We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Vindaloo”
Review of Rio Rico

Rio Rico
Ranked #148 of 325 Restaurants in Panjim
Cuisines: Indian
Restaurant details
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Nice Vindaloo”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

This place looks like it is stuck in time with its colonial decor and uniformed waiters. Their Goan food is popular with the locals and their prawn/fish curry are reputed. I've had the prawn curry and quite liked it. The Kingfish Vindaloo is very good too. Though the money that you end up paying is actually steep with the taxes etc and for the same amount, there are many other places in Panjim itself that I would recommend for Goan food. The service is very good. Go to Rio Rico for a bout of nostalgia and some decent food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Croostix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    8
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mapusa, Goa, India
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Ok”
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

The restaurant offers food that is just ok but there r many other restaurants in panjim that offer better it is situated in a nice place but there always is a parking problem

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dayne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, Haryana, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dusty trip down memory lane”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

It was an evening I was looking forward to as I was re-visiting Hotel Mandovi after a gap of 18-years. I shouldn't have worried as nothing had changed, not even the dusty drapes which seemed caught in a time-warp. However, the restaurant Rio Rico is charming in a old-world sort of way. The food vacillated between good and mostly disastrous. Of the starters, the prawn stuffed papads were good while the chicken Cafreal was smelly and the quality of chicken seemed iffy at best. The only thing which was near good in the main-course was the fish curry. The rest was a best left uneaten - they kept me entertained as I looked for the sausage between the onion and tomato mix in the Goan Chilly sausage....I found none. The worst was the stuffed pomfret. Completely stale, smelly and probably a relic, this was not fit to be served on a table. The staff while friendly was in-competent in actually doing anything when we informed them of the problem with the fish. The fish was taken to the kitchen and brought back as the chef thought that the fish was still edible. The interesting part about the evening was the singer who kept us entertained and tried to take our mind off the food which we were or weren't eating.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank rave_31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
69 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Gud experience!!”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I had been here recently for a dinner! Its located inside Mandovi hotel! The ambience is very gud and so is the service! We ordered a goan soup (caldo verde sumthing) and it was a disastor! The starters chicken tikka, paneer sesame and kingfish tikka were delicious! They provide complimentary breadsticks n normal bread with the soup! We also had Prawns Biryani which was too good! Overall a great experience while watching the india lanka cricket match on the big screen here!! Highly recomended!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nishad L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panjim, India
Level Contributor
75 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Rio Rico-Diappointing!”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

As a Goan daughter in law, I have a special place in my heart for Hotel Mandovi and Rio Rico Restaurant. As a strict vegetarian, eating out was always at Rio Rico as they alone understood that egetarians too have a place, in this sea food place. Circa 2013, the Restaurant remains the same as far as ambience is concerned. But veg food and service standards have fallen! I hope they will improve soon!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank McKaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rio Rico also viewed

Panjim, North Goa District
Panjim, North Goa District
 
Panjim, North Goa District
 

Been to Rio Rico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing