We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Goa and the Vivanta in Panjim.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vivanta by Taj - Panaji

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Vivanta by Taj - Panaji
Ranked #1 of 48 Hotels in Panjim
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Goa and the Vivanta in Panjim.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

Vivanta Taj in Panjim is a beautiful hotel. The city is easily accessible and the hotel has its own cabs and private cabs are just outside the gate.

The staff are courteous and go out of their way to make one feel welcomed and at home (esp when you're staying there for a few days!).

The food & beverage department provided delicious meals and wonderful food (a couple of restaurants to dine in). The catering staff worked hard and were well mannered.

The housekeeping staff made sure one’s room was cleaned and groomed properly.

Staff sincerely care for your well-being (and must not be mistaken as being inquisitive).

This was our second time there (8-days per stay) - and would happily stay there again.

P/s Having free wifi would be nice (but TAJ head office hasn't organised this arrangement). You current pay for this item. Hopefully it will be part of the services, next time we visit any TAJ hotel.

Bonus: Everything within the hotel is 'near' and eliminates the need to walk far distances :)

Room Tip: Not Applicable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RFMinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    772
    398
    86
    18
    13
See reviews for
368
257
80
452
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

I was looking forward to the famous Taj hospitality, when I checked into the hotel for 1 night with my husband and 2 kids. I was disappointed on that count. To start with , the lobby looked very sparse and shabby. The upholstery on the sofas in the waiting area was dirty! The room and bathrooms were nice, modern and very clean. There was no view..as there was brick wall outside our room. The breakfast spread was very good as far as the variety and quality of food was concerned. The breakfast service was not very well managed. There was confusion at the live counters. The waiters were slow in clearing away plates. My husband's order of omelette did not arrive. But overall, we enjoyed the breakfast. At the end of the day, we had to remind housekeeping to put in an extra bed. Well, small issues, but certainly not expected at the Taj. Further, the hotel seemed to have a 'no smiles' policy. No staff member smiled ..at anybody.

The terrace pool area is the place where I spent most of my time. The sunbeds with white curtains, the beautiful breeze, and the view of the city, and best of all Shabbir, the pool attendant, make it a delightful experience. It seemed Shabbir really enjoyed serving the guests and keeping the pool area impeccable.
A thanks to Meera, who sang a beautiful love song for my husband and me at the lounge.

It was a good stay..only the staff needs to be a bit more motivated .

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nidhi42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

I selected this hotel for the Taj reputation of superb service, as I have stayed at and enjoyed other Taj hotels in India. This hotel did not disappoint. From the greeting I received when I arrived to the service in the restaurant, this hotel lived up to my expectations of quality and service. There was a large choice of both Indian and western dishes for the buffet breakfast. Service was attentive and professional. I also enjoyed the Tamari restaurant for dinner. The food was delicious and reasonably priced for a hotel. The front desk staff were helpful and friendly, and responsive to questions and requests. My room was well maintained and comfortable. The hotel does not have a beach location, but the pool and spa were lovely and met my needs. The hotel was only a short walk to town and the main market.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noah77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

Hotel was good, clean pool area, rooms and very modern but the service in the restaurant was terrible, slow & they pretty much ignore you until you have to approach them - even then it's 50/50 as to whether you will receive what you requested.

Would stay again but would have breakfast earlier to avoid the rush.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarnesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

I stayed at Vivanta Panaji for 4 nights and the hotel staff are kind and serving. Overall stay was satisfactory. It is centrally located. I enjoyed the sunset at Goa fully from a walkable distance to the hotel

Room Tip: There are only 5 floors and you cant expect the best. It seems all rooms are same
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sgdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agra, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

i was a repeat guest as my first experience with the hotel was fine. but when i visited the hotel on a package of 4 nights and five days I guess that was the worst decision I had ever made!!!!!! the food was yuk yuk yuk!!!!!! just like a roadside eatery!!!! Housekeeping was pathetic...... inspite of booking room way in advance i had to wait endlessly to get my room......... bad bad bad service!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank diti15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 3 days, 11th Feb 2014 to 14th Feb 2014. This city hotel in Panaji Goa is not exactly romantic but we noticed many newly married Indian honeymooners during our stay.Like any 5-star business hotel, its rooms are decorated in the same way.
Special mention must be made of JIVA SPA which is complimentary and romantic setting of swimming pool at 9th floor terrace with a small green garden.

Room Tip: With a few dollars more Vivanta by Taj at Aguda Fort Goa has much more to offer in a perfect romanti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank satrombay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Panjim
0.9 mi away
Goa Marriott Resort & Spa
18.6 mi away
Taj Exotica Goa
Taj Exotica Goa
#1 of 14 in Benaulim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,800 reviews
3.4 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Holiday Village, Goa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 mi away
The Leela Goa
The Leela Goa
#1 of 10 in Cavelossim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,151 reviews
3.8 mi away
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
#8 of 64 in Candolim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
6.8 mi away
Acron Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Panaji? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Panaji

Property: Vivanta by Taj - Panaji
Address: Off D. B. Bandodkar Road, Panjim 403001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Goa > Panjim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Panjim
#1 Business Hotel in Panjim
#1 Spa Hotel in Panjim
#2 Family Hotel in Panjim
#2 Romantic Hotel in Panjim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Panaji 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Indian Hotels Company Limited, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Panaji reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Panaji Hotel Panaji
Vivanta By Taj - Panaji Goa/Panjim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing