We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rejuvenating with Afonso”
Review of Afonso Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Afonso Guest House
Ranked #3 of 47 Hotels in Panjim
Certificate of Excellence
Jamshedpur, Jharkhand, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Rejuvenating with Afonso”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

The hotel is excellent in all perspectives . Afonso is a best option for budget tourist, Location is excellent, even though the food is not available here, but room service , room condition and staff there are very helpful, i would give this hotel thumbs up.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank review_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    147
    26
    11
    7
See reviews for
79
180
105
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

My friends and I booked a room at Hotel Afonso for a very brief night in Panaji. We needed a place to stay between our travels from Mandrem Beach and catching a flight at the Goa airport at 4 a.m. We arrived the day the owner's daughter was getting married. The staff couldn't have been friendlier in the midst of all the excitement. The building itself has loads of charm, beautiful light coming through trees and iron work in the windows, clean rooms, and comfortable beds. The staff arranged for a driver to pick us up at 1:30 in the morning to take us to the airport. When we were loading into the taxi, the proprietress called the driver to double check he was there and we were on time. Very commendable service.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zoom_Strub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

My husband and I are backpackers but have also had our share of sophisticated over-the-top expensive stays, world over. When traveling to Goa, being regulars, we have stayed at really expensive resorts as well as cheap one's. This particular stay was intentionally chosen by us, to experience Panaji. The afonso guest house is for the hippie at heart. Very cosy and in a great neighborhood, especially if you like walking. Our last stay was at Panjim Inn, in the same locality, which was great but also cost us a bomb. This time we drove down, so we had transportation, which was very convenient! We saved up our money and spent it on wining and dining at the best beach resorts in town.
Afonso Guest house is very quaint, for the simpleton. It has all the facilities you would want for a comfortable stay, but its certainly no luxury or boutique hotel, and they don't claim to be! I went through the other 2/3 star reviews and believe people expected something grander.
This is a place for those who enjoy simplicity and old style. The rooms are not elaborate but have old goan character. The place is classic and uncluttered. They provide you with simple soap and towels. We carried our own because I enjoy my girly brands. There is no safe/locker but we had all our money on us, so this was not a problem. The bed linen is thin, but I see no reason why they would not give us extra's if we so needed them. We specifically asked for an A/C room. Viva Panjim is at earshot, and I wanted to eat authentic - really authentic - and reasonably priced goan food, so this was quite amazing. All in all, when I want to enjoy real goa, this is the place I'm going to go to, again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Radhika B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaipur
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at Afonso in early Jan 2013 and had a wonderful experience. Comfortable rooms and bed, hot water (which I soon discovered would be a sought after luxury), decent breakfasts and a stunning location. The owners are wonderful too!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GrooveTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panjim, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I arrived at Afonso's feeling very unwell so was relieved to find Clifton's friendly and efficient welcome. The room was spotless and comfortable and over the next few days both him and his mother were keen to help me feel better, providing tea and tonics. The pictures do the place justice - the building, street and area are really charming and the upstairs terrace is a lovely bonus. Ask for a front facing room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy9B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 17, 2013

For 1000 rupees, this would be an acceptable place, for 2500 to have a tiny room directly in front of the reception, at street level with horns, passerbys and construction, single beds and stained sheets, no soap , no blankets, no toilet paper, no a/c and a 9am checkout , this place was a scam.

Room Tip: pick another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sbmksbmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Was at Alfonsos in Nov 12, they gave me room in the side building which was facing towards the little street. The room was compared to other guest houses in Panaji quite small, additionally I was a bit irritated by the managers/ son of owners question if I really would want to use the A/C.
Well, if there are 35 degrees outside and sticky night temp, yes I want to use the AC without justification
For its price I ve expected a bigger room, not street facing. Panajis noisy main road is next to it and in India traffic starts quite early. So I decided not to stay and dealt out half of the price for one night. Not a good deal obviously I should have paid nothing, cause later I saw other guys checking in into my former room, so there has not been any loss for the highly frequented guest house.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
Helpful?
1 Thank lucy359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Panjim
7.2 mi away
Acron Waterfront Resort
4.6 mi away
Shanti Morada
Shanti Morada
#1 of 2 in Saligao
5.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
4.5 mi away
Seashell Beach Suites
Seashell Beach Suites
#1 of 64 in Candolim
5.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Jasminn by Mango Hotels
Jasminn by Mango Hotels
#1 of 5 in Betalbatim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
0.8 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Panaji
1.6 mi away
Goa Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Afonso Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afonso Guest House

Property: Afonso Guest House
Address: Near Saint Sebastian Chapel | Fontainhas, Mala, Panjim 403001, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Panjim
Amenities:
Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Panjim
#3 Romantic Hotel in Panjim
#3 Business Hotel in Panjim
#3 Family Hotel in Panjim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Afonso Guest House, run by Panaji's reputed Afonso family, is more than just a guest house to its many patrons. Nestled in the capital city's quaint Latin quarter of Fontainhas, it is a veritable bridge between Goa's Portuguese past and Indian present. A favoured haunt for many an adventurous traveller for over three decades, its hospitality and peppy spirit show no sign of aging and are still as fresh as they were back then. It makes no pretense of being luxurious; instead, Afonso Guest House prides itself in being simplistic and practical. With its friendly and welcoming hosts, it's truly your home away from home-clean and functional, the rooms are airy, and equipped with everything a traveler might need. However, the clincher is its lovely terrace graced with potted plants where traditional Goan breakfasts are served to guests every morning, overlooking the whitewashed St Sebastian Chapel. So, if you seek home in a foreign land, come over! Really! You won't regret it. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Afonso Gues House Hotel Panaji
Afonso Guest House Goa/Panjim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing