We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best lodging value on Roatan.”
Review of Cocolobo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cocolobo
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in West End
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
1 review
“best lodging value on Roatan.”
Reviewed February 8, 2011

We spent the Christmas holiday at Cocolobo with friends and family. Ron and Bonnie were a pleasure to stay with. Everything from dive shop tips (go with Atlantic sea divers around the corner), food recommendations, daily sunset happy hour in the bar, everything went fantastic.

the area is quiet and very private, but still close enough to the restaurants and night life. No reason to stay anywhere else. Sunsets every evening were beautiful.... since Cocolobo faces due West. awesome experience.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jboller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    507
    55
    12
    9
    1
See reviews for
61
331
70
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Juneau, Alaska
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2011

We needed a spot for an overnight stay before leaving the island. We called Cocolobo the day before, they said no problem and they told us to just show up. That relaxed and comfortable feeling was there from the initial call through check out. The resort is modern, clean and in a stunning location. It is close enough to walk into West End for dinner and drinks, but far enough away for quiet restful sleep. I just wish that we had longer to stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunnyinAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2011

We spent 5 nights at Cocolobo and had a great time. Bonnie and Ron were there to greet us with cerveza upon arrival and were very helpful and friendly, without overdoing it. The room was simple, beautiful and kept very clean--water view from the balcony and sliding glass doors. It's a short walk via a short-cut to the laid-back little town of West End--just that distance makes it quieter. Dirt road, no chain restaurants, no high-rises. Lots of shops and local restaurants (our two favorites were the Noodle House and Beso's, though the Barefoot Beach Bar at the very end of the road was cool; also music of Brion James and the West End Players at Rick's was great on Friday night--quite the scene), though you don't go to Honduras for the fine dining. Right next door to Cocolobo is Half Moon Bay, where you can reach great snorkeling right off the little dock and have a cold beer and a bite to eat when you come out of the water. A 5 minute water taxi ride ($3 per person) or 15 minute land taxi ($10 total) gets you to West Bay, where there's a bigger beach, resorts and other activities. If you go to Cocolobo, bring your own shampoo and hair dryer if you need it, and your own beach towels. The ATMs in town aren't very reliable and most restaurants don't take credit cards, so bring cash as well (there's a safe in the room). All-in-all, a good value and a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RedSoxNationDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
137 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2011

There isn't much more to say than what has been covered in other reviews on this property. It's a nice, clean property that's quiet and relaxing. The staff does a nice job and make you feel welcome. Breakfasts ranged from good to excellent.

The hotel is a short walk to the West End, where you will find plenty of places to eat. Atlantic Sea Divers is just about a minute walk from the hotel and is highly recommended if you want to scuba or snorkel.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucWise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 21, 2011

The hosts, Ron and Bonnie, are very hospitable and generous. The location is quiet but still close to the beach and restaurants. The rooms have great views and comfortable beds. Breakfasts are huge, with a different type of "hot plate" every morning.
We were scubadiving and snorkling with Atlantic Seadivers (next door from the hotel), which was also excellent!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaY-D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 10, 2011

initially planned to stay here a week and then go to west bay, but loved it so much spent the next week there too. lost my deposit on the place in west bay, but it was money well spent. did my diving at seagrape next door which I highly recommend also.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank albertjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 9, 2011

A rare treat to feel at home, comfortable and welcomed while on vacation. The host, Ron and Bonnie, were superb as they went out of their way to answer questions, keep us informed, make suggestions, and visit and party with us. We felt like part of the extended family. Cocolobo is very relaxing and away from the tourists and cruise ship traffic. The sunsets are heavenly, the rooms are comfortable, with great views, and happy hour is a great place to meet people and start out the evening, The beaches and town are a two minute walk, where there are all kinds of food choices from high end lobster gnocchi to fast food noodle bowls. The time we spent at Cocolobo flew by and holds outstanding adventures and nothing but positive memories. The locksafe in every room and the night watchman were much appreciated safety features, not to mention the varied breakfasts and terrific service each morning. I would highly recommend Cocolobo to anyone who wants a quality holiday in a comfortable island setting.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Workisabeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West End
2.6 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
2.4 mi away
West Bay Lodge and Spa
West Bay Lodge and Spa
#1 of 14 in West Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#4 of 7 in West End
5.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
8.2 mi away
Barefoot Cay
Barefoot Cay
#1 of 5 in French Harbour
5.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mayoka Boutique Hotel
Mayoka Boutique Hotel
#4 of 5 in Sandy Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocolobo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocolobo

Property: Cocolobo
Address: Carretera Pavimentada Principal at Seagrape Plantation, West End, Roatan IB3108, Honduras
Phone Number:
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in West End
#2 Family Hotel in West End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cocolobo 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cocolobo is the most attractive up-market option for your stay on the gorgeous, unspoiled Caribbean island of Roatan. Cocolobo welcomes guests looking for a friendly island retreat. Whether you are a diver or just wanting to relax, you'll love our tranquil setting. Just 5 minutes walk from the dive shops, restaurants and night-life of West End, you can return to Cocolobo and hear only the sound of the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Cocolobo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocolobo West End
Cocolobo Hotel West End
Cocolobo Roatan, Honduras - West End

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing