We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Place to stay Roatan West End”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Seagrape Plantation Resort
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in West End
Certificate of Excellence
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Place to stay Roatan West End”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

This was a great place to stay- economical with all the amenities – pool, AC, wi-fi, dive shop, great snorkeling with unique topography right off the dock, drinking water and the highly acclaimed Dive Master, Tony. There is no beach, but you don’t need it. Tony, the dive master was great. Apparently he was born in the ocean, and it doesn’t surprise you. He has a real zen vibe that puts you at ease instantly. He was a bit quiet at first, but opened up once he knew that we were at ease and comfortable (we were first time divers).

Mariela at the front desk was so helpful and patient and always had a smile, no matter how many questions we asked. I would highly recommend this place to stay and dive. Seeing the other places, it was surprising that this place was such a value. Its at the end of town, about a 5 minute walk from the main strip which makes it quiet yet close enough to run to the little downtown area whenever you need.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisa z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariela W, Front Office Manager at Seagrape Plantation Resort, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
Thank you for your review!!

Mariela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    89
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
77
180
60
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

I would recommend this hotel. My sister and I just stayed here for 5 days. The hotel rooms are spacious and clean and reasonably priced. The staff members are really nice and helpful.
The hotel conveniently located with its own dive shop and has a pool and right on the water.
I would also recommend the hotel to anyone looking to dive, or to learn to dive for the first time. The diving instructor, Tony is great! He is great at his job and very knowledgeable and a pleasure to be around. He instructed me with my first dive, and many more. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristen750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012

My friend and I had stayed here for one night on 4/22. We had decided to divide our stay between West End and West Bay, so we were coming from West Bay. West Bay beach is definitely much more gorgeous than West End, however there are far more things you can do in the West End that you can't do if you stay in West Bay. For instance, 90% of restaurants are located in West End. We found ourselves wasting cab fare/ water taxi fare to our commute to West End each night we stayed at West Bay.

Seagrape is located in West End, and is within about a 7-minute walk to the main street. Everything in West End is walking distance to Seagrape, so the location is really great. HOWEVER, of the 7-minute walk to the main street, about 4 minutes of it is on a dust road. At night there are only 2 very dim street lamps and so it was sort of scary for us two girls to walk to the main street to and fro late at night. Although nothing had happened to us, you can never be so sure for the future so just take precaution:)

We stayed at a bungalow with a double bed for one night. The room was clean, and there was a mini refrigerator that was included in the price. The hot showers were nice. The price for the double bedded bungalow was USD $60, which I think is very reasonable to split amongst two people.

There is an internet room right in the reception building. The rate is $1 for 15 minutes. Internet is not speedy but reasonable. They have a USB converter for an SD card so you can transfer your photos from your SD card right into the computer each night if you want (which I HIGHLY recommend you do especially if you are a diver and take photos underwater because my camera got flooded on my first dive and I almost lost all my photos from my SD card).

Mariela, the manager of Seagrape, was very kind. I think she is one of the main reasons people come back to this place. She helped book our ziplining/Gumbalimba Park tour. She also scheduled a pickup taxi to our airport. She is very warm in her emails and is willing to do anything to make your stay more enjoyable. Thank you Mariela!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fhk202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariela W, Front Office Manager at Seagrape Plantation Resort, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
Thank you for your review!!

Mariela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2012

Our stay at the Seagrape Plantation HOtel and Bungalows was the hi-lite of our trip to Honduras. We had a bungalow that faced the ocean - beautiful view and amazingly Quiet. Bungalow was clean and the fridge was a bonus. Mariella (the Manager) is so thoughtful and helpful, really nice person. This is a family owned business and you can tell because they treat everyone so well. Really Nice Pool area and the Dive Shoppe was excellent as well. Miss Rachel runs a great shop there. Equipment was all new and in great shape, the boat, captain, and Tony the dive master - we are fantastic. They can plan extra excursions for you if you want to experience something different. We were in Honduras for almost 3 weeks and we were just thrilled to get to the seapgrape and get away from all the noice, and anxiety of travelling in Honduras.
Highly recommended. Christine from Regina, Saskatchewan

Room Tip: Get a bungalow if you can. Lots of privacy, very quiet and a view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ceatea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariela W, Front Office Manager at Seagrape Plantation Resort, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Thank you Christine for your review!!! look forward to seeing you again.

Mariela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Ceiba, Honduras
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

We stayed here some years ago and didn't need reservations.
The rooms are very spacious, A/C good, clean, how showers and a small swimming pool right next to the ocean. Unfortunetelly no beach but you can get into the water through a pathway they built, just be carefool with the corals.
I would stay here again.

Room Tip: If you hsve small children I reccommend renting a vehicle if you stay here, a bit of a walk is requi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JF P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariela W, Front Office Manager at Seagrape Plantation Resort, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
Thank you for your review!!
Mariela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

Seagrapes is just far enough away to allow a break from the hustle and bustle of west end, but a beautiful 5 minute walk will have you right back in the middle of it. We love this place and go there every year. The staff is always cheerful and willing to help out with anything you might need. For a very reasonable price you can have your very own cabin overlooking the ocean with porch and hammock. The pool is a wonderful quiet place to enjoy the sunset and a quick swim. Always a wonderful time, Thanks Seagrapes!

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LorindanSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariela W, Front Office Manager at Seagrape Plantation Resort, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
Thank you for your review!!

Mariela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Seagrape for a week in February. From the initial email to the day we checked out, Mariela and the gang were all so friendly and helpful. Mariela arranged for a taxi to pick us up from the airport, gave us some good island tips, and was always there for us if we needed anything. Mario and the crew are constantly working at keeping the pool area and grounds immaculate. Sandra, the housekeeper, couldn't have been more adorable if she tried. Always singing while working hard, and leaving our bungalow nice and clean every day. We opted for the bungalow instead of a room because of the ocean views shown on their website, we were not disappointed! The room was perfect, a double bed, a single bed (which we used for our luggage), a nice sized bathroom, a closet with hangers, air conditioning, a ceiling fan, a refrigerator, and a large porch with a couple chairs and a hammock. We are very early risers and don't like to think about mornings without coffee, Mariela rented a coffee maker to us for $2 per day. There is coffee in the office, but they don't open until a couple hours after we normally wake up, it was nice to have that pot of coffee on hand. There is no restaurant or bar on site, which was a good thing for us since we were happy to have a quiet place to return to in the evenings. Lands End is next door, a good place to have breakfast or an evening cocktail. The village of West End is just a short walk away. There is no beach on site, but there is a gorgeous stretch of iron shore. The pool was a nice treat, clean and refreshing. My husband got certified to dive with Seagrape and loved every minute of it. He enjoyed the small dive groups and dive master Tony's friendly and laid back nature. If we ever make it back to the West End, we can't imagine wanting to stay anywhere else. The $60 (plus $2 for the coffee maker) per night was well spent!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArdaBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West End
1.3 mi away
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center
0.1 mi away
Cocolobo
Cocolobo
#1 of 7 in West End
5.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
2.7 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
West Bay Lodge and Spa
West Bay Lodge and Spa
#1 of 14 in West Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
8.1 mi away
Barefoot Cay
Barefoot Cay
#1 of 5 in French Harbour
5.0 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#4 of 7 in West End
5.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seagrape Plantation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seagrape Plantation Resort

Property: Seagrape Plantation Resort
Address: Main Road West End, West End, Roatan IB3108, Honduras
Phone Number:
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West End
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in West End
#3 Family Hotel in West End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Seagrape Plantation Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seagrape Plantation Resort is a Local Family Owned and Operated Resort. It is very relaxed and quiet perfect if you just want to get away from it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Seagrape Plantation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seagrape Plantation Hotel West End
Seagrape Plantation West End
Seagrape Plantation Resort Roatan, Honduras - West End

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing