We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“centre of the city”
Review of Hotel Fidalgo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Fidalgo
Ranked #10 of 47 Hotels in Panjim
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
358 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“centre of the city”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

its a good place to stay with all happenings just around you. the hotel has atleast 3-4 restaurants within the property which are very good to have your dinner. Aunty maria also is a cool hangout zone where you can spend quality peaceful time with friends. their mutton rolls were good

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sundeep67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    203
    72
    30
    24
See reviews for
102
73
30
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Panjim
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

I found this hotel to be of the 'don't care' sort. Rooms are very posh with high quality TV, clean and well serviced. Very expensive but the food was ordinary. The windows were locked and unopenable, I would have liked the choice. My chip and pin card was refused but this was because the staff were not up to the technology and the ATM was fine. The snooty desk staff made me feel very embarrassed. This hotel also charges 300r for their Wifi which is extraordinary considering the room price.The Wifi was also intermitant. The taxi I booked with them was late. A most underwhelming hotel.. Vote with your feet and go elsewhere. This was my experience in January 2013.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nawabofdelhi1
Level Contributor
44 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

The hotel had volunteered to pick me up at the airport, after over an hour and a halfs delay they sent across a car which I had to share with two oher hotel guests to get to their property. The incompetence continued with the check in where it took them 15 minutes to check me in. Didnt have a non smoking room on offer straight away and that took a while to sort out. Had to have a fairly heated chat with the front office manager to get them to really pull up their act.

Rooms were large though really dated. The toiletries provided barely adequate. The hotel has tried to create multiple bars and restaurants around their pool by putting up canpoies, which has pretty much ruined the place. The whole hotel gives a congested chaotic feel. The restaurant serving breakfast barely adequate, terrible coffee. Was staying only one night and that too was being hosted by a corporate hence had to stay here, cant think one reason why any one would choose to stay at this property but for the fact that it is at the centre of the city. Even then the taxi ride to the airport takes a better part of an hour.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nawabofdelhi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mankato, Minnesota
Level Contributor
417 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

You can't beat the location of Fidalgo--in the heart of shopping and down the street from the cathedral and a skip away from Old Goa. The price of your stay is higher than other place (maybe b/c I was there during season), but one thing I did enjoy was the meal at Chili and Spice. The food was awesome and the live entertainment (singers from Singapore) were great! The one minus is the traffic...you won't get much sleep on the road side. Stay in the interior with the pool.

Room Tip: Don't get a room on the street side--ask for an interior pool view room and one with an upper fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank savedade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
96 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Stayed here in August 2011. This is a hotel that will help you explore Panaji city on foot if you like, until late even though Goa is pretty much dead after 7pm.
There are 6 restaurants which are worth the time with a blend in cuisines right from Indian, Gujarati, Vegetarian, Goan to Chinese and even Italian. I have tried most but I would stick to the Goan.
The Rooms are very mediocre and needed some face lift and refreshing. The hotel has been there for a while so one can expect the rooms to be outdated. The hotel is always busy with Indian clients but it's a good bet for the foreign tourist as there is a taxi stand bank opposite the hotel which can take you just about anywhere in Goa for a price...Bargaining is the Key though.
The service is a sub standard but then again it's not a 5 star and hence we can cut a little slack on that... Over all a good hotel in downtown Panjim on 18th June Road.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hyginus F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
122 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

I have been staying here almost every time from the last one year and I must say that this is the best option for a business or even a leisure tour if one wants to stay in Panjim.
Hospitality and food is good. The new rooms are also good.
Overall nothing much to complain.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rs_rizwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

The hotel is too good, very clean and worth the price!! Food is especially good as they have a separate veg. restaurant! One can try the veg. clear soup! its one the best I've ever tasted!! The hotel is situated in the heart of the city!! and its one of the best hotels in GOA!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank v15halja1n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Panjim
0.4 mi away
The Crown Goa
The Crown Goa
#8 of 47 in Panjim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Panaji
1.3 mi away
Goa Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palacio De Goa
Hotel Palacio De Goa
#13 of 47 in Panjim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
2.5 mi away
Mystique Heights Beacon, Panjim
4.0 mi away
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
#7 of 64 in Candolim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fidalgo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fidalgo

Property: Hotel Fidalgo
Address: 18th June Road, Panjim 403001, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Panjim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Panjim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Fidalgo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Fidalgo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fidalgo Hotel Panaji
Fidalgo Hotel Goa
Hotel Fidalgo Goa/Panjim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing