We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good option in Panaji”
Review of The Crown Goa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Crown Goa
Ranked #10 of 47 Hotels in Panjim
Mumbai
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“A Good option in Panaji”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Central location is one of this hotel's best features- just a short walk away from the Town Centre as well as the Mandovi riverfront.
Unprepossessing entrance from which one takes a lift to the Lobby floor, which has good views over the Mandovi River. Exudes a definite feeling of calm.
My room was spacious with a king bed; a fan speeds cooling, and reading lamps were very useful. View of a green patch at the rear of the Hotel was not so great.
Bathroom was OK, amenities adequate, and hair-dryer was of use.
Gym is well equipped with a good range of machines as well as free weights.

Mini bar was well stocked, room service provided reasonably priced and tasty choices .
The restaurant serves a good range of options, and is especially sunny at breakfast.
Our Conference arrangements were handled by Mamta and her team efficiently; service was extra attentive during our conference lunch.

Glitches:- Charges for ice were a novelty (Rs 80/- per bucket); service at breakfast was very slow & chaotic (probably because all residents are there in a short time slot).
Most unhappily, despite telecons & SMSes for over a month, sales sprung a new price on me at the last minute. My SMSes confirming agreed price "hadn't been received", and I was left with a "take it or leave it" choice at the last minute.

Overall, I enjoyed my stay, and wouldn't mind going back (this time ensuring that I have their formal price commitment in advance of arrival).

Room Tip: Rooms facing the river offer good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trips56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    114
    53
    20
    14
See reviews for
91
88
18
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

I had my worst experience with The Crown. I was checked into an executive room, and that room stinked and was unberable. I called for help, they sent a room freshner.... When I asked for a supervisor, he mentioned that the Air Conditioner had been through servicing and repairs and the gas leakage is causing the smell. They knew about this. The room cleanliness was to pits and it was no where an executive category room for a 5 star property. then they started showing me which room I would like to stay in.... the room they gave me, was supposedly an upgrade but actually a big downgrade... the entire nite there was a construction and banging outside my window.... I couldnt sleep, had a bad headache because of stnk in the room, and then the night sleep.. the breakfast was no where comparable to a 5 star property....

The general manager was just oblivious and non receptive of feedback, I checked out immediately and moved immediately to Taj Vivanta.... please dont stay here...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anees M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Another hotel in India that just doesn't get it.

Free wifi Internet is advertised on their site!!! Except when it doesn't work.

The staff informed me upon check in that wifi was not working. But they offered a solution. Ni could use the business center for a fee. B

I attempted to explain to the staff if they are offering a service it is their responsibility to honor their commitments to the customer, ie free Internet. It is not their clients fault if the hotel has non functioning hotel.

His response was if he provided me with free access I the business center, he would need to provide all guers with free sevice. Exactly

Crown goa. You are better than that

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rmgsafari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCrownGoa, Manager at The Crown Goa, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your feedback.

I sincerely regret the inconvenience you experienced with the WIFI during your stay. Do let me assure you that we have taken steps to ensure guests do not have a similar experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Crown.

With kind regards,

Colleen Sequeira
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vadodara, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

we stayed in crown for 03 nts. really superb hotel, very nice clean modern interior rooms. Very nice located. The food n service beyond expectation. This particular hotel we choose for cruise casino,really if one only want to enjoy casino in goa, CROWN is the perfect, very nearest to all cruise casino.Check in/out very smooth, house keeping room service very prompt.Love to visit again.

Room Tip: superior river view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PURAVDESAI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCrownGoa, Manager at The Crown Goa, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Mr. Desai,

Thank you for your feedback!

Your review encourages us & we look forward to providing even better guest services in future. We sincerely thank you for choosing to stay with us and look forward to your next visit to The Crown Goa!

Kind regards,

Colleen Sequeira
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Went to this place on work,It was excellent!
The pros and cons are as below
Pros:
Location its in the heart of the city and excellent for doing business as well as visiting the casinos!
Casino Royale, Caravela and Casino pride are right opp.
Rooms are decent and we got the large ones although we had the view of some trees!!
Try getting the ones with the Mandowi river view which is spectacular although at a premium.
The staff are truly great and highly accomodating!
Good rooms with all creature comfort(32" Flat screen , Daikin ACs, Tea coffee maker etc)
Good bathrooms and fittings

Cons
Slightly dated hotel in comparison with the new ones (personally i loved it)
Old lifts,
Food is ok considering it goa and the options outside are limitless.
20 min drive min to baga or any beach up north.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelwitsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCrownGoa, Manager at The Crown Goa, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your feedback!

We are happy you enjoyed our hotel and services and look forward to providing you an even better experience in future.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and look forward to your next visit to The Crown Goa!

Kind regards,

Colleen Sequeira
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Level 6 Contributor
44 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Right from the outset, this hotel tries it best to upset people. The moment you checked into the room, the AC was not working. 30 mins wasted. This is probably the only 5 star which does not provide bathroom slippers or shaving or brushing kit.They tried to charge us for that and were argumentative till it was sorted out. Sofa cushions hadn't seen water in a while. 5 star hotel had split AC and not central. Staff training is unbelievably poor. Everybody is behind the reception area, right from the bell boy to the waiter to housekeeping staff running around like headless chicken. For the price you pay for the superior rooms during off season, not worth it. View facing the river and pools are great and looks like the management feels that is enough for the guests. Pool size is very small. 5 star hotel does not have digital TV transmission. Check out took 38 minutes even after repeatedly informing about check out before 7am. This hotel has no regret, remorse or bother about how guests feel. Only good thing was the view from the riverside rooms and the food. Management-not fit to work even in 4 star hotels.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AjSilverblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

A good hotel to stay in Panaji, heart of the city Goa. It is one of the best business/family hotels with great services. Food is good and room stay is very cozy and comfortable. Location is in the heart of the city allows one to have facilities in proximity.

Room Tip: all rooms are good, better stay in 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matharoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Panjim
3.6 mi away
Grand Hyatt Goa
Grand Hyatt Goa
#1 of 3 in Bambolim
2,248 reviews
1.7 mi away
Goa Marriott Resort & Spa
24.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
#5 of 10 in Cavelossim
1,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Goa Cavelossim Beach
0.8 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Panaji
3.8 mi away
Golden Tulip Goa Candolim
Golden Tulip Goa Candolim
#9 of 66 in Candolim
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Goa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Goa

Property: The Crown Goa
Address: Bairo Alto Dos Pilotos | Goa, Panjim 403001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Panjim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Panjim
#5 Luxury Hotel in Panjim
#5 Family Hotel in Panjim
#5 Business Hotel in Panjim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown Goa 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5* Boutique Hotel with 43 Rooms & Suites ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Crown Goa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Goa Hotel Panaji
The Crown Goa Panjim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing