We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ecological wonder !!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of White Desert

White Desert
Ranked #1 of 31 things to do in Bhuj
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Ecological wonder !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

Mind-blowing place to be. It's more than worth the visit.
Never thought such a place would even exist.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Hkumar76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    463
    187
    33
    10
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
86 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Excellent - Not to be missed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Brilliant landscape of salt panes - with miles and miles spread in front of you...do not miss the sunset and taking loads of snaps.....need to take permission by paying nominal fee before hand..

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank vedpu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Must See”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

We reached the White Desert through Dhordo village around sunset.
As we walked on and on,we could see only white and more white.
It was as if we were standing in the middle of a large circle,with whiteness all around us.
As the sun set,different shades came on the never ending horizon.
Amazing it was...

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank rajbfy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A must visit place if planning to visit bhuj”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Bhuj has lots of places to visit, but White Desert is awesome experience.
Visit it during sunset. I am sure you'll enjoy.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Deepsharpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
81 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“A mirage for ice ice.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

Once you cross the final check post , the only thing you can see is vast stretch of land covered with salt. I am sure any one can mistake it for ice. I was thrilled to see it. It was so fascinating and wonderful. One can just roam for some time, have a walk or drive to some distance to experience it..

If one is visiting the place from Oct to Dec , you can stay is tents provided by Tourism dept. You can try to stay there and have a glimpse of this at night with full moon. Mesmerizing .........

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank iakarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed White Desert also viewed

 

Been to White Desert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing