We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to see lions, but book early” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gir National Park and Wildlife Sanctuary

Gir National Park and Wildlife Sanctuary
Ranked #1 of 39 things to do in Junagadh
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
1,143 reviews
515 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 402 helpful votes
“Great place to see lions, but book early”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

Gir Forest is a great place to see lions. There is an ever growing lion population thanks to the conservationists.
There are many hotels, resorts, lodges and safari camps near, actually just outside the sanctuary area. The Lion Safari Camp is very good. Entry into the sanctuary is restricted and regulated. Only 30 jeeps are allowed inside at any given time (twice in the morning and once in the evening). Of these 15 are booked on line and 15 current booking at the counter. It is advisable to book on line in coordination with your resort, hotel or lodge as the line for current booking at Sasan can get long and unruly and if you don't get in, disappointing.
At the office at Sasan, you pick up your entry permit and are allotted a government approved guide. there are 8 preplanned routes through the forest (actually 4 in 2 directions) and the route you follow is allotted with the permit (for cameras above 7.1 megapixels you pay a fee here)
The forest mas many lions (we saw lionesses the first day and a big male lion the next morning). There is also an abundance of spotted deer, birds and other wildlife but the leopard in my 4 safaris over the years has eluded me.
Some of the routes take you past the Kamleshwar Dam and reservoir.
When is the best time to go ? Well winter is the most enjoyable climatically, bur you see more lions in summer. Lions tend to venture out in the night and rest or sleep during the day. In summer it gets very warm and if you wait near one of many natural or man made watering holes or streams, the lions will surely come to quench their thirst.
If you do go in summer, some safari camps have air conditioned luxury tents if you want.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank percyvakil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    301
    199
    73
    24
    19
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Level Contributor
164 reviews
110 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
“GIR National Park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

Gir national Park is the only national park in India where you can sight lions(in Lion sanctuary) mostly you have everything there that you want, they well timed safari morning and noon, u also have the option to take a bus or jeep to the national where sighting. But prefer jeep u much 4 this but it worth.

Oct 2012

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Prajyot7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Gir Safari”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

We visited Gir and had a wonderful Safari in the afternoon, a three hours tour on a open Jeep. Nice experience. We had more than 2 hours drive with not much of animals except couple of languors, few peacocks, deer, and about to write off the trip, disappointed.

And then could have a glimpses of a part of lion, far away, and it did not move much for long.

Finally we had a break through......Suddenly we saw couple of jeeps stopped, our Jeep followed them and paused. There a huge lion, in a royal posture sitting on the side of the road watching passers by. We were scared little bit, despite our guide's assurance, and also had forest dept people standing nearby, we could have full view of the lion king, documented them in our cameras.

We had full worth of the Safari and cherish this for very long !!!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CDMurthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patna, India
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice safari destination. But you have to work early.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

This place is a good weekend holiday destination. But if you are planning to go for a safari then you have to work way before. You'll get to see the tigers mostly in the first morning safari which is from 6:30 to 9:30 and there is a long waiting period during peak seasons. April and May are the best season to see tigers as they come out a lot for water.During off seasons (non holiday months) the waiting is not that long.You can also enjoy the tent type rooms if you love adventure.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank AayushSingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Mesmerizing Gir”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

I visited Gir in last week of December 2013 with my family. Stayed in Saavaj Resort for 2 nights, for which I have already written a bad review. Safari in Gir was awesome. We had booked 3:30 safari well two months in advance through Gir forest department website since it was a peak season. Before visiting Gir, we had interacted with many fellow travelers and almost all advised to go for atleast 2-3 safaris as the chances of spotting lion in single safari is very bleak. But we still took our chances with one and we were delighted to spot three sleeping lioness, a feeding jackal, sambhar, wild boar, black panther, hundreds of cheetal, all in one Safari :). Gir forest comprises of 80% Teak (Sagwan) trees so it was a different kind of experience driving through it.
To tell about booking safaris, govt. has organized it by taking 50% safari bookings for every slot Online through its website and 50% on-the-spot bookings (for impromptu travelers). But in peak season, the queue starts building up 3-4 hours in advance of safari timings (06:30, 09:30, 15:30). Normal cost of safari is 200 (per head park entry fees) + 1500 (safari jeep charges) + 200 (mandatory guide charges).

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank gauravkewl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gir National Park and Wildlife Sanctuary also viewed

Junagadh, Gujarat
Sasan Gir, Gir National Park
 

Been to Gir National Park and Wildlife Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing