We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great price, great feel.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seagrape Plantation Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Seagrape Plantation Resort
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in West End
Certificate of Excellence
Wichita Falls, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great price, great feel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

Okay, so its a little walk from town.. Not horrible. Taxis can drive ya if you don't like walking. They have their own dive shop which is pretty nice! Its own pier close to the bungalows but not too close, you can't see it or hear the people unless you walk down the trail. You have quiet and peace. No one trying to sell you bracelets or sunglasses at this beach front. They don't have a sandy beach but you can just walk down the street to it. What it does have is beautiful lava rock corral formations with live crabs and snails and the cutest little hermit crabs. A beautiful view, hammocks to relax and Very friendly faces to great you. The housekeeping were so friendly and sweet. The Dive guides were friendly and knowledgable. The Lady who runs the office is very helpful. Maria. Great experience.

Room Tip: The bungalows don't have wifi but i think the rooms with tv do. And the office has free wifi if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariela W, Front Office Manager at Seagrape Plantation Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you Sarah for that great review, we look forward to having you, Daniel and Andrew
again.
All the best!

Mariela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    87
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
74
172
60
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Linn, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

My husband, Kelly, and I stayed at the Seagrape in June.WE HIT THE JACKPOT!From the moment Cleve met us at the airport with a smile about a mile long, we knew we were in good hands. The resort is run by a large extnded family who all work together to make your trip wonderful. I was hugged daily by CLeve and Ricky at the diveboat. The diving was great and Cleve makes a dive an experience of fun and safety underwater. His enthusiam is contagious. Also Cleve does an island tour in his own luxurious van. Do not miss this chance to see the island the way it really is and do not miss the mangrove boat tour...we all laughed our heads off.Kelly and I cannot wait to get back to the Seagrape..where we now have friends and feel like part of a wonderful family.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank megslack1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariela W, Front Office Manager at Seagrape Plantation Resort, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thanks Meg for this great review!! can't wait to see you and Kelly again!
Greetings from the family and Seagrape staff!

Mariela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sundridge, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

I have dove with Seagrape on several different occasion. They have always been my number one choice to dive with. The dive masters are number one and the team they have at the office and at the dive shop are so so nice. I have most of my equipment and only need a few things for the dive. Fresh towels are supplied along with fruit and water at the dock. When in Roatan dive with Sea Grape. A little out of the way but worth the trip. I never stayed with them but I would if need be.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariela W, Front Office Manager at Seagrape Plantation Resort, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Pe\ter, Seagrape and our dive Staff thanks you for that great comment on our dive shop it's always a nice to have you diving with us keep coming!!

All the best!

Mariela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

We stayed with Seagrape for seven nights. Two nights were in their "hotel" which was clean and nice but I would recommend the cottages which we stayed our other five nights. The cottages on the water are awesome. The sunset happens over your patio while you chill in the hammock on the porch. There was a bit of a loack of hot water in the shower but that's not a big deal in my book. I'll leave another great review of their dive shop.

Cheers,
Chris and Penny

Room Tip: Book the Cottages on the water. There's not a beach here but the place is still awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariela W, Front Office Manager at Seagrape Plantation Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Greetings from Roatan! Chris and Penny we appreciate your comments and we look forward to having you at Seagrape again!!

All the best!

Mariela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph City, Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

I will return! Seagrape Plantation was a great choice for my wife and I. We had five days there following a week on the island of Utila at an all inclusive dive resort. With the addition of a rental car our choice of Seagrape was perfect. In fact with the extra costs to get to Utila and the better diving in Roatan we will not return to Utila. Seagrape is perfect! The diving was amazing, well guided, knowledgeable and safely run, I was impressed with the difference in having a smaller local, family run dive operation versus the big box, crowded meat packing plant operation like Anthony's Key. As a note to divers, the diving on both Utila and Roatan is much better on the north sides of the islands, more sea life & better visibility. The rooms in the hotel section of the resort where we stayed were very clean, well maintained and provided all that we needed for a comfortable stay at a very reasonable price. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. We originally selected Seagrape based on the reviews that were so positive and I am glad we did. The positive reviews if anything, don't give proper credit to the family that runs this great little resort. There is a very nice pool overlooking the sea, access to some great shore diving right on the reef. While doing a boat drift dive I ended up right off of the pool and not 100 feet from the shore dive and snorkel access ladder I found a small cave loaded with 10 lobsters and a lionfish! There is not a sandy beach right at the resort but easy access to great snorkeling. The actual West End beach with lots of shops, dining options and bars is just a short walk of about 1/4 mile. We had a rental car which we parked near the beach for $1 an hour. The rental car also allowed us to travel and see the island at our leisure, go and do the Pirates of the Caribbean Zip Line which was amazing! The rental car was well worth the added expense and was more than paid for by our savings we realized by staying at Seagrape rather than at one of the larger & much more expensive resorts. We visited several small local villages that we would not have otherwise even known existed and were able to go enjoy some of the amenities of the larger resorts at West Bay when I was not diving. Park in their parking area and enter to shop, use the beach, bar, restaurant, beach massages and even the pool paying for the services you use at the time of service. We had the best of both worlds at Seagrapes prices. Overall we were super happy with our choice of Seagrape Plantation and we will return, the value is probably the best on the island. The only things that would make this a better stay would be a microwave in the room and a small coffee shop or breakfast bar on site. When you select Seagrape keep in mind it is not a 5 star resort and the price reflects this. From a driver's point of view however Seagrape has the big box operations beat hand's down for great dives, accommodations that met all our needs and a location that is really hard to beat for diving and not a bad choice for those just wanting the beach.

Room Tip: The hotel rooms were more than adequate for our needs and a better value than the bungalows. Rooms c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tm1sskdmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariela W, Front Office Manager at Seagrape Plantation Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Seagrape Staff and Family thanks you for your great review!!

Best wishes!!

Mariela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

My boyfriend and I visited Roatan without any hotel accommodation or dive shop reservations and was more than lucky to have found Seagrape!

The entire resort is pretty big with a few communal areas (e.g. pool overlooking volcanic rocks and ocean, common large porch with wifi, and a small gazebo right by the ocean). The resort is located a 5-10 min walk into West End town which is really great because it was very quiet and relaxing after coming back from a night of hanging out in town.

The rooms are your average budget room but comfortable enough. All rooms include a fridge and towels so be sure to bring body wash and shampoo. In the case that something is forgotten, the resort is only an 8 minute walk to the west end convenience store. The room are also kept very clean and includes air conditioning and large ceiling fan. The non-bungalow rooms include a TV however if a bungalow is available, be sure to try it out! It is a more private room with a private porch and hammock (the ones closer to the end of the resort has great views of the ocean). There is no microwave in the rooms but there is one in the main office (open early morning through 6 pm).

The resort was filled with a variety of people - missionary families, couples, backpackers -- most of the individuals that we met were scuba divers. I would HIGHLY recommend everyone to dive with Seagrape Dive center. The staff is always professional, kind, and very passionate about their job and always make sure that each diver has an AMAZING experience. Cleve, Amber, and Tony are all great dive masters and Ricky/Richard were always so helpful. Thank you for all your hospitality!! We had only planned to dive 4 times but ended up diving 12 dives in a span of 10 days. They also had the best deal I saw across West End and how can you beat a 5 minute walk from your room??

Having not planned anything, we had initially planned to move to West Bay or Utila mid-week but after having an amazing time and loving the people we met at Seagrape, we ended up staying the whole 10 day vacation.

Seagrapes is awesome, we will definitely be staying and diving with them when we return to West End, Roatan Honduras!

Room Tip: Bungalow on either side of the pool has better ocean views (no TV though but more privacy). Another...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariela W, Front Office Manager at Seagrape Plantation Resort, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Glad to know you enjoyed staying and diving with us and we do look forward
to seeing you again,

Greetings for all of Seagrape crew and family!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomball, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

This was mine and my wife's first trip to Roatan so we did a lot of online research to find what we were looking for. We wanted a quiet resort just a bit off the beaten path but still close to the action. Seagrape seemed just right as it is at the end of the main road virtually eliminating all traffic, yet is only a 3 minute stroll to the busy West End shopping & dining district.

This is truly a family run operation. Jessica picked us up at the airport right on time and her first job was hunting down our bags after they were accidentally picked up off the curb by a driver from another resort. She retrieved our bags and off we went to the resort with a quick tour of Coxen Hole (the main city on the island) and a stop at the grocery store so we could pick up a few things to keep in our room.

Upon arrival we were greeted by Mariela at the front office and assigned a waterfront bungalow. The accommodations were exactly as seen on the website and photos we had seen in our online research. Nothing fancy but spotlessly clean and comfortable. A/C was cold, mini-fridge in working order, and the bathroom was exceptionally clean. The grounds were meticulously maintained and the pool area looked like a postcard.

We made the minute long walk down to the dive shop and were immediately impressed. We are crusty old divers and can spot a good operation easily. This one is! Everything at the shop was well-maintained and the dive boat was large and looked nearly new. We were greeted by Rachel who gave us a quick briefing on scheduling dives and what to expect the following morning when we were to begin getting wet.

The following morning there were rough seas from a storm passage so Dive master Tony and boat captain Ricky took us by car to the other side of the island for a calm-water shore dive. It was the quiet part of the week so we had the crew to ourselves.

The following day the seas had calmed and we spent the next 7 days diving with the terrific crew. We were guided by Tony as well as Cleve (who has a personality as big as a truck!), Amber, and Rachel, and all knew the reefs well. They didn't just swim along while guests explored. They actively sought out interesting marine life to point out and made sure everyone got a full experience on each dive. Everyone at the dive shop was extremely helpful and friendly, and very professional in their work. Each morning our gear was already on the boat ready to go and our BC's were already on our tanks waiting for us! They even remembered to have my wife's "shorty" tanks ready for her. After diving guests left BC's on the boat and the crew took care of rinsing and storing them for the next dive.

Getting to know everyone at Seagrape was a real treat. There are 3 generations of family that run the place (4 if you count the little fellas running around the office after school) and their passion is obvious in everything do.

We typically take a mid-week break in diving and did so on this trip as well. We checked out resorts all across the island as possible places to stay on a future trip as we toured the beautiful seaside communities. After checking out several other places we had initially considered, our choice of Seagrape was confirmed as a good one. No other resort had the combination of qualities we wanted.

Seagrape is an excellent value, downright cheap by vacation standards. When I tell other divers what we paid for a week of diving and our stay there they can't believe it!

We are already planning another trip to Roatan and another stay at Seagrape.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chuckakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariela W, Front Office Manager at Seagrape Plantation Resort, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you Chuck!!! and thank you again for taking time to write such a great review!
Greetings from all of Seagrape dive crew and family!!
We will be looking forward to seeing you and Dee sometime in the near future!

All the best!

Mariela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West End
1.3 mi away
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center
2.7 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
2.5 mi away
West Bay Lodge and Spa
West Bay Lodge and Spa
#1 of 14 in West Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cocolobo
Cocolobo
#3 of 7 in West End
5.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#4 of 7 in West End
5.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
8.1 mi away
Barefoot Cay
Barefoot Cay
#1 of 5 in French Harbour
5.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seagrape Plantation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seagrape Plantation Resort

Property: Seagrape Plantation Resort
Address: Main Road West End, West End, Roatan IB3108, Honduras
Phone Number:
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West End
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in West End
#3 Family Hotel in West End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Seagrape Plantation Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seagrape Plantation Resort is a Local Family Owned and Operated Resort. It is very relaxed and quiet perfect if you just want to get away from it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Seagrape Plantation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seagrape Plantation Hotel West End
Seagrape Plantation West End
Seagrape Plantation Resort Roatan, Honduras - West End

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing