We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blessing!”
Review of Afonso Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Afonso Guest House
Ranked #3 of 48 Hotels in Panjim
Certificate of Excellence
Rosario, Argentina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Blessing!”
Reviewed May 1, 2012

What a great experience it was to stay at Afonso Guest House! After 4 months traveling around South East Asia and India, all my boyfriend and I wanted to do was stay at a nice place, relax and enjoy peacefully. And that´s what we could do here! Clifton is a very cheerful and charismatic person, always smiling and willing to help, so is the rest of his lovely family. The Guest House is a renovated house, painted in different pale colours, very cozy and quiet. It has a nice terrace for breakfast, which is not included in the price but is extra-cheap and it was my partner´s favourite, as he said.. The rooms are very clean, fan doesn´t work much, but complimentary AC for a couple of hours did the trick. It is very well located, in one of the nicest neighbourhoods we walked around while in Panaji, and walking distance from almost everywhere. Would definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MairanJ M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    149
    27
    11
    7
See reviews for
80
181
105
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canton of Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We were very happy to have stayed at this beautiful and tranquil place. It is well-managed by a friendly multilingual Goan family. The hotel is located in one of the nicest neighbourhoods in town, among well-preserved and renovated colorful colonial buildings. Panaji is a rather small town so everything is within walking distance.

Our room was nice and clean, and equipped with a fan and WiFi internet connection. The hotel has a beautiful roof top with view of the San Sebastian chapel, where good inexpensive breakfast is served (very good coffee but unfortunately no fresh juices).

The hotel has a no-reservation policy, so try to arrive early. We came with an overnight bus from Mumbai, so we had no problem getting a room. Check-out time is early, at 9 AM, but as long as you liberate the room at 9 AM you can still have breakfast and hang around on the rooftop for a good while and pay your bill afterwards, so the early check-out is not really an issue.

The only slightly negative point we may want to mention is that our laundry didn't come back to us very clean. The collars of two shirts I gave to the laundry service actually seemed to be dirtier after washing than before.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Patrick-Katia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

My wife and I have been traveling for 5 months through Asia. This little b&b was definitely one of the highlights!

Jeannette, her son, Clifton, and daughter felt like extended family, giving us helpful and genuine advice. The location is atmospheric and the room was very comfortable. The homey feel (block stamped sheets from Jaipur) was refreshingly charming.

Breakfast came at an additional fee. Portions weren't overwhelmingly large, but food quality was good.

The room was spotless -- simply the cleanest budget/midrange room we've been in during 5 months of travel!

Thank you, Afonso family, for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2012

Maybe the cleanest place I have stayed at in India for less than 1600 rupees. Friendly staff, good location. WIFI is free and quite fast. Laundry service is ok, but did not manage to remove stains from my white shirt. These stains disappeared when I provided the laundry service in my next hotel with a can of Vanish...

Food is good but a bit overpriced

To get hot water you have to push a button which notifies the staff of your "hot water request" and you'll have hot water within 5 minutes between 7? AM and 9 PM.

I had a room at street level and the reception was just outside my door so I could hear pretty much everything. Probably less noise if you get a room higher up in the building.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Oystein83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Want to enjoy beach but want avoid resort?
Around 1500 Roupies it's the right place to be!
Charming Portuguese style house with AC, net on the window, clean and hot water bath, clean and cute room.
The owner is here with a smile to help you find what you need, rent a motor bike...
The breakfast is delicious and Landry service perfect ^.^
Only 8 rooms so better make reservation ^.-
R + Y

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Robisso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2012

I would just like to sat first off that it was a lovely experience and we would do it again in a heartbeat! It had a great central location close to internet cafes, beautiful churches, downtown, and our very favorite restaurant, Viva Panjim, was just around the corner! Clean comfortable rooms, friendly service, beautiful terrace views, and fun breakfast on the terrace! They are basic rooms but they are perfect for relaxing after a great day in one of my favorite places in India!

Room Tip: The higher up you go the better the views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Denver L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2012

a very good experience - small but clean and comfortable room, warm shower, a very nice roof terrace with good breakfast, perfect location in the middle of Fonteinhas and a friendly owner to assist with anything. came there after a not so good experience at Casa Paradiso: for almost the same price, this is definitely the much better choice. Only disadvantage: as my room was on the ground floor, it got noisy quite early in the morning.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hez2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Panjim
4.0 mi away
Bougainvillea Guest House Goa
15.2 mi away
Jasminn by Mango Hotels
Jasminn by Mango Hotels
#1 of 5 in Betalbatim
385 reviews
4.5 mi away
Seashell Beach Suites
Seashell Beach Suites
#1 of 64 in Candolim
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Santana Beach Resort
Santana Beach Resort
#3 of 64 in Candolim
1,670 reviews
1.6 mi away
Goa Marriott Resort & Spa
4.6 mi away
Shanti Morada
Shanti Morada
#1 of 2 in Saligao
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Afonso Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afonso Guest House

Property: Afonso Guest House
Address: Near Saint Sebastian Chapel | Fontainhas, Mala, Panjim 403001, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Panjim
Amenities:
Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Panjim
#3 Business Hotel in Panjim
#3 Family Hotel in Panjim
#3 Romantic Hotel in Panjim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Afonso Guest House, run by Panaji's reputed Afonso family, is more than just a guest house to its many patrons. Nestled in the capital city's quaint Latin quarter of Fontainhas, it is a veritable bridge between Goa's Portuguese past and Indian present. A favoured haunt for many an adventurous traveller for over three decades, its hospitality and peppy spirit show no sign of aging and are still as fresh as they were back then. It makes no pretense of being luxurious; instead, Afonso Guest House prides itself in being simplistic and practical. With its friendly and welcoming hosts, it's truly your home away from home-clean and functional, the rooms are airy, and equipped with everything a traveler might need. However, the clincher is its lovely terrace graced with potted plants where traditional Goan breakfasts are served to guests every morning, overlooking the whitewashed St Sebastian Chapel. So, if you seek home in a foreign land, come over! Really! You won't regret it. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Afonso Gues House Hotel Panaji
Afonso Guest House Goa/Panjim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing