We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just smile and ask for Edmond....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Espynick

Espynick
Ranked #141 of 319 Restaurants in Panjim
Cuisines: Indian, Seafood, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
Description: Near the Goa Marriott.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just smile and ask for Edmond....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

If you ever want to eat home cooked goan food. ... head for miramar. ... Ask for a restaurant called Mum's kitchen. ... When you reach Mum's kitchen .... walk right past it to the best place to eat goan home cooked food called ESPYNICK.

Don't expect anything fancy. .. The restaurant most times is empty and doesn't even have air conditioning. .. But sitting under the fan with a chilled beer is anyday a better experience.


Edmond is a one man army running that place. ... He takes the order. ... He lays the table. ... He cooks the food. ... He serves. ... and he clears the table.....All on his own without any help.

He is a home grown local master chef and his food beats all fancy restaurants in goa. I guarantee you this. ... If you have an appetite for goan food. ... you will for sure be licking the last morsel off the plate.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank contr4x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    7
    4
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great food, simple and elegant ambience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

I walked in and left after looking at the menu because I guess they were gearing up for dinner and I was early ( about 7:30 pm). I returned a few minutes later and met Edmund. Hes the chef/owner. Enthusiastic and recommended the avocado shake that was really tasty.
The food was good but could have been served piping hot and it would have been even better. ( Maybe it was because i was chatting to Edmund and the food was sitting in the kitchen!) Ed did heat up the rice for me. I highly recommend this restaurant. I only wish I had known about it earlier. I would have had more meals there over the weekend. BTW they also have rooms on top that are priced VERY reasonably.
Amitabh ( Was in Goa for the half marathon)

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pune_Merlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food at good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

Just dropped in to Espynick for a quick bite. A simple menu, but great freshly cooked home style authentic Goan meal, with great value for money.

Much better service and food quality than the posh, over priced, poor service, over rated Mum's kitchen which is next door.


Will I go back to Espynick? Yes... On every visit to Panjim.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AylmerR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emirate of Ras Al Khaimah, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“My Cosy Corner Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

This is not a very fancy restaurant and is my favourite when i need to have a meal with out any unnecessary fan fare. The place is run like a home and you are welcomed by the warm restaurant owner / manager. There is a restaurant next door called mum's kitchen which should idealy be the name of this restaurant.
If you want some elaborate affair, do not go here, but if you want some simple authentic goan food with decent variety of beverages Please please go here.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Soham_Natu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simple Goan food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Espynick is a small Goan restaurant squeezed in right next to Mums Kitchen in Miramar. Bright and airy, overlooking the main street, this is a cute little place that serves up some mean (read hot n spicy) Goan stuff.

I dropped in one afternoon on a whim, after having passed by the place a day before while driving. It was empty, with some lovely 70's hits playing and only Edmund, the owner behind the counter. After scanning the menu that has quite a mix of Goan, Continental and Chinese, I decided on a plate of fried king fish, prawn vindaloo and rice. Now here's the part that was a bit of a let down. It took my food 35 minutes to arrive. With an empty restaurant, you'd expect some quick service. The only saving grace for me was the company of Edmund's sweet mother who gave me company while chatting away.

The fish was hot, fresh and simply delicious. Two large pieces of king fish coated in rawa and deep fried to perfection! The prawn vindaloo was too spicy but flavourful. Folks who cannot handle spicy food will have to tell Edmund in advance to tone it down. But thankfully, the chunky prawns in the vindaloo taste much better paired with rice.

Espynick is a quiet, unobtrusive place if you want to spend a nice afternoon or evening with a group or even alone. The food is yum and easy on the pocket.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ayesha27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Espynick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing