We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, great scuba diving”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Seagrape Plantation Resort
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in West End
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great scuba diving”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

We'd booked this hotel based on other good reviews, and I'm so glad we did! The rooms were clean, comfortable, and cool (there are AC units and mini fridges in each room.) Mariela and her staff do an excellent job running the facility and are gracious and helpful.

If you're a diver they have an onsite dive shop, and you simply show up a few minutes before a dive (there were three a day when we went) and you get geared up and go! The dive spots they took us to were beautiful.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kristin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariela W, Front Office Manager at Seagrape Plantation Resort, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Thank you Kristin!

I will be sharing your comments with our dive shop staff, feedback from guests recognizing this is always appreciated.

Looking forward to seeing you and Jon again!

Mariela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    89
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
78
183
60
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2014

I just returned from staying a few days at Seagrape. For the money, it is I believe, one of the best kept secrets in West End. The accommodations are basic but clean. My room in the hotel was comfortable, with AC and a small refrigerator and TV. Room was cleaned daily and fresh towels were in the bathroom. Hot shower. All good. This is a family run operation and they were the best of hosts to me. Cleave picked me up at the airport and he is full of energy and enthusiasm about the hotel and about diving in Roatan. He is great. Mariela and all the staff took good care of me. I enjoyed chatting with her in the mornings when I got hot coffee provided at the office. Rhonda at the Dive shop is a great cordial host as well...she kept up with my dive courses and planned dives. Divemaster Tony taught me a lot and was very helpful and attentive along with Amber, Ricky, Richard and all the crew. I felt safe and well cared for when diving. Thank you Seagrape Plantation Resort and Dive shop! I hope to come again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariela W, Front Office Manager at Seagrape Plantation Resort, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Thank you Fred for staying with us and for taking the time to share your feedback.
See you again!!

Mariela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 26, 2014

My wife and I spent a great week together enjoying Roatan and our time at Seagrape. Cleave met us right at the airport and showed us a great time, thanks Cleave! All the staff were genuine, friendly and it was clear they loved their work. The rooms were nice for the price although if you find yourself in a bungalow, you will be sharing a wall with your neighbor. Not a big deal, but something to mention. The beach at west bay was amazing and the snorkeling was out of this world. I have snorkeled all of my life, mostly in fresh water lakes and some in the ocean but have never seen anything like this. Simply amazing.

Cant wait to go back!
Justin and Paola.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariela W, Front Office Manager at Seagrape Plantation Resort, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Hello Justin and Paola!

We certainly appreciate you taking the time to review us.
And thank you for choosing Seagrape for your second honey Moon! looking forward
to see you for your third one.

Best wishes!!
Mariela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Our family of 5 stayed here for 4 nights. Facilities were really good. I would describe the hotel as modern rather than quaint Mariela and her staff were very friendly and so helpful with all of our inquiries, Nothing was a problem for them. Fresh water in the rooms in a jug which is topped up daily There is free coffee in reception and a water dispenser so you can top up your water bottles, no need to buy water. WiFi at reception and common areas. Small swimming pool but beautiful location overlooking the sea. Great for sunsets The hammocks under the trees were divine The brightly painted Caribbean bungalows looked really cool Hotel is very convenient, a 5 minute walk to the town. The only negatives were there is no beach access. There is access to the sea for snorkeling using a ladder but because the sea was very choppy especially in the afternoons it was difficult to use so we walked to the nearest beach which is situated 5 minutes walk on the way into the town, Also there is no restaurant or snack bar on site but these are in abundance downtown which is 5 minutes walk away. Also right next door a bar and restaurant but we did not try it out as we preferred the atmosphere in town. On departure to the airport our driver( think it was Jessica ) offered to take us on an alternative route to the airport so we got an extra mini tour through Coxen Hole etc It was fantastic as we did not have time to explore the island and there is so much more to see and gave us the history of each area as we drove through it.We all agreed that we would like to go back to Roatan .

Room Tip: Wifi is available on patio and rooms near the patio area
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariela W, Front Office Manager at Seagrape Plantation Resort, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Greetings from Roatan!

We certainly appreciate you taking the time to review us. And we look forward to having you
and your family again!!


All the best!

Mariela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

This was our 1st trip to Roatan and we absolutely loved our stay at Seagrape. We stayed in a bungalow and wouldn't change anything about our stay with the exception it was too short (7 days) From the time they picked us up from the airport until they dropped us back off they were very attentive. We also got our open water dive cert at Seagrape Dive, I wouldn't go anywhere else. Tony, Rachel, Cleve and the rest of the amazing dive team made for an incredible experience. We can't wait to come back and see everyone. Seagrape is about a 5-10 minute walk into town, making for a quite and very relaxing atmosphere.

Room Tip: It's very quite. I would recommend an A/C.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shawna_nord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariela W, Front Office Manager at Seagrape Plantation Resort, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Hello Shawna!!

We certainly appreciate you taking the time to review us. And very happy to know you
enjoyed your stay!!!
We look forward to welcoming you and Jason back in the future!

Best wishes from Seagrape staff and family!

Mariela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2014

My husband and I were in Roatan 35 yrs ago. Dirt landing strip, one phone in the Island.We just came back. 4 of us this time. We stayed at Seagrape. GREAT from the the time they picked us up Fun informative ride thank you Cleave ! Mariela is so helpful, as is all of the staff ! Loved the diving staff. Great boats and gear.Our daughter and friend got certified while we were there, not planed . They loved it and are hooked now.The rooms are super simple, but super CLEAN. 10 min. walk max to town. Great bargain, we will be coming back... sooner than 35 yrs. !!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cherri_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariela W, Front Office Manager at Seagrape Plantation Resort, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
We thank you Cherri for taking time out of your schedule to share your experiences with the readers of TripAdvisor!
We look forward to welcoming you and your family again!!

Best Wishes from all of Seagrape team!!

Mariela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 15, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Seagrape in June and really enjoyed our time. Cleve's smile when he met us at the airport with a welcome sign with our names on it really made us feel at home and excited. We appreciated him taking the time to drive us around while giving us some history and ideas of places to visit while on the island. It had been 10 years since we last dove and we were really anxious to get in the water again. Cleve had us doing our first dive within 2 hours of being on the island! The divemasters were all very knowledgeable and took us to a variety of spots during the time we had with them. As for the hotel rooms, they were very clean and comfortable. We slept better there than any other hotel during our vacation! My husband and I enjoyed the short walk into town and the variety of all the restaurants available. Whenever we had questions, Mariela or Jessica in the office was there to help us. We were able to book our dolphin excursion through them with no problems. Also, we noticed that the gift shop at Seagrape had comparable, if not better, prices on t-shirts than we found in town. All in all, we felt at home at the Seagrape and hope to take our kids there in the future when they are old enough to be certified to go diving.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariela W, Front Office Manager at Seagrape Plantation Resort, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you Kristin for taking the time to share your experiences with us.
We look forward to having you and John and of course your kids.

Best wishes!

Mariela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West End
1.3 mi away
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center
0.1 mi away
Cocolobo
Cocolobo
#2 of 7 in West End
5.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
2.7 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
West Bay Lodge and Spa
West Bay Lodge and Spa
#1 of 14 in West Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
8.1 mi away
Barefoot Cay
Barefoot Cay
#1 of 5 in French Harbour
5.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#4 of 7 in West End
5.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seagrape Plantation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seagrape Plantation Resort

Property: Seagrape Plantation Resort
Address: Carretera Pavimentada Principal, West End, Roatan IB3108, Honduras
Phone Number:
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West End
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in West End
#3 Family Hotel in West End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Seagrape Plantation Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seagrape Plantation Resort is a Local Family Owned and Operated Resort. It is very relaxed and quiet perfect if you just want to get away from it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Seagrape Plantation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seagrape Plantation Hotel West End
Seagrape Plantation West End
Seagrape Plantation Resort Roatan, Honduras - West End

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing