We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“try afternoon tea”
Review of Hotel Mandovi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Mandovi
Ranked #14 of 48 Hotels in Panjim
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“try afternoon tea”
Reviewed April 21, 2010

Stopped here for afternoon tea in the coffee shop, a good pot of tea and tasty coconut pancakes. The hotel has loads of character, frayed round the edges but that adds to the charm of the place. We'll be going back to stay a night or two when in Goa next, the location is good for the centre of Panjim. Good service, a proper old fashioned hotel! The hotel also owns the Quarterdeck restaurant over the road and beside the river. Good food, great views, you can watch the local ferry go back and forth, very entertaining.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Satish_Prabhu, General Manager at Hotel Mandovi, responded to this review, November 28, 2014
Thank you for you review which is very much appreciated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    77
    48
    11
    11
See reviews for
47
32
8
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ludhiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 23, 2010

a very good 3 star hotel....decent rooms..
good staff...large variety of cakes n pasteries in its bakery..
located in d heart of a city..

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bravo21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Satish_Prabhu, General Manager at Hotel Mandovi, responded to this review, November 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 20, 2010

The Hotel is pretty old the rooms are not well, ventillated, the AC took lot of time to cool. Need lot twisting befoer I could able to open the Door, need the Housekeepings help twice to able to open the door and get in the Room,

Food although was, good, South indian dishes tasted quite authentic.

  • Liked — Food
  • Disliked — Rooms
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arindam3074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Satish_Prabhu, General Manager at Hotel Mandovi, responded to this review, January 9, 2015
Our sincere gratitude for taking the time to review us. We are glad you had a positive experience with our food. With regards to the dimensions of our facilities, the space is subject to certain structural parameters available. We strive to delight you on your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2009

If u want to experience the old portugese culture , relax in tranqulity of a
Calm and cool Mandovi Hotel is d place . The staff is extremly polite and resposible ,nice food
Great interiors. They arranged for d car for sighseeing for us .u can have a total clear view of mandovi river from
The rooms in the upper floors . At nights the river would get flanked by the river cruises at night . Look for Deven in the
Front office for a good rate ,service and car rental . I am very happy with Mandovi Hotel
And I wud advice all travelers to atleast spend a full day here . Since it is
Located at Panjim all sightseeing are nearby with 25kms.

  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imukherjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Satish_Prabhu, General Manager at Hotel Mandovi, responded to this review, November 27, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to review us. We look forward to welcoming you to The Mandovi during your future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2009

Commanding an ideal location on the bank of the river Mandovi, in Panjim. The Mandovi offers you the most enchanting view of the river and the hillocks across it.
It is one of the oldest hotel of Goa and boast of its assertive place in Goa's history. But it has not been able to keep it with the times. Its good if you are on a nostalgia tour but if you are in the spirits of famous goan spirit/ sprit keep away.
You may be a fish enthusiast but definetly would not like to sleep with your head in fish basket. There is a continuous lingering fishy smell ( thanks to the location of kitchen or bad ventilation) even in the rooms.
The linen in rooms is usually worn out , the mattresses foam hard and breaking the floor in sticky if you happen to walk naked foot.
The view of mandovi is good but you have to keep standing on the window. You cant savour it sitting in chairs or in the bed

The nearest Beach, Miramar is filthy. There are shops, Specialty restaurants, local eateries, entertainment centre's, pubs, government offices, commercial center, places of tourist interest and a river cruise jetty within its vicinity.
Thsi makes it look, most suited for stay but it spoils your day. The break fast is also not good. There are many good hotel with which it has failed to compete in Panjim.
Mandovi is a 3 star hotel but barely looks like one.
All rooms have central air-conditioning, wall-to-wall carpets wich is mushy attached baths with faulty showers, C.C.TV and direct STD dialing facility.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — the upkeep
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Rajeevtaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Satish_Prabhu, General Manager at Hotel Mandovi, responded to this review, November 27, 2014
While we Thank you for your kind inputs received by us on Tripadvisor; we offer our sincere apologies for any inconvenience that may have been caused to you during your stay with us.

At the Hotel Mandovi, every effort is made to ensure our guests are accorded the best of Hospitality and care to make their stay as pleasant as possible; as we offer rooms with varying sizes and value for money.

The feedback same should have been notified during you stay, so that it could have been rectified making your stay more comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Panjim hotels

mumbai
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2009

Situated on main road in Panaji facing mandovi and evening boat ferries, hotel has modernised to be renovated but ample space in lobby is still a question.
Restaurant is nice with a good tequilla drink available at night.
Rooms are good and hotel is as good as in the market area.
Conveyance easily available.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank directorM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Satish_Prabhu, General Manager at Hotel Mandovi, responded to this review, November 27, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to review us and we look forward to welcoming you again to The Mandovi during your future visits
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panjim hotels
0.7 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Panaji
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palacio De Goa
Hotel Palacio De Goa
#13 of 48 in Panjim
194 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Crown Goa
The Crown Goa
#8 of 48 in Panjim
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ginger Goa
Ginger Goa
#9 of 48 in Panjim
664 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Fidalgo
Hotel Fidalgo
#10 of 48 in Panjim
437 reviews
1.5 mi away
Goa Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mandovi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mandovi

Property: Hotel Mandovi
Address: Dayanand Bandodkar Marg | Near SBI Main Branch, Panjim 403001, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Panjim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 48 Hotels in Panjim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mandovi 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Mandovi is a centrally located business/holiday center, conveniently located on the banks of the River Mandovi. Commanding an ideal location on the bank of the river Mandovi, in Panjim, The Hotel offers you the most enchanting view of the river and the hillocks across it with 65 well appointed rooms and suites. A Truly fine hotel, combining the Goan tradition of hospitality and timely convenience. A promenade spanning 3 km gets you to the nearest Beach, Miramar. There are shops, Specialty restaurants, local eateries, entertainment centre's, pubs, government offices, commercial center, places of tourist interest and a river cruise jetty within its vicinity. This makes it the most convenient place to stay, whether for business or pleasure. Hotel Mandovi was commissioned in 1952, during the Portuguese rule in Goa, and at the time the miraculous body of the St. Francis Xavier was being exposed. The Hotel Mandovi showcases contemporary dining and entertainment venues offering an array of gastronomic delights of authentically traditional Goan and Portuguese cuisine at Riorico to its most renowned Chinese restaurant Goenchin. The enchanted ambiance of the river front at its specialty multi-cuisine seafood restaurant Quarterdeck speaks for itself. The sinfully decadent display of desserts and mouthwatering savories at its finest pastry shop A Pasterlaria is not too far away from its secretly tucked away cozy getaway the High Tide Bar, where you can unwind with specially concocted Cocktails and Mocktails by our bartender supplemented with innovative starters and soothing music to keep your spirits high. Our open air event deck Aquarius speaks volumes of its well manicured lawns and enthralling river front landscape which makes any occasion noteworthy.The Hotel Mandovi, is well equipped to take care of your business meetings and conferences with our professional and experienced team that ensures appealing banquet presentation, quality food and reliable service is delivered all the time ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Mandovi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mandovi Goa/Panjim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing