We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasent surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Gateway Hotel MG Road Vijayawada
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Vijayawada
Certificate of Excellence
Vadodara, India
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A Pleasent surprise”
Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Judging from the airport at Vijaywada I wasn't expecting much, in terms of comfort from this trip( it was my first trip here)
But I was surprised the find a very decent clean hotel. Fantastic staff, very very helpfull.. More helpfull than some of the Gateways I have stayed at in larger cities.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rustom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLahari, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel MG Road Vijayawada, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Gateway Hotel, Vijayawada!

Thank you for sparing time and posting your detailed review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

At the outset, we would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity of hosting you during your visit to Vijayawada . We are pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay and the services rendered to you.

It is feedback from esteemed guests like you that helps us to constantly introspect our systems and procedures and assists us in striving for a better product and service.

We thank you once again for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to The Gateway Hotel, Vijayawada

Warm regards
Srinivas Lahari
General Manager
The Gateway Hotel, M.G.Road
Vijayawada
Email: srinivas.lahari@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    241
    53
    11
    8
See reviews for
119
40
37
407
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

I can’t say enough about the superb treatment we received during our recent 2 night stay at the Gateway Hotel in Vijayawada.

We have stayed at the Gateway on several occasions previously, and have always found the rooms clean, comfortable, and spacious, the staff most courteous and helpful, and the restaurant providing excellent varieties of nutritious and delicious food.

Our room was clean and spacious, and the bed very comfortable. The bathroom had a large shower stall but no bathtub. On the downside, they should invest in some new towels as the ones we had were a little worn and gray. They should also spend a little more time cleaning the tiles as there was mildew in several places. For this reason I have only rated cleanliness as very good. However, I do recognize it is not unusual to find mildew in most Indian hotels, even those rated 5 star, as it seems the cleaning staff rarely do a deep clean and only give a cursory wipe of the bathroom tiles.

On the more positive side the customer service was outstanding. From the moment we arrived we were treated like royalty by all of the staff. At check in we were offered fresh fruit juice and given a warm welcome by the hotel manager, Mr. Pandey, who is always impeccably dressed and the perfect host. Unfortunately, my wife was not feeling well and the desk manager, Ms. Pranati, immediately came to her aid. Pranati arranged to have fresh water and a tonic sent to our room and followed up several times later that day to see how my wife was doing. Her concern was certainly genuine because on the second day we received a wonderful surprise when Pranati came to our room with another staff member, bringing fruit and a bouquet of roses for my wife.

We were also impressed by the polite and respectful dining room staff, led by Mr. Shankar, as well as the chef who stood by the buffet line to greet us.

We have traveled to many places and stayed in many hotels around the world and have rarely experienced such outstanding professional treatment as we received from all of the staff at the Gateway Hotel. It is quite obvious that hotel management has made customer service their number one priority for all of their staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bakerchief1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Being a Taj Loyalty member, it was a natural choice when I had to travel to Vijaywada recently. Though, I am aware of the Gateway brand which is no nonsense business hotel but this place did not have the taj appeal. Right from the lobby, the rooms and the service lacks the zest that most of this chain has. The property seriously needs a renovation and some level of service upliftment. The rooms are with minimilistic features and the bathrooms are not very ergonomical. The only bright spot is the food which is good (atleast the breakfast was very nice if you like south indian fare). The staff need a lot more focus and the city still needs quite a lot of good hotels.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrVikas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLahari, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel MG Road Vijayawada, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Gateway Hotel, Vijayawada for your stay. We do appreciate hearing from our customers, as their comments are vital for us to continue improving our services

We are quite perturbed to note your feedback on the service you experienced ;please accept our profuse apologies for the lapse and the inconvenience caused to you as a result of the lapse.

We have thoroughly investigated your feedback and have taken up the issues seriously with the concerned HOD's . While the issues you experienced is unusual and not the standard of our hotel, there is no excuse for a lackadaisical attitude on the part of any of our employees .

At the same time i wish to inform you that your suggestion on the bathroom design will certainly be considered while we rennovate the property .

We truly regret the inconvenience and annoyance this incident caused. We hope that you will give us another chance to serve you.

Look forward to meet you on your next visit.


Warm Regards,

Srinivas Lahari
General Manager

The Gateway Hotel M G Road Vijayawada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

the property is located centrally at bundar road and has good variety of restaurants including GAD.

The staff are courteous and show good professionalism.

the restaurant serves coastal and other indian delicacies.

the food menu seems to be little pricy. there are good options like fortune murali park and quality inn but this has better connectivity to shopping areas like malabar gold and joy alukkas.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raghav1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLahari, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel MG Road Vijayawada, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Gateway Hotel, Vijayawada!

Thank you for sparing time and posting your detailed review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

At the outset, we would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity of hosting you during your visit to Vijayawada . We are pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay and the services rendered to you.

It is feedback from esteemed guests like you that helps us to constantly introspect our systems and procedures and assists us in striving for a better product and service.

We thank you once again for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to The Gateway Hotel, Vijayawada

Warm regards
Srinivas Lahari
General Manager
The Gateway Hotel, M.G.Road
Vijayawada
Email: srinivas.lahari@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taipei
Level 6 Contributor
435 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 349 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

I wish this hotel would understand there is a difference between efficient and friendly service and intrusion. I lost count the number of times you are asked if you need another tea bag, or a bottle of water, or to check the minibar, or to turn down the sheets or any number of items that if you needed them you would ask, and despite using the do not disturb sign. This time was even more distressing. They called my room 3 times, and despite me hanging up on pickup 3 times to give them a message, no they didn't give up but just called my mobile phone, and for what? To ask me what time was I planning to checkout tomorrow? How the hell should I know and what is it to do with you anyway? Yet they cannot even get the basics right; yesterday I had no mineral water and today I have no tea bags nor small hand towels-JUST FOCUS ON THE BASICS PLEASE,
Plus side is some really good, local food with excellent spicing, and I like the freshly cooked dosa's for breakfast. Dinner was very good, all vegetarian, well cooked and really spicy with great chutneys and bread. Just so frustrating to get no relaxation at all.

Room Tip: Choose 1 without a phone, a flashing DO NOT DISTURB sign and take a vicious dog with you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madfish8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLahari, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel MG Road Vijayawada, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Gateway Hotel, Vijayawada for your stay. We do appreciate hearing from our customers, as their comments are vital for us to continue improving our services

We are quite perturbed to note your feedback ;please accept our profuse apologies for the lapse and the inconvenience caused to you as a result of the lapse.

We have thoroughly investigated your feedback and have taken up the issues seriously with the concerned HOD's . While the issues you experienced is unusual and not the standard of our hotel, there is no excuse for a lackadaisical attitude on the part of any of our employees .

We truly regret the inconvenience and annoyance this incident caused. We hope that you will give us another chance to serve you.

Look forward to meet you on your next visit.


Warm Regards,

Srinivas Lahari
General Manager

The Gateway Hotel M G Road Vijayawada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed in he Gateway Hotel for about 24 hours in connection with a conference held there. My wife accompanied me. What impressed us most was the outstanding service at every point - reception, housekeeping and the restaurants. Our check-in was fast; the form was kept ready for signature and we got the key to the room in two minutes. Next day, the friendly staff at the reception readily agreed to our request for extending the check-out time by a couple of hours.

The room was comfortable, and Housekeeping provided us a few extra items we requested. The glass door of the shower cubicle in the bathroom was not closing properly, but it did not bother us much. Dinner at the Bay Leaf restaurant and breakfast at the Coffee Shop were both good, with excellent service. The food at the banquet (conference) was however average.

Location of the hotel is very good for those interested in shopping, with several jewelry and saree shops within walking distance. On the whole, a very good stay, and will return if possible.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SastryEVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLahari, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel MG Road Vijayawada, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Gateway Hotel, Vijayawada!

Thank you for sparing time and posting your detailed review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

At the outset, we would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity of hosting you during your visit to Vijayawada . We are pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay and the services rendered to you.

It is feedback from esteemed guests like you that helps us to constantly introspect our systems and procedures and assists us in striving for a better product and service.

At the same time i wish to inform you that the issues you have highlighted with regards to bathroom door and quality of food at the conference room have been taken up with the concerned department heads

We thank you once again for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to The Gateway Hotel, Vijayawada

Warm regards
Srinivas Lahari
General Manager
The Gateway Hotel, M.G.Road
Vijayawada
Email: srinivas.lahari@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

I have stayed in this property many times before. Last year minimum 5 times to be precise! The food at cofee shop is very good. Staff at coffee shop is really good. However, support and service at room needs an improvement. It is uniformly the same. However, the food served at banquets was really below quality and was not at all good. I cofacilitated a seminar during 2 nights stay. The training banquet food was way below in quality choice and presentation as compared to rest of the food experience in the coffee shop or in room dining. I was quite concerned. All members who attended the seminar has similar reaction and I was really sorry that no one ciuld eat properly for 2 days. Hotel needs to examine.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haritosh_Y_Bapat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLahari, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel MG Road Vijayawada, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Mr.Haritosh Yashodhan,

Thank you for choosing the Gateway Hotel, Vijayawada for your stay. We do appreciate hearing from our customers, as their comments are vital for us to continue improving our services

Glad to note that you were happy with most of our services and the same time we are quite perturbed to note your feedback on the quality of food served to you at the training room ; please accept our profuse apologies for the lapse and the inconvenience caused to you as a result of the lapse.

We have thoroughly investigated your feedback and have taken up the issue seriously with our Executive Chef . We truly regret the inconvenience and annoyance this incident caused. We hope that you will give us another chance to serve you.

Look forward to meet you on your next visit.


Warm Regards,

Srinivas Lahari
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vijayawada hotels
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel DV Manor
Quality Hotel DV Manor
#2 of 26 in Vijayawada
371 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fortune Murali Park
Fortune Murali Park
#3 of 26 in Vijayawada
394 reviews
1.0 mi away
Continental Park Hotel
Continental Park Hotel
#8 of 26 in Vijayawada
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Aira
Hotel Aira
#4 of 26 in Vijayawada
10 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Park N
Hotel Park N
#10 of 26 in Vijayawada
6 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Ilapuram
Hotel Ilapuram
#18 of 26 in Vijayawada
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gateway Hotel MG Road Vijayawada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel MG Road Vijayawada

Property: The Gateway Hotel MG Road Vijayawada
Address: 39-1-63, M G Road, Vijayawada 520010, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Andhra Pradesh > Krishna District > Vijayawada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Vijayawada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gateway Hotel MG Road Vijayawada 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Gateway Hotel MG Road Vijayawada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing