms/bath. The food quality was nice although Fish was little overpriced.

Room Tip: The tree house were covered with Trees, so I would suggest take a tent which will give better view o...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NirmalKedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munnar hotels
1.2 mi away
Munnar Tea Country Resort
Munnar Tea Country Resort
#4 of 14 in Chithirapuram
945 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Tall Trees Munnar
The Tall Trees Munnar
#2 of 8 in Pothamedu
721 reviews
3.7 mi away
Jungle Jive Tree House Munnar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Camp Noel
Camp Noel
#1 of 1 in Pazhathottam
539 reviews
4.9 mi away
Dream Catcher Plantation Resort
1.0 mi away
Kaivalyam Retreat
Kaivalyam Retreat
#1 of 190 in Munnar
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nature Zone Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nature Zone Resort

Address: Pulippara, Pallivasal, Munnar 685612, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Munnar
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 164 Specialty Lodging in Munnar
Price Range: $71 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Nature Zone Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Nature Zone Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nature Zone Hotel Munnar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing