We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very good but not top class”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Fidalgo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Fidalgo
Ranked #9 of 48 Hotels in Panjim
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“very good but not top class”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

Nice place to stay in the middle of Panjim. It has many restaurants on the first floor. Multiple cuisine options in the hotel is a plus point. Room service is ok. Cleanliness is ok. The bathroom used to get all flooded as no separation between shower and other areas. Nice live music and good food. A little expensive though.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ar Kavita K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    203
    72
    30
    24
See reviews for
101
73
30
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

I stayed for 1 night, but felt that it is overpriced against the room allocated to me. The room was old and ambiance was not as expected. Room was too small. Only advantage is that it is located in middle of the panaji city.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank GirishKPP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richards Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

Our initial room was not to our liking but with the help of Mrs Savita Srivastav. who was most helpful and we were relocated to a better room. The front desk staff is most unhelpful but the restaurant staff was very pleasant. The stay can be described as average and a the hotel needs to consider training the front desk staff on customer satisfaction. The foods and the general hotel was great.

Room Tip: Fourth floor rooms are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neeran M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogmalo, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Went for dinner at chilli n spice restaurant in hotel fidalgo...ordered for malaysian fish curry. The description clearly mentioned lemon grass and galangal. What i received was sweet and sour curry with lots of canned pineapple...when asked the waiter about it, gives an explanation that lemon grass was over the previous night.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank pastrychefsuraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
78 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a couple of nights for a change from the beaches and the extortionate rates for rooms!! enjoyed the town and hotel. Shame the pool was closed which we didn't know about until arrival! Reception staff tried to get us to pay for the room again before we'd even seen it even when we insisted it was paid in the UK weeks ago! When they bothered to check they realised we were right! !!! Room had a comfortable bed (always a relief in India) working air con and decent shower. Breakfast was good as I love dosa idli sambar and chutney waiters were friendly and helpful. Enjoyed dinner in Mirch Masala and lunch in the Legacy of Bombay but not the obligatory 5% service charge.Why don't they have a price list thats all inclusive of taxes. All in all a decent stay.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LLASHER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panaji, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

I organised my daughter's tenth birthday in the Dukes hall of Hotel Fidalgo on 18th Nov 2013. The service was just average and also the food preparations. However, the party was still not over and there were still 8-10 kids in the hall. I and my husband just stepped out to bid goodbye to a child. And without our permission the waiters started clearing up the hall even when there was an hour left. And to our shock when we came back my mobile phone that I had kept on a sofa was missing. We created a hue and cry and insisted to see the CCTV footage. The hotel staff was reluctant and were completely unhelpful. When we insisted and saw the footage it was clear that a waiter had flicked the phone. All the other waiters assigned to us were also party to the theft. We later got the phone from the waiter. The GM came and later apologized for the incident.

However, when I went there a month later to attend a function, I was shocked to see the same waiter roaming around. So clearly no action was taken against him.

I swore never to go there again! Integrity and safety is the first thing you expect from a hotel, leave aside good food and service.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pooja_Kh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calangute, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

We booked this hotel looking at some reviews & not expecting much, but they surpassed our expectations of non performance (writing this review while still staying at hotel)

1. Completely unprofessional staff, no smile on anybody's face
2. Rooms don't have hot water facilities round the clock,
3. No proper information on packages are provided, we were told there will be discount on spa n swimming pool during booking, but when we landed both were closed for renovation

For the price you pay, this is a complete disastrous, may not recommend to family travel

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mk21in
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Panjim
0.4 mi away
The Crown Goa
The Crown Goa
#8 of 48 in Panjim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Panaji
1.3 mi away
Goa Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palacio De Goa
Hotel Palacio De Goa
#13 of 48 in Panjim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
2.5 mi away
Mystique Heights Beacon, Panjim
4.0 mi away
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
#6 of 64 in Candolim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fidalgo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fidalgo

Property: Hotel Fidalgo
Address: 18th June Road, Panjim 403001, India
Location: India > Goa > Panjim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Panjim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Fidalgo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Fidalgo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fidalgo Hotel Panaji
Fidalgo Hotel Goa
Hotel Fidalgo Goa/Panjim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing