We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Caution: You'll be suffered by nostalgic feelings...”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
4 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Panjim, North Goa District, Goa

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Vishal V
Rajkot, India
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Caution: You'll be suffered by nostalgic feelings after you leave this place!”
Reviewed August 25, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

I booked this property via Airbnb but I feel to review at both place so posted the same review here too!

Capt. Leo was in contact by phone continuously once we reached Goa, as it was evening he could not come but sent a person named Serenappa who showed us the whole house and helped in whatever we asked for.

Capt. Leo kept the fridge nicely stocked with essential food items ( including some complimentary items) and the kitchen is very well equipped and clean. Anytime, You just need to open the windows and seat on chairs looking at the calm Mandovi river and ferries those passes by with chilled beer in your hand, and believe me you feel blessed, you feel serenity :)

Everything is quite same as accurately described in the listing!

House is located on little bit busy narrow two way road so if you've car then park it around Charao ferry point as there is one way before you reach the house then once you open the garage door you can get your vehicles in easily!

If you're going to reach the location in evening like we did, take care of dinner in advance if you have veggie guys in your group and you don't have any private or rented vehicle because we were unable to find veg food in Ribandar in the evening and have to hire costly auto for round trip to Panjim and get parceled veg food for dinner!

One should kept the kitchen clean after having breakfast/lunch/dinner as this is the wooden chalet there would be black ants showing up if you kept open food in the kitchen or anywhere else. But if you keep it clean, you won't see them!

It is 15-25 km away from the north Goa beaches and 5-7 km from Panjim, so if you don't have any private vehicle it's better to rent a car or scooter during your stay at chalet. Because autos or taxis are very costly!

Quite lively neighborhood that you won't feel abandoned yet quiet once you're inside that you can enjoy your tranquility!

Capt. Leo came thrice during our stay but unfortunately two times we all were not home as we're first-timer for Goa and wanted to cover as much as we can, ( which is sad thing, I know! Especially when you are at this kinda place. ) and the third time I was in the house but not in position to meet anybody because of hangover :(, but my friends met him.

Though Capt. Leo was always in contact by phone and very supportive, I wish i could meet him and thanked him for the beautifully designed and very well maintained wooden chalet, maybe in next trip :)

We all enjoyed each moment of our stay at the place! Great place to be for group of friends or families!

I can say from my experience of staying at the house that one will get more than expected for sure from the wooden chalet!

Definitely will come again :)

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: River View & The feel of the chalet!
Liked least: It allow noise to lower rooms while someone walks on the floor in the kitchen area.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shiromib
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Goan Haven”
Reviewed August 20, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Having studied in Ribandar for 2 years, this place was ideal for a bunch of old friends visiting Goa for a reunion! Located along the Mandovi River, located close to both Old Goa and Panjim, this was the best we could ask for!
4 bedrooms, 10 people could comfortably stay, a fully stocked pantry with everything we may have needed, clean, well maintained, spacious, beautiful!
The view from the many windows was of the flowing Mandovi river and the islands in the distance. It was so serene. Even better than staying at a beachside resort!
The owner Captain Leo, works on Trust and that is what makes this place even more precious!
We felt at home! May have overdone the home part, since we really were so comfortable there and forgot it was a travellers inn!!
I would love to go back with family the next time and spend a few more days there!
You would need a transport to move around, but if you are ok taking the local bus to Panjim or Old Goa, then it is easy, conveniently located just along the main road.
Food options are few and limited, but we were content to stop at Genes about 1 km away or get what we needed and cook!
From the outside it looks like any other house on the road, the wooden flooring and furniture knock your breath away as soon as you enter!
Loved it!!!!

Date of stay: August 2015
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S3cube122...
Mumbai, India
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent villa!”
Reviewed June 27, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Visited the villa for 4 nights and booked via Airbnb.Got the place for an excellent price.The villa is located around 5km from Panaji along a busy road(You should use Google maps to locate it).The three floors do justice to large groups(We were 8 of us).The patio is amazing,sadly it was raining and we couldn't enjoy it much.Capt.Leo has a convenience store in house which simplifies a lot of daily shopping from surf excel for the machine to cooking oil to ready to eat soups,etc and even tooth brushes!All of them are available at MRP+5% and is well worth it.The house has a full equipped kitchen which is great for families or large groups that want to stay in.
You will need transport to get around from the villa and is around 45 minutes to candolim.We suggest the number for Anand amongst the various numbers listed in the house manual.We used him for the last day, but was much better than out other experiences.
There aren't a lot of food ordering options in the area and you will need a car or transport to get to Panaji(dominoes is around 15-20 minutes away by car).
Additionally, you cannot walk to Panaji.The road that connects to Panaji is a two lane road that has no space to walk.
The villa is brilliant and we highly recommend it!

Date of stay: June 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SagarParu...
Mumbai, India
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed June 22, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Went to Goa in summers with the extended family for an extended holiday of 3 nights and for days. Reached the place in the evening, the place was easy to locate thanks to owner, he helped us with proper and easy to locate landmarks. location also provided us with garage. Was spacious and provided us with commodities to eat and drink So we didn't had to rush to get food out side on arrival, that too was with nominal extra charge.

This place is located on the banks of Mandovi River, so the view is great from the bungalow. We has opportunity to cook and barbeque on the last night of our stay.

This place was like home away from home.

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Heritage look and banks of river
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: April 2015
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Nanda_Bha...
Bhopal, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“"Perfeito"”
Reviewed April 21, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
3
people found this review helpful

A perfect place to be, when in Goa. I came across this place when looking for options to stay during vacations in Goa. We were a little sceptical about the place initially, what if the place is not the same as it looks online. But it was more then perfect, as soon as you enter the place it takes you over :). No pictures can describe the beauty of the place, you have to be there to experience it. A wooden chalet , complete with all amenities you can imagine in a modern world with an old world rustic charm; very minimalist yet requiring nothing.The riverside pretty much made up for the beach everyone had wished for. Waking up by the riverside, watching the sun rise from the calm waters of river Mandovi, seeing ferries go by , spending time in the night on the patio, was a delight which almost overcame the eagerness to visit any other surrounding places(that to when visiting Goa for the first time). The in house convenience store perfectly took care of the daily requirements. The house is located on a busy road , but one will hardly notice any noise once inside the house. My daughter was homesick for the place as soon as we left(same applied for us).
Capt. Lobo was a very helpful host, gave all the required information as soon as we booked, still acted as our guide whenever needed.
Definitely one of the reasons to return to Goa again.......

Date of stay: April 2015
Overall condition of the property
Liked best: The entire place
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PriyankS1...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Holiday!!!”
Reviewed April 6, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

There are a few holidays which are so memorable that your routine life seems to be a drag once the break is over.
Casinha Ribandar is one such chalet which will make your daily life look mundane. The chalet seems to have been designed straight out of story books but is equipped with all modern amenities. The porch opens right into the serene flowing waters of Mandovi river.
The owner is one of the most helpful person I have met during my trips.
Whether you want to have a break from city life and want to have relaxed holiday, or you want to get inspired by the calm of Goa, this place is the ideal holiday stay option.
Captain (Owner), you definitely have repeat customers in us.
Thank you for the hospitality!!!

Date of stay: April 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing