We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing”

Bhagwan Mahavir Wildlife Sanctuary
Book In Advance
More Info
$104.00*
and up
Private Tour: Jungle Adventure from Goa
Ranked #34 of 103 things to do in Panjim
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Waterfalls, luxurious flora and exotic fauna including panthers, wild boar and procupine can be seen at this wildlife park in the western Ghats. At the Shanti Elephant Sanctuary in the park, you can watch elephants perform a show, help wash them, then ride them.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

Visited for the jungle book tour which was overnight. Absolutely fantastic!! Our tents were comfortable, looked amazing. Had a frog in our toilet and an ant invasion the following morning, but these things happen and I couldn't fault anyone for this...just added to the experience!
Food was delicious and drinks were reasonably priced. Lovely to sit out in front of the tent with a kingfisher in hand listening to the elephants tooting away!
The elephants seemed cared for and it was such an amazing experience to be so close to them. Washed them with coconut shells and had a power shower as well as feeding them. Just being around these animals made the trip for me. Would definitely return!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Burkeybum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    19
    6
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Jaipur, Rajasthan, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“great experience”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We stayed within the sanctuary itself in a dormatory. This was an experience in itself as monkeys were on our doorstep and lizards on our walls good as they kept away the bugs :). We went on the safari and ended up not seeing much but wildlife is wildlife not a zoo so could not be helped. The people were generally helpful and we got to visit the dudsgar falls brilliant experience absolutely amazing.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
9 Thank cinnamon1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chesterfield derbyshire england
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“a night with the elephants”
Reviewed April 21, 2012

we did the "jungle book " tour, over night in a tent in the jungle sleeping just 5 mtrs from the elephants, now thats an experience! our guide Hercules couldnt have been better, from the very 1st moment of meeting to the drop off at our hotel, he was along side us with all the info we could ever need,we had an elephant ride after checking in to our luxury! tent, tehn food freshly cooked, a tour to a local village and an insight into the lifes of the locals, lovely welcoming people, then to the river to bathe the elephants, and have a shower from them, all the time in the world, not at all rushed, then more food whilst watching the original "Jungle Book" animated film !!!!! then a surprise where you can feed the Elephants treats, an evening singing and dancing around the campfire led by Hercules, next morning early morning walk or later yoga (great fun,cant bend though!) then a show telling about the capture of elephants, a few fun games for the elephants, I even got to buy photos on a disc (R1500) and a painting done by an elephant (R500) then back to the hotel. that alone was worth the trip to Goa, just remember to take cash even though the foods included the treats for the elephants, photos, elephant paintings, gifts, and drinks arent included (all very cheap)and of course tips a great 2 full days well worth the £95 each I would do it again!!!!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
18 Thank stik69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goa
Level Contributor
120 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Quiet Place”
Reviewed December 11, 2011

Nature lover must visit. Good resort ( Dudhsagar resort ) is very close. can be included in your visit for relaxation for a day or 2.

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Ramchand1233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Garden”
Reviewed November 4, 2011

This is a garden in the heart of the city... very green and can spend good time here.... However they can still do a lot to maintain it well... Good for Children as it is on just near the city Center...Lot of Vehicle Noise

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
7 Thank Kavithadaftary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bhagwan Mahavir Wildlife Sanctuary also viewed

 

Been to Bhagwan Mahavir Wildlife Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing