We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must Visit for Authentic Goan Food”
Review of Mum's Kitchen

Mum's Kitchen
Reserve a Table
eazydiner
Ranked #18 of 378 Restaurants in Panjim
Price range: $22 - $29
Cuisines: Indian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Since 1997, Mum’s Kitchen has progressively served rare examples of the cuisine of Goa; it’s a growing movement striving to save the Goan cuisine from extinction. This place is also a tribute to “Mothers” from far flung corners of Goa for having contributed In compiling exclusive traditional recipes, the result being a range of food so exquisite it’s a testimony to the rich Goan culture.
Reviewed April 27, 2019

This is a medium sized hotel built in a house - the food is authentic goan and the service is excellent. The ambience is very serene and relaxing.

Strongly recommended for a visit

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Vinay Kumar C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JolaineM16, Guest Relations Manager at Mum's Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2019

Dear Vinay,

Thank you for highly recommending Mum's Kitchen, happy to see that you truly enjoyed the Goan flavors and the hospitality. It was an absolute pleasure having you dine with us.

Hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Regards,
Guest relation team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (725)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 725 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2019

We asked the server to choose dishes for us, based on what was authentic. We had a nice prawn dish and cauliflower dish to start, followed by fish, lobster and chicken curry. All were very tasty. However I was surprised at the price, it seemed extremely expensive.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank Travellover6128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JolaineM16, Guest Relations Manager at Mum's Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2019

Dear Travellover6128

Thank you for sharing your experience, happy to see that you enjoyed the Goan flavors at Mum's Kitchen. We would like to share that the prices are inclusive of all government taxes and the amount is clearly mentioned on the menu. The price is a complete reflection of the quality of produce we source out and all the countless cost that comes in.

It was a pleasure having you dine with us.

May you have a lovely day ahead!!

Regards,
Guest relation team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2019

Very good foood and excellent service. Inside is very peaceful ambiance. We ordered the mutton xacuti and pork vindaloo. Both were delicious. Must visit place in Miramar locality.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SSR_Miami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JolaineM16, Guest Relations Manager at Mum's Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2019

Dear SSR_Miami,

Lovely to know you had a great experience at Mum's Kitchen and especially enjoyed the Mutton Xacuti and Pork Vindaloo. It was an absolute pleasure having you dine with us.
Hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

May you have a lovely day ahead!!
Regards,
Guest relation team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2019

Lovely small restaurant serving authentic goan food. Fresh bread. Prawn curry was really well made. Pork vindaloo was excellent. Slightly expensive.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank devika68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JolaineM16, Guest Relations Manager at Mum's Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2019

Dear devika68

Thank you for reviewing us, happy to see that you enjoyed the Goan flavors especially the Prawn curry and Pork Vindaloo. We had a great time serving you.
Hope to welcome you back again in the near future.
May you have a lovely day ahead!!!

Regrads,
Guest relation team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2019

Not sure why I left disappointed from this restaurant. Service was friendly and fast, the place is nice and clean but I felt food was quite average. This was our last Goan meal before we would head back to Mumbai and this place totally let me down :(

We went there with our almost 12mo old and they were very nice to accommodate us with the baby. Kudos for having changing room and being a breastfeeding friendly place (with a special room upstairs which I didn't visit).

We shared:
- Kingfish fish rava fry was decent but nothing great. It wasn't spicy so that was surprising to us as that was the main reason we ordered a separate fish plate for our baby
- Fish and chips for baby at 750 rupees? This was surprisingly more expensive than the adult kingfish rava fry which had bigger fish portion. Didn't understand why but it didn't make any sense. They need to revise their prices. Her fish (morsel) was good but very very oily. They need to prep healthier dishes for children. My suggestion is to remove crumbs from their menu and just do a simple rava fry and offer veggies instead of french fries which were very hard and sad. Her plate definitely didn't look very fresh. She ate it but we could tell the difference of quality.
- simple Prawn curry with goan rice was the best dish we had
- we finished strong with bebinca and caramel custard. I don't know how but both were terrible. The worst bebinca we had on this trip - the layers were coming apart and the color wasn't the vibrant one I had seen on the pics perhaps not a fresh batch? That would be sad if they served us an old slice :( Caramel custard was the hardest custard I have had. Terrible end of the meal and our Goan last lunch...I won't be returning sadly as this place neither seems authentic nor serving fresh food.

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Heliana_Mano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JolaineM16, Guest Relations Manager at Mum's Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2019

Dear Heliana Mano

Thank you for taking the time to review us, sad to see that our Goan flavors did not suit your palate and that you had an imperfect experience.

We have been consistently serving Goan cuisines for the past 23 years and being an ISO certified head. The quality of the products is under constant surveillance.

We will definitely take into consideration all your comments and see where we might have missed, as it is quite disheartening to know that you did not receive the experience you were looking out for.
We hope the next time you visit us, it will be a complete positive experience.
Thank you once again,

May you have a lovely day ahead!!

Warm regards,
Guest relation team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mum's Kitchen also viewed

Panjim, North Goa District
Panjim, North Goa District
 
Panjim, North Goa District
Panjim, North Goa District
 
Panjim, North Goa District
Panjim, North Goa District
 

Been to Mum's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing