We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old property - needs renovation, excellent staff”
Review of Hotel Mandovi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Mandovi
Ranked #14 of 48 Hotels in Panjim
Reviewed November 21, 2013

I stayed in this hotel after approximately 6 years. I came in as early as 7:50 am and they allotted me nice room facing the sea. The hotel is very old and needs some quick renovation. The food is good and so is the staff. I liked staying in this hotel as it is centrally located and I can just walk around the city or to Miramar beach. Just, opposite is the Mandovi, perfect location. But, guys improve on you infrastructure.

Room Tip: Go for premium executive rooms facing the Mandovi river.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kulkarp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Satish_Prabhu, General Manager at Hotel Mandovi, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Thank you for your feedback.
We are in the process of doing renovations. And we are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and the food and staff ensured that your stay was even more comfortable.

We look forward to welcoming you again to The Mandovi!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (183)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Mandovi
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

107 - 113 of 183 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2013

nice place with old world charm right in the heart of panji. perfect location for business and tourism wise. in middle of everything and easy accessibility to all nearby attractions. has a nice breakfast spread and a famous portugese and goan food restaurant. rooms are small but comfortable and has free wifi. view is of the mandovi river just opposite where the floating casinos are docked. looks lovely at night when they are decked up. wonder why the hotel is on the opp side of the road and the parking lot is actually having the best views.

Room Tip: the ones facing the road and the river beyond
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank molak49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Satish_Prabhu, General Manager at Hotel Mandovi, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,

We appreciate you taking the time to give us your valuable feedback which is truly appreciated. We are delighted that we were able to make you stay enjoyable. Looking forward to hosting you again at The Mandovi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

There are two drawbacks which I will put upfront....the room furniture and facilities are dated (though the size is big and the bathrooms seem to have been upgraded) and the food at the restaurant is expensive.
To get to the positives and there are many - service is fantastic, has the old world charm, guests are known by name, room tariff is very reasonable, location is fantastic, views are good and the food is the best in Goa. A good varied spread for breakfast, and even better, finger licking food at lunch & dinner. Tasty Goan fish curry, fantastic Lobster Thermidor (very good Goan & Continental food) at their only restaurant. Even the North Indian food is good. Take a walk after dinner (but cross the road first). Now if only the food prices were as friendly as the room tariff........
Enough reasons to stay there again and again.

Room Tip: Take a river view room.....best take a suite.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VIVEKtheGreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Satish_Prabhu, General Manager at Hotel Mandovi, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Thank you for your valuable feedback which we sure do appreciate. We are delighted that the delicious food served at The Mandovi made you stay more enjoyable. We look forward to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This was a hotel I have stayed in numerous times over 15 years.It was an icon of Goa.Still ok for a day or two but the services and staff quality have deteriorated badly.Riorico restaurant however,offers true and authentic Goan cuisine and the old portugese flavour can still be obtained

Strategically located and plenty of taxis with good service.Good pickup and drop from the airport.Also has one of the best bookstores I have seen with wide variety of books in a tiny space.It is amazing how they could locate all that in such a tiny space

Opposite mandovi is their sister restaurant Quaterdeck which is a MUST VIST for sitting on the banks of the Mandovi river & enjoying a drink

Room Tip: Please be clear about the difference between regular & premium rooms.Also there are issues about...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nairpaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Satish_Prabhu, General Manager at Hotel Mandovi, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2015

At the outset let me thank you for your patronage, as well as for having taken the time to rate us on tripadvisor and leave your comments. We are overwhelmed by the amazing comments you have posted about our location, The Book Fair, and our Food and Beverage outlets. We apologise for your dissatisfaction where our service standards are concerned and will be looking into the same. We strive to delight you on your next stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Bang opposite the Mandovi river, this hotel has good rooms with a tea/coffee maker and a mini fridge stocked with goodies you would love to have to kill your midnight cravings. Its neat and safe. The rooms are big enough for a small family. The hotel staff are friendly and helpful. All good restaurants are within walking distance. Miramar and Dona Paula beaches are nearby. However, you would miss the beaches up North or down South. That, I feel, is the only drawback of the hotel's location.

Room Tip: Select a river facing room for the view!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnkurH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Satish_Prabhu, General Manager at Hotel Mandovi, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you for your feedback which is very much appreciated. We look forward to more opportunities to serve you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Hotel Mandovi had always been one of my 'must visit places' in Goa and my experience here was exactly as i had hoped.

There is an old world charm of this hotel. Being the first star hotel in Goa, it has a great history.

My stay started with an upgrade to a higher class room. The room was quite well furnished and net and well maintained. Although housekeeping was a bit slow, the ambienece made up for other deficiencies.

I stayed for 2 nights.. and with a complimentary breakfast, the start of the day was good. The breakfast is completely vegetarian, except for eggs...so meat eaters...take care...

Centrally located, the hotel offers a good value for money with a reasonable tariff..

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay.

The hotel offers a free - fixed time - drop and pick up to the airport....which is quite a 'money saver' for Panjim.

Would like to visit again

Room Tip: Choose a river facing room.. if your pocket allows you
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sunpuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Satish_Prabhu, General Manager at Hotel Mandovi, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear Sir,

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us, are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay as well. We do apologize for housekeeping delays during your stay and we appreciate you bringing the same to our notice.

We look forward to welcome you back to The Mandovi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I had been to this hotel for two days conference. This hotel is old one, but kept in good condition. I was given room on top floor; it had the look of old days, but with all new facilities. The location of hotel is in the heart of the city; just alongside the Mandavi river. Just across the road there is river and river cruises starts from this point. Also the casino pickup is at same point; walking distance from hotel. There is good view of Mandavi river and cruise boats etc from the room. The staff is helpful and courteous. They prepared the goan dishes for lunch and guided guest about the content of dishes and how to taste them and how to eat those seafood along with rice etc. Overall experience with this hotel is satisfactory. It does not have the ambience and glamour of five star property, but it is good for those who want to stay in the city of Panjim and also family friendly. Being its good location, one can shop around the hotel; especially for goan kajus. One can go for sightseeing from this hotel as all locations are nearby. I will recommend this hotel for short stay in Panjim and for family and for those who do not want expensive or cheap & lousy setup.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SuhasBd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Satish_Prabhu, General Manager at Hotel Mandovi, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Thank you M. Suhas for your feedback, which is very much appreciated. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Looking forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to The Mandovi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panjim hotels
0.7 mi away
Ginger Goa
Ginger Goa
#8 of 48 in Panjim
742 reviews
0.7 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Panaji
0.3 mi away
The Crown Goa
The Crown Goa
#10 of 48 in Panjim
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Palacio De Goa
Hotel Palacio De Goa
#13 of 48 in Panjim
201 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Fidalgo
Hotel Fidalgo
#11 of 48 in Panjim
458 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grande Delmon
Grande Delmon
#5 of 48 in Panjim
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mandovi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mandovi

Address: Dayanand Bandodkar Marg | Near SBI Main Branch, Panjim 403001, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Panjim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 48 Hotels in Panjim
Price Range: $52 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mandovi 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Mandovi is a centrally located business/holiday center, conveniently located on the banks of the River Mandovi. Commanding an ideal location on the bank of the river Mandovi, in Panjim, The Hotel offers you the most enchanting view of the river and the hillocks across it with 65 well appointed rooms and suites. A Truly fine hotel, combining the Goan tradition of hospitality and timely convenience. A promenade spanning 3 km gets you to the nearest Beach, Miramar. There are shops, Specialty restaurants, local eateries, entertainment centre's, pubs, government offices, commercial center, places of tourist interest and a river cruise jetty within its vicinity. This makes it the most convenient place to stay, whether for business or pleasure. Hotel Mandovi was commissioned in 1952, during the Portuguese rule in Goa, and at the time the miraculous body of the St. Francis Xavier was being exposed. The Hotel Mandovi showcases contemporary dining and entertainment venues offering an array of gastronomic delights of authentically traditional Goan and Portuguese cuisine at Riorico to its most renowned Chinese restaurant Goenchin. The enchanted ambiance of the river front at its specialty multi-cuisine seafood restaurant Quarterdeck speaks for itself. The sinfully decadent display of desserts and mouthwatering savories at its finest pastry shop A Pasterlaria is not too far away from its secretly tucked away cozy getaway the High Tide Bar, where you can unwind with specially concocted Cocktails and Mocktails by our bartender supplemented with innovative starters and soothing music to keep your spirits high. Our open air event deck Aquarius speaks volumes of its well manicured lawns and enthralling river front landscape which makes any occasion noteworthy.The Hotel Mandovi, is well equipped to take care of your business meetings and conferences with our professional and experienced team that ensures appealing banquet presentation, quality food and reliable service is delivered all the time ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Mandovi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mandovi Goa/Panjim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing