We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Faithful”
Review of Horse Shoe

Horse Shoe
Ranked #242 of 326 Restaurants in Panjim
Cuisines: Portuguese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Old Faithful”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We have been coming here for many years and have never been disappointed yet! Vasco the owner/chef is the perfect host as well as accommodating. He comes and chats and if you have a special request (like my son who does not like very spicy food and this is Goan Portuguese!) he makes it less spicy - since it is all freshly prepared and cooked.

However, don't come here if you are in a hurry or very hungry - since it is all freshly cooked, it can take time... but it's definitely worth the wait.

Also it can be advisable to call ahead and check the timings. He is supposed to be open at lunch times and in the evenings, but that is not always the case. Hey after all this is Goa!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank tintinmandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    5
    1
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Doesn't get much better . . .”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We had not done our homework-- no checking of tripadvisor, no lonely planet-ing, just arriving at Panaji after dark and venturing out on to the main street. Peeked in. Saw no one inside, but the place looked cute, lovely Portuguese fixtures. So we said, what the heck. A Goan fish curry that melted in our mouths. A vegetable soup delicately spiced, with a kick at the end.Fresh, crunchy bread. Fabulous service. As we left, the place was filling up. No wonder. Great food. Great atmosphere. Fair prices.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank samwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Ate here on the basis of tripadvisor reviews. Extremely disappointed. There was only one other table occupied and the owner/chef appeared to be friendly with them and very attentive. We ordered peri peri chicken and it was the most dismal presentation of this classic I ever saw. A chicken leg, barely grilled, practically tasteless with no sign of peri peri sauce. Having eaten the real thing in Portugal, this was a very poor relation. My companions were also very disappointed. Would definitely not recommend this restaurant. The wine we ordered was clearly rancid and not drinkable. This was accepted by the waiter and we were not charged for it.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank drimbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candolim, India
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“lil heart”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

just the d best wat can i say i ate chicken peri peri ,n salted Goan cod fish a dish popular amongst the Goan catholic community, who do not make it at home because of the non availability of cod fish in Goa n it ws excellent ... wit wine n sum old portuguese muzic . loved the ambiance inside....food ws lil late cz i sw chef/owner ws cookin da fresh food n its v rare dis days were chef/owner cooks da food n gives u n it ws just amazing...den i went hme google"d it horse shoe restaurant ... chef/owner is very famous for his portuguese food award winner Mr vasco silveira
one of the best food i ate
thank you
must go ...

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sayee2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goa
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cozy Goan Restaurant”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Excellent goan food, nice quiet experience they let you bring your ovvn vvine. They take some time to prepare their dishes but thats because everything is freshly prepared. Must try.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank MeetuBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Horse Shoe also viewed

Panjim, North Goa District
Panjim, North Goa District
 
Panjim, North Goa District
 

Been to Horse Shoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing