We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, accompanied by nausea”
Review of Sweet Magic

Sweet Magic
Ranked #1 of 133 Restaurants in Vijayawada
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Hyderabad
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good food, accompanied by nausea”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

I dont know why cleanliness seems to be the least priority in most Vijayawada hotels/restaurants. Sweet Magic is no exception.

This place serves great food, there is no question about it. But there is little else I like about this place. The restaurant stinks of sewage when you set foot inside. It is probably due to poor ventilation, but it has a nauseating effect.

The staff is unresponsive and rude. While you are waiting for someone to take your order, the staff, which mostly consists of young women, are happily chirping away in a corner unmindful of your presence. When your food finally arrives, somehow the cleaning lady feels that is the right time to do her job. She starts sweeping under and around your table.

And God forbid if you have to use their toilet. I have no words to describe it.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Prasanna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    111
    36
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Best place for Andhra food lovers”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Best Spicy food joint in Vijayawada. Good place for non veg lovers.
Their Avakai Biryani & Ulavacharu Biryani are a must try

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank RPMusunuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great for Non-Veg dishes”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

On spot of biryani lovers, its better to take parcel than sit and eat as its heavily crowded all the time, a decent place to go with family, even the atmosphere is good and served by waitresses. Prefer for 'Today's Special' items.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Bhargav-Challa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
160 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Do not eat their sweets especially Cashew Brittle”
Reviewed May 30, 2012

I have been an avid lover of Cashew Brittles (Jeedipappu Pakam) for a long time. Recently I purchased some from Sweet Magic in VJA. I was a little surprised that they were in pre-packed as this item is not usually pre-packed. I asked the same and they said they do it to prevent it from melting. That should have been a red flag because this sweet made of Jaggery and Cashews does not melt.

I brought it to US for us and friends and was shocked with the first bite. Even if you are the worst cook you cannot make this item taste like this. I reviewed the contents and knew the problem. Instead of using Jaggery they are using Glucose (Short for American made High Fructose Corn Syrup) -- HFCS.

I will avoid this store and their food for the rest of my life. Any store that does not use natural ingredients is a no no for me.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Anonymous49463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vijayawada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed March 4, 2012

I will go very frequently for this restaurant.
I love egg fried rice,pulka and methi chaman here which are really excellent!!
Great service but little bit slow :-(

Cakes and Sweets are also available here..
Famous for sweets...

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank sindhu4srini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweet Magic also viewed

Vijayawada, Krishna District
Vijayawada, Krishna District
 

Been to Sweet Magic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing