We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seagrape was great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Seagrape Plantation Resort
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in West End
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Seagrape was great”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Our family of 5 stayed here for 4 nights. Facilities were really good. I would describe the hotel as modern rather than quaint Mariela and her staff were very friendly and so helpful with all of our inquiries, Nothing was a problem for them. Fresh water in the rooms in a jug which is topped up daily There is free coffee in reception and a water dispenser so you can top up your water bottles, no need to buy water. WiFi at reception and common areas. Small swimming pool but beautiful location overlooking the sea. Great for sunsets The hammocks under the trees were divine The brightly painted Caribbean bungalows looked really cool Hotel is very convenient, a 5 minute walk to the town. The only negatives were there is no beach access. There is access to the sea for snorkeling using a ladder but because the sea was very choppy especially in the afternoons it was difficult to use so we walked to the nearest beach which is situated 5 minutes walk on the way into the town, Also there is no restaurant or snack bar on site but these are in abundance downtown which is 5 minutes walk away. Also right next door a bar and restaurant but we did not try it out as we preferred the atmosphere in town. On departure to the airport our driver( think it was Jessica ) offered to take us on an alternative route to the airport so we got an extra mini tour through Coxen Hole etc It was fantastic as we did not have time to explore the island and there is so much more to see and gave us the history of each area as we drove through it.We all agreed that we would like to go back to Roatan .

Room Tip: Wifi is available on patio and rooms near the patio area
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariela W, Front Office Manager at Seagrape Plantation Resort, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Greetings from Roatan!

We certainly appreciate you taking the time to review us. And we look forward to having you
and your family again!!


All the best!

Mariela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    93
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
86
196
64
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

This was our 1st trip to Roatan and we absolutely loved our stay at Seagrape. We stayed in a bungalow and wouldn't change anything about our stay with the exception it was too short (7 days) From the time they picked us up from the airport until they dropped us back off they were very attentive. We also got our open water dive cert at Seagrape Dive, I wouldn't go anywhere else. Tony, Rachel, Cleve and the rest of the amazing dive team made for an incredible experience. We can't wait to come back and see everyone. Seagrape is about a 5-10 minute walk into town, making for a quite and very relaxing atmosphere.

Room Tip: It's very quite. I would recommend an A/C.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shawna_nord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariela W, Front Office Manager at Seagrape Plantation Resort, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Hello Shawna!!

We certainly appreciate you taking the time to review us. And very happy to know you
enjoyed your stay!!!
We look forward to welcoming you and Jason back in the future!

Best wishes from Seagrape staff and family!

Mariela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2014

My husband and I were in Roatan 35 yrs ago. Dirt landing strip, one phone in the Island.We just came back. 4 of us this time. We stayed at Seagrape. GREAT from the the time they picked us up Fun informative ride thank you Cleave ! Mariela is so helpful, as is all of the staff ! Loved the diving staff. Great boats and gear.Our daughter and friend got certified while we were there, not planed . They loved it and are hooked now.The rooms are super simple, but super CLEAN. 10 min. walk max to town. Great bargain, we will be coming back... sooner than 35 yrs. !!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cherri_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariela W, Front Office Manager at Seagrape Plantation Resort, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
We thank you Cherri for taking time out of your schedule to share your experiences with the readers of TripAdvisor!
We look forward to welcoming you and your family again!!

Best Wishes from all of Seagrape team!!

Mariela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 15, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Seagrape in June and really enjoyed our time. Cleve's smile when he met us at the airport with a welcome sign with our names on it really made us feel at home and excited. We appreciated him taking the time to drive us around while giving us some history and ideas of places to visit while on the island. It had been 10 years since we last dove and we were really anxious to get in the water again. Cleve had us doing our first dive within 2 hours of being on the island! The divemasters were all very knowledgeable and took us to a variety of spots during the time we had with them. As for the hotel rooms, they were very clean and comfortable. We slept better there than any other hotel during our vacation! My husband and I enjoyed the short walk into town and the variety of all the restaurants available. Whenever we had questions, Mariela or Jessica in the office was there to help us. We were able to book our dolphin excursion through them with no problems. Also, we noticed that the gift shop at Seagrape had comparable, if not better, prices on t-shirts than we found in town. All in all, we felt at home at the Seagrape and hope to take our kids there in the future when they are old enough to be certified to go diving.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariela W, Front Office Manager at Seagrape Plantation Resort, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you Kristin for taking the time to share your experiences with us.
We look forward to having you and John and of course your kids.

Best wishes!

Mariela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We returned to dive at Seagrape Plantation Resort for the fifth time after an absence of 2 years and found all of the same things that kept bringing us back to the resort plus some new additions. First off getting reservation was very easy. Mariela will respond to your e-mails right away. two e-mails in 24 hours had us reserved for a week with the 14 dive package. Airport pickup was waiting for us when we cleared customs. We checked into one of the Caribbean bungalows. At check-in one of the new additions to us was Cleve. He would prove to be a great guide, dive master and cheerleader for the next week. He has tireless energy and an infectious enthusiasm for everything on the island. We prefer the bugalows and they have had a refresh since we were last there. There is no TV or WIFI but that is the way we want it. The photos on the Seagrape website are very true to the reality of the bungalows. There is WIFI at the office and on the patio of the hotel if you must connect, both just steps away. The next morning we went next door for breakfast at Lands End and then off to the dive shop for registration. There, we saw Rachel, shop manager and Tony, Instructor/DM from beforeBoth are extremely efficient and make sure you have a great diving experience. They were joined by another new addition to us, Instructor/DM Amber. She also proved to be a great professional to dive with. Cleve rounded out the Divemasters that we dove with. With Korvin, Ricky as boat captains and Richard as a DM to be, the crew was complete. The Shop has become much more service oriented. Gear is on the boat set up when you arrive in the morning and you take mask and fins with you after diving and they take care of washing and hanging up your gear. Diving was great all week highlighted by Eagle Rays on every day but the last one. As far as activities other than diving, West End is a five minute walk with restaurants and souvenirs aplenty. I would recommend going to Oasis for one night for dinner, spendy but the best meal we have had on Roatan - two people with aps, main course, desert and drinks about $75 . Take a cab for a couple of dollars, you should consider reservations. We like the Argentinian Grill but not all do. It is very close for lunch - two people about $25. Check out the bar at Lands End for sunset, Ryan will take care of you. We also spent sunsets upstairs at the yellow building next to Sundowners, less frantic and top end cocktails. Our last day was the one of the best things we have ever done in Roatan. After the morning dive, we did an island tour with Cleve. if you have any interest in the various cultures on the island this is a must do. Highlight was the Mangrove Tunnel tour with Alex, and Lunch at Cal's Cantina - Island Burger or the Lionfish were both excellent. We left at about 1030 am and returned about 8:00 PM Cleve's energy and excitement about his home makes this a great tour. This is a family run business. They are honest, hardworking and will make sure you have a good time. No surprises, just great diving and rooms for an incredible price. In depth dive review can be found on scubaboard and undercurrents.

Room Tip: Thee Bungalows face the sea and are steps from the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonPropinas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariela W, Front Office Manager at Seagrape Plantation Resort, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. It will be a highlight for me to share your comments with all of Seagrape crew and family they all work very hard to ensure our guests comfort and they do appreciate a simple thank you from our guest!

We look forward to welcoming you back!!

All the best!

Mariela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita Falls, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Probably the best bargain in all of my travels. Seagrape has definitely earned its TripAdvisor accolades. The rooms are nice and cool, the staff members are friendly and trustworthy, and the dive shop is in a very good location. As a bonus, there is excellent snorkel/scuba right outside your door. It seemed this wouldn't be possible at first, after seeing the pictures of the rocks, but the edge of the pier actually has a great place for getting into the water, as well as a wealth of sea life that gather around it. The property is nice and quiet (no loud bars, etc) with lulling ocean sounds when you want to sleep at night. Truly a unique experience.

Room Tip: We asked for the bungalows, and we're glad we did. They sleep up to 3, and they are right on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariela W, Front Office Manager at Seagrape Plantation Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Your review are greatly appreciated Dan!

Best wishes!

Mariela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita Falls, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Okay, so its a little walk from town.. Not horrible. Taxis can drive ya if you don't like walking. They have their own dive shop which is pretty nice! Its own pier close to the bungalows but not too close, you can't see it or hear the people unless you walk down the trail. You have quiet and peace. No one trying to sell you bracelets or sunglasses at this beach front. They don't have a sandy beach but you can just walk down the street to it. What it does have is beautiful lava rock corral formations with live crabs and snails and the cutest little hermit crabs. A beautiful view, hammocks to relax and Very friendly faces to great you. The housekeeping were so friendly and sweet. The Dive guides were friendly and knowledgable. The Lady who runs the office is very helpful. Maria. Great experience.

Room Tip: The bungalows don't have wifi but i think the rooms with tv do. And the office has free wifi if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariela W, Front Office Manager at Seagrape Plantation Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you Sarah for that great review, we look forward to having you, Daniel and Andrew
again.
All the best!

Mariela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West End
0.1 mi away
Cocolobo
Cocolobo
#3 of 8 in West End
593 reviews
2.7 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
1.3 mi away
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Barefoot Cay
Barefoot Cay
#1 of 5 in French Harbour
607 reviews
2.6 mi away
Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort
2.5 mi away
Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seagrape Plantation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seagrape Plantation Resort

Property: Seagrape Plantation Resort
Address: Carretera Pavimentada Principal, West End, Roatan IB3108, Honduras
Phone Number:
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West End
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in West End
#3 Family Hotel in West End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Seagrape Plantation Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seagrape Plantation Resort is a Local Family Owned and Operated Resort. It is very relaxed and quiet perfect if you just want to get away from it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Seagrape Plantation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seagrape Plantation Hotel West End
Seagrape Plantation West End
Seagrape Plantation Resort Roatan, Honduras - West End

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing