We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really the Gateway to a comfortable sojourn in Vijayawada”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Gateway Hotel MG Road Vijayawada
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Vijayawada
Certificate of Excellence
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Really the Gateway to a comfortable sojourn in Vijayawada”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2011

Conveniently located on the arterial MG Road, the Gateway is excellent value for money in the rooms department. With clean, ultra modern rooms and chic bathrooms, giving these the highest rating is an easy choice. The beds are comfortable, line clean, bathrooms neat.

The service and staff friendliness at this hotel is remarkable. There is a clear willingness to genuinely take care of the guest.

The food is good. The complimentary breakfast is an excellent spread and is worth dragging yourself out of the 'oh so comfortable' bed. The a la carte menu is on the expensive side. While tasting good, it not the value of money proposition that one gets used to with the room tariff.

The hotel also boasts a swimming pool and gym. The staff there are friendly and eager to be of service. The water in the pool is great. Had a great time imitating Moby Dick for an hour or two!

On the whole, the best place to be in at Vijayawada

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Satyavageeswaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeelabhPandey, Front Office Manager at The Gateway Hotel MG Road Vijayawada, responded to this review, July 26, 2011
Thank you for your feedback. We are extremely happy to know that you had a wonderful stay with us and look forward to your continued patronage.

Warm Regards
Neelabh Pandey
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    224
    51
    9
    8
See reviews for
111
39
35
381
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chennai
Level Contributor
676 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 307 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2011

Perhaps one of the few good hotels to stay in Vijayawada. Clean and comfortable rooms, the Hotel is located in the heart of the City. The breakfast spread was excellent, the restaurant service was outstanding. Good value for money !

Room Tip: Eat early dinner, avoid heavy food!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raghuraman C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeelabhPandey, Front Office Manager at The Gateway Hotel MG Road Vijayawada, responded to this review, July 26, 2011
Thank you for your feedback. We are extremely happy to know that you had a wonderful stay with us and look forward to your continued patronage.

Warm Regards
Neelabh Pandey
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2011

We've stayed at other hotels in Vijayawada but none compare to the Gateway. It is a well maintained, clean, and comfortable hotel and certainly a cut above Indian standards, although it would probably rate as a three star in the west. The rooms are clean and spacious and the beds very comfortable for sleeping. The bathroom was also clean but I was disappointed with the towels, which were gray and worn. The hotel is on a main street but the rooms are well insulated from the traffic noise. There are no decent restaurants nearby so you are stuck with the one in the hotel. However, the food and prices are reasonable. It was 250 rupees (about $6) for a buffet breakfast and 400 ($8) for lunch. I was very impressed by the personal attention from the front office manager. He took care of us personally when we checked in and as we passed him in the hotel during our stay he continually asked if everything was satisfactory. No free internet. The hotel had wi-fi but the rates were exorbitant.

Room Tip: Standard room is good enough...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bakerchief1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeelabhPandey, Front Office Manager at The Gateway Hotel MG Road Vijayawada, responded to this review, July 26, 2011
Thank you for your feedback. We are extremely happy to know that you had a wonderful stay with us and look forward to your continued patronage.

Warm Regards
Neelabh Pandey
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navi Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2011

I stayed at the hotel for 2 nights only, but really got to like the place. First of all, the layout has been done quite nicely, the rooms having been arranged around the central courtyard/quadrangle. the food is excellent, I found both the breakfast & dinner buffets to be very good with personalized service. The deputy chef walked across to our table & chatted, explaining characteristics of the myriad herbs listed on the wall panel. The roof-top swimming pool too is marvelous also not much used it seems.
Outstanding value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sanjay_harlalka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeelabhPandey, Front Office Manager at The Gateway Hotel MG Road Vijayawada, responded to this review, July 26, 2011
Thank you for your feedback. We are extremely happy to know that you had a wonderful stay with us and look forward to your continued patronage.

Warm Regards
Neelabh Pandey
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2011

It was simply a lovely place to stay.Quick Check in & check out.We as a family had a great time in Vijayawada.There was no worst experience as such but there was no one in the 7th floor where the swimming pool is located & I had to wait for about 20 minutes & it was a bit scary as well.Good Gym.Very helpful staff.I would certainly stay here again when I visit Vijayawada :)

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RiyaBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeelabhPandey, Front Office Manager at The Gateway Hotel MG Road Vijayawada, responded to this review, July 26, 2011
We are happy to know that your overall stay with us was fine. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused as mentioned in the feedback. We look forward to your next visit and stay with us.

Warm Regards
Neelabh Pandey
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2011

Rooms are very well designed to give matural light in day time. Brightness in the room makes you feel fresh in the morning.

Lighting is proper and can be adjusted as per our need. I.e. reading, watching TV, night lamp and washrooms lighting is perfect.

Swiming pool on 7th floor is small but serves the purpose of relaxation.

Good bar with varety of drinks.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snahu2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeelabhPandey, Front Office Manager at The Gateway Hotel MG Road Vijayawada, responded to this review, April 7, 2011
Thank you for taking your time out in posting your feedback about The Gateway Hotel, Vijayawada. We are happy to know that your overall stay was pleasant and look forward to your continued patronage.

Regards
Neelabh Pandey
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HYDERABAD
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2011

Taj Gateway hotel at Vijayawada has Indian Food and specially south indian and it attracts Indians mostly.The only Star hotel in the place and can be made more popular. Staff need more training.Rooms ,beds and decor need a relook.
The Staff need to be made more presentable. The Top Management outlook is ok.
Has a bright future.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank srivaranasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeelabhPandey, Front Office Manager at The Gateway Hotel MG Road Vijayawada, responded to this review, April 7, 2011
Thank you for taking your time out in posting your feedback about The Gateway Hotel, Vijayawada. We are happy to know that your stay in general has been pleasant. At the same time we have also taken a note of your suggestions and this will be appropriately addressed by us. We look forward to your continued patronage.

Warm Regards
Neelabh Pandey
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vijayawada hotels
0.4 mi away
Fortune Murali Park
Fortune Murali Park
#3 of 24 in Vijayawada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Hotel DV Manor
Quality Hotel DV Manor
#2 of 24 in Vijayawada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Aira
Hotel Aira
#5 of 24 in Vijayawada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel M5
Hotel M5
#4 of 24 in Vijayawada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.7 mi away
Manorama Hotel
Manorama Hotel
#18 of 24 in Vijayawada
3.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Ilapuram
Hotel Ilapuram
#16 of 24 in Vijayawada
3.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gateway Hotel MG Road Vijayawada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel MG Road Vijayawada

Property: The Gateway Hotel MG Road Vijayawada
Address: 39-1-63, M G Road, Vijayawada 520010, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Andhra Pradesh > Vijayawada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Vijayawada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gateway Hotel MG Road Vijayawada 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoftTaj, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Gateway Hotel MG Road Vijayawada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing