We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, noisy party by the pool, overcharged by internet booking”
Review of Hotel Fidalgo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Fidalgo
Ranked #11 of 48 Hotels in Panjim
Reviewed October 28, 2010

A very good modern hotel with wonderful food and a wide range of restaurants and a lovely cafe.
There was a late night party by the pool with amplified music which made it difficult to sleep in the room overlooking the pool.
When booking over the internet the website crashed several times. The hotel acknowledged the resulting multiple charges (5) but on arrival and departure they claimed to know nothing about. The room had to be paid for again. On return to Australia it took 6 months for Mastercard to organise a refund. Thank you Mastercard.
The hotel is centrally located in Panaji and is modern.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank splinter2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (458)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Fidalgo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

402 - 408 of 458 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2010

Great location, bang on 18th June Rd in the heart of Panjim. Good choice of restaurants. Very clean rooms. Not very spacious but good for a solo business traveller.
Very good spread for breakfast. Staff is courteus. Once again best part is the Location.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Varma72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2010

Just got back from spending a week end in Goa. Stayed at the Fidalgo, which is in Panjim, the business district / downtown so far as Goa is concerned. Small room with nothing fancy about it. Lousy view, ancient television, very ordinary toilettries. They need to do somehting about the sound absorbing as flushing of toilet by others is clearly heard time and again.

Fidalgo has a bunch of restaurants. The goan cuisine restaurant is by the pool side which means no airconditioning and the weather in Goa is, at the best of times, quite warm. They did agree to serve Pork Vindaloo in the multi cusisine restaurant where the dining experience was considerably diminished by very loud music which ruled out any kind of conversation. Aslo, the Pork vindaloo was uneatably bad as the pork was much too tough. The multi cuisine restaurant serves mini meals, Pizzas, soups, salads, oriental food, tandoori stuff and pastas. Prices are on the high side.

A couple of young girls in off shoulder dresses did a so so job of singing old favourites - Living next door to Alice, country roads, etc. - though I wish the music was less loud.

The Indian vegetarian preparations thogh were surprisingly good. The yellow dal, spicnach with cheese, Chholay and Alu Zeera were well cooked and tasty. The dishes are reasonably priced and so long as you do not order local cuisine, you can have a good meal.

Location of the hotel is excellent if you are not particularly interested in the beaches. Fidalgo is close to the main street and also to the river, should you want to go for a cruise or to the casino.

The best thing about the hotel is some really great art work in the form of tiled murals depicting Goan scenes. I found them to be truly marvellous.

Would I recommend this hotel ? On the whole no. You should go and try their Indian vegetarian food and enjoy the tiled murals but that is about it.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shia2cool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2010

I had stayed at fidalgo @ Goa for the period of 1 week and o really found it hospitable. Rooms also spacious. Also he hotal was situated near a place where the beaches were also close by.
The place was full of foriegn visitors and when i interacted with a few of them athey also mentioned that the place was a good place to live in.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Imrozahrar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2010

Booked this hotel for my 3 days of stay in Goa for an adventurous and relaxation trip.
Fidalgo is somewhat costly but an an amazing hotel to stay in.

Rooms are cozy with good room service and everything rest is excellent and best on its own.

Fidalgo is a place you would definitely come back to and recommend to your friends. Thank you very much for making our stay so Pleasant.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manish3399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2010

We booked the Hotel Fidalgo for our 5 day stay at Goa.
As it was our first trip to goa, we wanted to have it big, and this hotel was just the icing on the cake.
The hotel is located at Panaji, the capital city of Goa. The central location of the hotel is very advantageous for all types of people. Those who like shopping and eating are up for maybe the greatest treat of their lives.
In the immediate vicinity of the hotel, there are quite a few shopping malls and antique shops. For the food lovers, the hotel itself has 6 restaurants which offer cuisines from all over the country. And if you are still not satisfied, the Domino's is just around the corner!
For the sightseers, the river Mandovi is very nearby and the cruise on the river is a very enthralling experince.
The nearest beach, Miramar beach is about 2 kms away. Transportation is not an issue at all. Hotel contracted transport or personally contracted, all are available, just at the doorstep.
The hotel provides high speed internet at a very nominal price. The rooms are plush and luxurious and very reasonably priced. The room service is quick and neat and so is the laundry service. Breakfast comes complimentary with the rooms.
I would recommend people who like to stay in comfortable hotels which are very justly priced, this 4 star hotel.
Thank you, we enjoyed the stay to the fullest

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KVSN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2010

Last year I visited Panaji during the rainy season. I did not know much about the city. On landing at the airport, I asked a Taxi driver to take me to a good hotel in Panaji. Hen took me to Fidalgo and I was really happy he took me there. The hotel is located on a fantastic street called 18th June Road. I really relished taking a stroll down the street during my stay over there.

The hotel has a nice lobby and a good ambience. The rooms are neat & clean. The front desk as well as room service quality is really good. The hotel has a restaurant that serves cuisine from Goa as well as other parts of the country and world.

The hotel also has conference rooms and is a good place for business meetings etc. I’m not too sure if it is a good place for a romantic getaway or honeymooners.

However, I would like to stay at thios hotel again if I were to return to Panaji.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kamran_kharbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panjim hotels
0.4 mi away
The Crown Goa
The Crown Goa
#10 of 48 in Panjim
311 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Panaji
1.3 mi away
Goa Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ginger Goa
Ginger Goa
#8 of 48 in Panjim
736 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Palacio De Goa
Hotel Palacio De Goa
#13 of 48 in Panjim
201 reviews
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson - Goa Panjim
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fidalgo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fidalgo

Address: 18th June Road, Panjim 403001, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Panjim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Panjim
Price Range: $86 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Fidalgo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Fidalgo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fidalgo Hotel Panaji
Fidalgo Hotel Goa
Hotel Fidalgo Goa/Panjim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing