We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“VERY GOOD”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Southern Grand
Ranked #3 of 34 Vijayawada B&B and Inns
tamilnadu
Level Contributor
90 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“VERY GOOD”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Very good for stay worth staying, room with good ambience, complimentary drop & pickup, wifi & breakfast are also complimentary, very very nearer to railway station, quality & pure veg restaurant for pure vegetarians

Room Tip: A/C is good, linen is neat
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ppnpower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    39
    15
    10
    7
See reviews for
31
3
7
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

HI, We stayed in this hotel with family 11 & 12-Jan-2013. Very close proximity to the station. Excellent room with clean sheets & well maintained bathrooms, good interiors too. Chennai's Adayar Ananda Bhavan (A2B) is the adjoining restaurant and pure veg food is mouthwatering. A2B is maintaining their standards, making the stay more memorable.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LakshmiBalaji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 11, 2013

I recommend them to clear wifi problem in 3rd floor.I have checked 3times in hotelsouthern frand for the past 2years...there is a wifi problem in connecting mobile devices.And in restaurent service is very pathetic.we almost waited 1:30 minutes after ordering the items.They should take care these minor things to be no1 lodging in vijayawada.And the rest all things are excellent.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank Someswara Rao B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

i spent three nights in a deluxe room (lowest category) in october 2013. it was a real treat for a long time traveller!!! i got a beautiful room (502) on the fifth floor with a view over the whole city. the room was furnished in a european looking way (bright wooden optic, similar to the rooms of ibis hotels). the shower even had a curtain and enough hot water for a hot (not just warm) shower at any time of the day. the bed was a real pleasure to sleep in (big, very clean and quality bedlinen). staff was friendly and english speaking. they have a in house restaurant (south indian breakfast is included in the room price) and very nice sweet shop.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielawy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

The amenities in the rooms are good and is well decorated, food quality is good but the options are very limited. cleanliness is also good but it had a bad smell in the lift during my stay. the room key was not functional. The service lacks professionalism. The excuse they gave me for non availability of breakfast on time was that it was raining...
But considering the price and room, i liked it overall

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 452aaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surat, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

we checked in the hotel by 10:00 pm in night , have asked for dinner but they informed that restaurant is closed , you have to go out for dinner. than in complimentary breakfast they provide some mini meal which includes 1 idli , 1 vada , 1 mini dose and tea .. mean you can not opt for any other option else you will get charged ... than they had not soda bottle opener at their hotel . rooms were decent but service was pathetic , for anything you have to call 3 times , room service and housekeeping doesn't understand hindi or english. and yeah wifi doesn't work on the 3rd and 4th floor

Room Tip: do not stay if you don't speak telugu
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viraldoshi3009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vijayawada hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Chennai
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

The hotel's maintenance is below par. The key cards do not work properly. I was assigned one room but the key did not work though a new keycard was brought. then another room was alloted and the key was not working properly - the door does not get auto locked when you close the door. then it was attended to but the keycard did not open the door again.

The wifi system seems to be available only during mid-morning to evening. Complaints to the front desk did not yield any result.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prasadsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vijayawada hotels
1.5 mi away
The Gateway Hotel MG Road Vijayawada
0.8 mi away
Manorama Hotel
Manorama Hotel
#18 of 25 in Vijayawada
3.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel M5
Hotel M5
#4 of 25 in Vijayawada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Quality Hotel DV Manor
Quality Hotel DV Manor
#2 of 25 in Vijayawada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ilapuram
Hotel Ilapuram
#16 of 25 in Vijayawada
3.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
1.8 mi away
Fortune Murali Park
Fortune Murali Park
#3 of 25 in Vijayawada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Southern Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Southern Grand

Property: Hotel Southern Grand
Address: 26 - 6 - 8 Patcha Papaiah Street, Vijayawada 520003, India
Location: India > Andhra Pradesh > Krishna District > Vijayawada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Vijayawada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Southern Grand 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located in Gandhi Nagar - the heart of Vijayawada, Southern Grand offers you comfortable stay, genuine hospitality, personalized guest service, quality food and a plethora of other amenities at an affordable price.After elevating the hospitality standards in Delhi, we are ready to set another example in Andhra Pradesh with splendid opening of Southern Grand. We welcome our guests w ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Southern Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing