We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Groan heritage - we loved it”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Old Goa

Old Goa
Book In Advance
More Info
$1,685.00*
and up
Private Tour: 5-Day Goa and Mumbai from Delhi
Ranked #3 of 103 things to do in Panjim
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
London
Level Contributor
141 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Groan heritage - we loved it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

If wish to see the cultural aspects of Goa then Old Goa is a must place to visit.
Goa is not just about seaside, it has a long history of Portuguese association.
Some of the old buildings still standing tall showing Groan heritage.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sidwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,075 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    514
    431
    105
    17
    8
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“OLD GOA”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Only famous for Saint Francis Church and Mangeshi Temple. Good roads to drive from Panjim City to OLD Goa.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SandeepGupta75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Small and kinda dirty”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

We only went to Old Goa to see the Bom Jesus Basilica and Tomb of St Francis Xavier. We expected Old Goa to be much bigger than it was as it used to be the capital before it was abandoned due to plague and the capital relocated. There aren't a lot of places to eat and it was dirty and we got stared at a lot. Just go to the churches and ride around Old Goa if you fancy, but nothing really to see here.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank TomAndElly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
248 reviews
91 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Architectural treasures”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

We spent and couple of hours wandering around old Goa. It was fascinating. It is a melting pot of architectural styles and colours. The Basicllica stands at the top of the main street . It is a beautiful building, displaying the magnificent Portuguese influenced architecture.

Walking around the side streets also holds a wealth of discoveries. I would recommend that you spent some time exploring .

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank madaboutwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“this place is very nice and historical”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

this place is very nice and historical it has a lot of christian history and i liked it a lot i would recomend this place to anyone it is a must to e to this plae if you come to goa

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank roshan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Old Goa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing