We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2 nights spent in two different rooms !!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
WelcomHeritage Panjim Inn
Ranked #6 of 48 Hotels in Panjim
Certificate of Excellence
Pune, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“2 nights spent in two different rooms !!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

I have stayed at ths hotel previously (last year) when I came here to attend a conference. It is quite central, the rooms are spacious and it does have a heritage feel to it. However this visit was a bit of a disaster - they initially said my booking was for one night only (it was supposed to be for two)..then they said they will give me two nights but 1 night in one room and then shift to another room on day 2 ! Tried explaining to the reception staff this is terrible - but to no avail.
Also the lunch prices are way too high now - had a simple rice/curry/soft drink lunch and it cost Rs 860..was expecting it to be half of that !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank netshrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiriamKS, General Manager at WelcomHeritage Panjim Inn, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
At the outset we thank the guest for his review and are happy to hear that he enjoyed the rooms in our Heritage Hotel in Goa.

We apologize for the inconvenience caused due to the room shift.We have checked our records and can confirm that the booking was for one night. Normally we are happy to have our guests extend their stay in the same room subject to availability but in this case we had a specific request for the next day for the room the guest had been booked in and were unable to extend his stay in the same room.

With respect to the food the guest had ordered a special pomfret curry priced at Rs 450 and a calamari chilly fry priced @ Rs 250 plus soft drinks and extra rice.Together the price for this came to Rs 860 inclusive of all taxes.Our normal prawn curry rice is priced @ Rs 300.We believe these prices are fair and are at par with other restaurants in the city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    228
    56
    12
    6
See reviews for
74
209
62
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

An interesting former colonial style house with plenty of historic features including balconies and authentic furniture. This is a great place to stay if you are looking for character and history rather than a bland modern hotel. Service is good and friendly and breakfasts are generous. The rooms in the original house have nice balconies whilst rooms in the later wing are large but overlook a fairly busy road. The hotel is in an excellent position within the historic part of panjim.

Room Tip: Go for the rooms in the older quieter part of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prah186225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

The beds are giant! We booked a superior room for 3 but the double beds together we a giant super king sized so we didn't need the extra bed. The room was lovely & the whole property really nicely renovated, very colonial. Make sure you ask for Bappa for all your taxi needs when you want to go anywhere as he was great, took us to see an amazing temple on a hill in the Latin quarter that we never would have known was there ourselves :-)
The location is great as Panjim is quite different from the rest of Goa, the little Market there was great to potter about in & the fabric shops were amazing. The staff were very helpful & make sure you try the local Feni!

Room Tip: They all seemed good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laura4000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

Classical ethnic look of the gone by era, will touch the heart of the tourist who loves to indulge and plunge into the essence of past.

Buildings which are more than 140 years old spread in the area houses this hotel. It would fascinate the European travellers looking for ethnic properties in India.

Rooms are good, clean and comfortable. Washrooms are well appointed and spacious. The balcony is the added attraction to the rooms. The furnitures are vintage and of great quality.

Food is average and the breakfast spread is disappointing.

A couple of days stay at this property is a great experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AbhijitBabu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

I spend 50-60 days a year in India, most business in Bangalore and two weeks of vacation with my wife. We read wonderful things about Goa both as a Portuguese town and for its beaches and resorts. Coming from the US, I can stay in a resort without flying for 24 hours and we experience India.

It took some pushing and cajoling to have our travel agent find an alternative to a $500-$800 a night all-inclusive resort. She came up with Panjim Inn and it is a gem. It is hard to know where to start. I had some of the best food I have eaten in India in their Veranda restaurant. While the inn is a heritage site, it also had excellent WiFi. The Panjim Inn is part of three historic properties; the Panjim Inn, Panjim Pousada and Panjim People's. The Panjim Pousada is a couple blocks away in a quieter section of Fontainhaus and uses the common areas in the Panjim Inn. Panjim People's is a nice art gallery and cafe with WiFi.

The Panjim Inn is well located in Fontainhaus with everything in walking distance. Old Goa was about 20 minutes away and the Anjuna Flea Market was a fascinating half Wednesday. Cab rentals for 4 and 8 hours are reasonable for Goa and available right at the Inn.

If you like a hotel with good service, this place is for you. If you also want an escape from the typical hotel room, this place is also for you. We plan to visit again (and again).

Room Tip: Closeness to the common areas and Veranda restaurant, choose the Inn. Quieter rooms, choose the Pan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkN7453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
148 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

What a beautiful place to stay. All the talent of Atjit and children, to make this place authentic and lovable. Art, ancient furniture in the purest Goan style. The terrace where they serve excellent food, very local, with the best ingredients, is a must of intimacy in busy Panjim little city. Sure there are sounds, like in an indian village, but all activities of indian families brings your eyes and feelings real. The place to have vacation and enjoy the real Goa. We come back and come back in this wonderful mansion. Miriam is so beautiful and Jack so sweet to help you to the best places around. There is a very interesting art gallery owned by her which is a must see, not to say a must buy of original local artists.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simone038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Panjim Inn is run by the same family that lived there for four generations. Now a part of ITC, it still feels like a private home, with all the amenities of a great hotel. The staff is welcoming, efficient, and helpful. The Veranda restaurant is very good, the wi-fi works well, and the drinks are COLD.
The breakfast buffet (included) is simple, but very good. A few Indian dishes, some cold cereals, fresh fruit and made-to-order omelets are offered.
Located in Fountainhas, it's not a typical Goan holiday replete with gambling and all-inclusive beach resort stuff. If you want a real taste of Goa, Panjim Inn, Panjim Pousada and Panjim People's are the go-to lodging for the area. And DO take Jack up on his offer of a Heritage Tour. It's worth every rupee and then some.

Room Tip: our room was next to busy street during Dewali. 'nuf said.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marmi_PDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Panjim
1.6 mi away
Goa Marriott Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Panaji
2.7 mi away
Mystique Heights Beacon, Panjim
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Crown Goa
The Crown Goa
#8 of 48 in Panjim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Palacio De Goa
Hotel Palacio De Goa
#13 of 48 in Panjim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
4.5 mi away
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
#6 of 64 in Candolim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WelcomHeritage Panjim Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WelcomHeritage Panjim Inn

Property: WelcomHeritage Panjim Inn
Address: E - 212 31'st January Road, Panjim 403001, India
Location: India > Goa > Panjim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Panjim
#4 Romantic Hotel in Panjim
#4 Business Hotel in Panjim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — WelcomHeritage Panjim Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Goa's first Heritage hotel in a 130 year old family home owned and managed by the same family for over 5 generations.Located In Asia's only Latin quarter of Fontainhas with its windling alleys and quain byelanes.Each room is full of character with period furniture including four poster beds,carved almirahs and contemporary art.To experience the charm and nostalgia of a era long gone in a gracious Heritage mansion, come stay with us at the Panjim Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your WelcomHeritage Panjim Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panjim Hotel Panaji
WelcomHeritage Panjim Inn Goa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing