We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rocks in your bed”
Review of Hotel Prince

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Prince
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Bhuj
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Don't go near the hotel Prince until the renovations have finished. They were going last August when I visited and this May they were still going on without an end in sight. I booked a room via their website but never got a confirmation and when I arrived at the hotel they said they never got the booking. This happened last time too. They had one room available ( fortunately it was one of the few rooms to have been renovated) but I had to walk along a corridor of rubble with swirling dust from the adjacent construction sight to get to it. That was too much. However when I tried to get into two other hotels nearby they were full as Bhuj had a large conference on. Reluctantly I wen track to the Prince, who assured me the the construction noise would only be heard from 7am to 5pm. The first night was ok. However on night 2 I was awoken by huge clanging noises, the sound of steel girders being dragged across a floor. This was 11pm. I got back to sleep a few times but the noise persisted. At 1am I went down to reception to complain. A huge semi trailer was backed into the front door and men were offloading beams and girders. I told the man at the front desk "enough is enough" and he replied "very sorry sir, I will get them to stop immediately". Back in my room the noise subsided - for about an hour anyway. Then it started again. At 3am I went downstairs again in an absolute rage. The usual apologies but I could see the trailer was still being unloaded. In the morning, after no sleep, I went to the front desk and complained to the manager. He did not offer an apology and when I said I would not pay for the previous night, he just smiled. The Prince, arguably, may be the best hotel Bhuj has to offer but please do not go there until the renovations have finished. Only In India would they keep a hotel open that is really just a construction site full of dust and noise.

Room Tip: If you can find a renovated room and don't mind construction noise and dust, stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chantman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (185)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 185 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2012

I visited the Prince during a group trip to Gujurat in early March 2012. It was in a dreadful state with major refurbishment taking place but hotel rooms still in use depite the work taking place and the fact that there were no front windows. I would recommend that you check carefully as to whether the work is complete before you book or go there. There was no indication as to when it would be complete though it did look as though it could take a number of months (and possibly all of 2012) to do the work required. The rooms themselves were of mixed standard. We had one that was ok, if rather dated. Others in the group had problems with damp, noise and dirt from the works. Two members of the trip experienced health problems as a result. The restaurant was ok (though I just had breakfast there) but rather soulless. We ate in a local restaurant in the evening which was very nice and far cheaper than the prices advertised in the hotel. In short, please avoid until the work has all been done - and even then I would suggest that you make sure there have been some favourable reviews before booking.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

From the outside, this hotel looks like half of it is a ruin but inside it's a lot more organised with a couple of restaurants. We missed out on the thali food but what we were served in the main restaurant was mostly quite simple but adequate. The rooms were adequately furnished. the biggest disadvantage was the air conditioning unit for the entire hotel which was outside my window and very noisy.
There is a small shop selling beautifully embroidered textiles made locally by a women's cooperative. Very inexpensive.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McF44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

I have been there couple of times. From the outside it is difficult to find but inside its whole new story. Very nicely built. Good lobby. Two or three restaurants, don't remember exactly but very authentic and typical cuisines being served.
The rooms are spacious, simple and has everything you may need. bathrooms may need some makeover.
The food is excellent and has a small in house shop which sells local handicraft made by tribal women specially.

Room Tip: Check out both old and new rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashwatdudhwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

by international standards, this hotel would not make it into any listings, but this is Bhuj, a bit at the end of nowhere. and for Bhuj, this hotel is a blessing. Book into a renovated room and you will feel comfortable with a good bed and nice bathroom with hot water. the hotel itself is under renovation right now and may look a bit like a construction place in places, but this did not bother me. the staff are VERY helpful and friendly and all can be organised through reception, whether it's a car rental or bookings anywhere, the staff are very helpful, honest and reliable.
The food at this hotel is outstanding (the atmosphere not quite so)!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HOItravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2012

Hotel Prince is renovating and that you can see, feel and smell in the whole building. To get to my room I had to pass the construction area and a lot of dust. The room was just ok. Hot water I had in the evening, but not in the morning (or the other way around). Lot of noise from the kitchen.
I don't think there is much better in Bhuj, reason why this place can be to expensive for what they offer.
The best reason to stay here is because of the great Thali restaurant. Yammy!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malkia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2011

Bhuj is the gateway city for Kutch region in Gujarat. Prince hotel is probably one of a handful upmarket hotels in this otherwise sleepy smallish town. It seemed to be a recent construction. Rooms and bathrooms were clean, however a bit pricey. The Gujarati thali restaurant was awesome while the other one was strictly okay. All in all the hotel and service were good but the amenities were rather spartan. Don;t expect frills like swimming pool, spa etc.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R_A86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bhuj hotels
7.4 mi away
Regenta Resort Bhuj
Regenta Resort Bhuj
#5 of 20 in Bhuj
292 reviews
9.6 mi away
Click Hotel Bhuj
Click Hotel Bhuj
#2 of 20 in Bhuj
71 reviews
9.4 mi away
Hotel SevenSky
Hotel SevenSky
#18 of 20 in Bhuj
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Hill View Resort
Hill View Resort
#7 of 20 in Bhuj
12 reviews
8.5 mi away
Hotel Oasis
Hotel Oasis
#1 of 20 in Bhuj
119 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hotel Mangalam
Hotel Mangalam
#6 of 20 in Bhuj
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Prince? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Prince

Address: Station Road, Bhuj 370001, India
Location: India > Gujarat > Kutch District > Bhuj
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Bhuj
Price Range: $54 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Prince 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Prince reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Hotel Bhuj

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing