We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Hotel”
Review of The Crown Goa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Crown Goa
Ranked #10 of 48 Hotels in Panjim
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Nice and comfortable hotel right in centre of city.
totally worth coming again.
wonderful for the price.
and good casino too
prompt service.
good food availalbe late at night!
speedy checkout.
pick up and drop facility for airport was perfect.
allowed late check outs

Room Tip: book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shivamtalwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (317)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 317 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2013

first of all the entry to the hotel is on a one way we had a hard time figuring it out.its in the city center no doubt ,but the approach is all messed up.if u walking up dont ever use the stairway from the riverside its all plastered with pan stains n garbage!!
me and my friends stayed here in December 2012.we took 3 ac double rooms.
the check in process is fast . once u enter the hotel through the elevator its all clean airy n nice.
this property is pretty old so the rooms have a musty odor people with dust allergy be prepared for the worst.
the ac in my room was screwed up had to call the maintenance to get it fixed.
the amenities in the room are good enough.the in house restaurant sucks big time.
they never had bacon or lamb burger for three days straight. the staff is not trained at all. they give those dumb stares when u ask them something.
The pool was also poorly maintained the floor was all slippery .
The only thing i liked was the Casino. Maintained clean n decent games to indulge in .
Lastly its just a 3 * property not a 5 * as it claims to be.

Room Tip: pick the smoking rooms u get a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drtravelfreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Central location is one of this hotel's best features- just a short walk away from the Town Centre as well as the Mandovi riverfront.
Unprepossessing entrance from which one takes a lift to the Lobby floor, which has good views over the Mandovi River. Exudes a definite feeling of calm.
My room was spacious with a king bed; a fan speeds cooling, and reading lamps were very useful. View of a green patch at the rear of the Hotel was not so great.
Bathroom was OK, amenities adequate, and hair-dryer was of use.
Gym is well equipped with a good range of machines as well as free weights.

Mini bar was well stocked, room service provided reasonably priced and tasty choices .
The restaurant serves a good range of options, and is especially sunny at breakfast.
Our Conference arrangements were handled by Mamta and her team efficiently; service was extra attentive during our conference lunch.

Glitches:- Charges for ice were a novelty (Rs 80/- per bucket); service at breakfast was very slow & chaotic (probably because all residents are there in a short time slot).
Most unhappily, despite telecons & SMSes for over a month, sales sprung a new price on me at the last minute. My SMSes confirming agreed price "hadn't been received", and I was left with a "take it or leave it" choice at the last minute.

Overall, I enjoyed my stay, and wouldn't mind going back (this time ensuring that I have their formal price commitment in advance of arrival).

Room Tip: Rooms facing the river offer good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trips56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

I had my worst experience with The Crown. I was checked into an executive room, and that room stinked and was unberable. I called for help, they sent a room freshner.... When I asked for a supervisor, he mentioned that the Air Conditioner had been through servicing and repairs and the gas leakage is causing the smell. They knew about this. The room cleanliness was to pits and it was no where an executive category room for a 5 star property. then they started showing me which room I would like to stay in.... the room they gave me, was supposedly an upgrade but actually a big downgrade... the entire nite there was a construction and banging outside my window.... I couldnt sleep, had a bad headache because of stnk in the room, and then the night sleep.. the breakfast was no where comparable to a 5 star property....

The general manager was just oblivious and non receptive of feedback, I checked out immediately and moved immediately to Taj Vivanta.... please dont stay here...

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anees M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Another hotel in India that just doesn't get it.

Free wifi Internet is advertised on their site!!! Except when it doesn't work.

The staff informed me upon check in that wifi was not working. But they offered a solution. Ni could use the business center for a fee. B

I attempted to explain to the staff if they are offering a service it is their responsibility to honor their commitments to the customer, ie free Internet. It is not their clients fault if the hotel has non functioning hotel.

His response was if he provided me with free access I the business center, he would need to provide all guers with free sevice. Exactly

Crown goa. You are better than that

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Service
1  Thank rmgsafari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCrownGoa, Manager at The Crown Goa, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Dear Sir,

Thank you for your feedback.

I sincerely regret the inconvenience you experienced with the WIFI during your stay. Do let me assure you that we have taken steps to ensure guests do not have a similar experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Crown.

With kind regards,

Colleen Sequeira
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

we stayed in crown for 03 nts. really superb hotel, very nice clean modern interior rooms. Very nice located. The food n service beyond expectation. This particular hotel we choose for cruise casino,really if one only want to enjoy casino in goa, CROWN is the perfect, very nearest to all cruise casino.Check in/out very smooth, house keeping room service very prompt.Love to visit again.

Room Tip: superior river view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PURAVDESAI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCrownGoa, Manager at The Crown Goa, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Dear Mr. Desai,

Thank you for your feedback!

Your review encourages us & we look forward to providing even better guest services in future. We sincerely thank you for choosing to stay with us and look forward to your next visit to The Crown Goa!

Kind regards,

Colleen Sequeira
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Went to this place on work,It was excellent!
The pros and cons are as below
Pros:
Location its in the heart of the city and excellent for doing business as well as visiting the casinos!
Casino Royale, Caravela and Casino pride are right opp.
Rooms are decent and we got the large ones although we had the view of some trees!!
Try getting the ones with the Mandowi river view which is spectacular although at a premium.
The staff are truly great and highly accomodating!
Good rooms with all creature comfort(32" Flat screen , Daikin ACs, Tea coffee maker etc)
Good bathrooms and fittings

Cons
Slightly dated hotel in comparison with the new ones (personally i loved it)
Old lifts,
Food is ok considering it goa and the options outside are limitless.
20 min drive min to baga or any beach up north.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelwitsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCrownGoa, Manager at The Crown Goa, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Dear Sir,

Thank you for your feedback!

We are happy you enjoyed our hotel and services and look forward to providing you an even better experience in future.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and look forward to your next visit to The Crown Goa!

Kind regards,

Colleen Sequeira
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Panjim
3.6 mi away
Grand Hyatt Goa
Grand Hyatt Goa
#1 of 3 in Bambolim
2,322 reviews
1.7 mi away
Goa Marriott Resort & Spa
23.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Goa Cavelossim Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Panaji
7.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Goa - Arpora - Baga
24.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
#4 of 10 in Cavelossim
1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Goa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Goa

Address: Bairo Alto Dos Pilotos | Goa, Panjim 403001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Panjim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Panjim
#5 Luxury Hotel in Panjim
#5 Family Hotel in Panjim
#5 Business Hotel in Panjim
Price Range: $96 - $369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown Goa 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5* Boutique Hotel with 43 Rooms & Suites ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Crown Goa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Goa Hotel Panaji
The Crown Goa Panjim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing