We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All you could want.... and more”
Review of Cocolobo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cocolobo
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in West End
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“All you could want.... and more”
Reviewed January 9, 2011

A rare treat to feel at home, comfortable and welcomed while on vacation. The host, Ron and Bonnie, were superb as they went out of their way to answer questions, keep us informed, make suggestions, and visit and party with us. We felt like part of the extended family. Cocolobo is very relaxing and away from the tourists and cruise ship traffic. The sunsets are heavenly, the rooms are comfortable, with great views, and happy hour is a great place to meet people and start out the evening, The beaches and town are a two minute walk, where there are all kinds of food choices from high end lobster gnocchi to fast food noodle bowls. The time we spent at Cocolobo flew by and holds outstanding adventures and nothing but positive memories. The locksafe in every room and the night watchman were much appreciated safety features, not to mention the varied breakfasts and terrific service each morning. I would highly recommend Cocolobo to anyone who wants a quality holiday in a comfortable island setting.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Workisabeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    516
    55
    12
    9
    1
See reviews for
63
334
71
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nome, Alaska
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2011

We want to thank Ron and Bonnie at the Cocolobo for making our stay so memorable; you two are awesome! We had made no reservations over the New Year's Eve holiday, but thanks to a late cancellation R&B squeezed us in and we are so thankful. The setting was absolutely beautiful, the hospitality heart-warming, and the location (just a short walk from the craziness of West End) ideal. It was the perfect spot to wrap up our Honduran vacation, where we clocked many many hours poolside, and we would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gnomites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2011

We wanted to stay off the beaten path where it was a bit quieter. Cocolobo was it! It is a 5 minute walk to the center of West End. Rooms were beautiful; large, spacious and comfortable. all rooms face the ocean and have an entire wall of sliding doors which you can leave open all night and hear the ocean. Staff is wonderful; food is great and Bonnie and Ron are extremely hospitable and helpful. We spent free time on the hammocks on the large deck right outside our rooms. We were there for a week and would definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kzbc1788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 29, 2010

An incredible vacation. Ron and Bonnie really make you feel welcome. The sunsets from our room were gorgeous. The morning breakfasts were delicious. After a long day of diving, we looked forward to sitting on the patio with the other guests enjoying the great company. Ron and Bonnie really spend the extra time to make sure your vacation includes everything you wanted it to. Cocolobo's location is perfect in relation to West End. It is a short, safe walk, but far enough that you really relax.

I think the greatest compliment is whenever we said we were staying at Cocoloco, the locals working at the restaurants and bars would rave how nice it is and how wonderful Ron and Bonnie are. We will definitely be back! A tremendous vacation.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Milrtyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thiensville, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 29, 2010

Ron, Bonnie and their staff are outstanding! They made every part of our stay enjoyable, from the original booking (excellent communication) arranging transport from the airport, checking-in, very knowledgeable about the area (where to go, what to do) All facets of the stay were exceptional. The breakfast meal (included in the room rate) was outstanding, typically local fare. They do an awesome job of making you feel welcome!
I would highly recommend checking them out if you are planning a trip to Roatan.
Be sure to have Ron sing for you.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeapingWiener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuba City, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2010

Our accommodations were great. We had three in our party, my husband, son and myself. Our room overlooked the ocean. Plenty of room for three. Ron and Bonnie are a wealth of information for where to eat or anything else you need to do. The room includes a frig and a safe. The walk to town is so close but far enough away that you are not right in the middle of town. We walked everywhere. We only took a taxi to and from the airport, which Ron and Bonnie set up for us. We did venture over to the West Bay via water taxi, $3 each. If you want long sandy beaches with a lot of resorts along the Beach, go to the West Bay. When the cruise ships are there, people are there too.

Breakfast is included each day, the banana pancakes are to die for. We ventured into town each day for lunch/dinner (5 min walk) Sundowner is great bar with excellent food and views. Anthony is a great place for lunch. If you like Thai food, try the Thai place, I don't like thai food but my husband liked it. The Rotisserie Chicken place is a favorite among the tourists and the locals, we loved it, but get there early in evening, they can run out of chicken. We ate at Argentina Grill, a little pricey but ok. We never had a bad meal or got sick from any food. We ate at a different place every night and we still didn't get them all.

I would highly recommend Atlantic Divers. We booked our dives with Atlantic Divers. They were so helpful and treated you like were on vacation. They take care of the equipment, don't even try to load your equipment on and off the boat, they do it for you. Help you gear up. I felt like a queen, they gave such excellent customer service. We planned on doing at least 10 dives with them, but then we decided to get Nitrox certified and advance open water certified. We were able to do both and get all the dives we wanted. Diving is fantastic in Roatan. We didn't see everything and can't wait to go back to see more. The team of Atlantic Divers, Edwardo, Lou, Carlos, Nacho, Leo, Eva, Alex were the best! They are young but so energetic and helpful. They were nice to us old people. My son is 21 who accompanied us and he thoroughly enjoyed diving with them. The coral and fish life is amazing. I would highly recommend diving with Atlantic Divers, price is right and customer service is lst rate!

Cocolobo is a 2 minute walk to Atlantic Divers, making this location perfect. Diving sites not more than a 5-10 boat ride.

Bring you bug spray. The noseeums and mosquitoes are prevalent, just bug spray up. Can't wait to go back. Would definitely stay at Cocolobo again!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank funwarden1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2010

I went to Roatan for the third time this November to dive. I always stay at Cocolobo and have never been disappointed. I like the fact that it is not in West End, but is only a short walk to the restaurants, and the dive shop, West End Divers. Ron and Bonnie, the managers, do every thing possible to make the stay enjoyable. They offer a great breakfast, and in the evening after diving, Ron pours generous drinks.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gamecock123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West End
0.2 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#4 of 8 in West End
260 reviews
2.6 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
8.2 mi away
Barefoot Cay
Barefoot Cay
#1 of 5 in French Harbour
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
West Bay Lodge and Spa
West Bay Lodge and Spa
#1 of 14 in West Bay
535 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center
0.1 mi away
Seagrape Plantation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocolobo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocolobo

Property: Cocolobo
Address: Carretera Pavimentada Principal at Seagrape Plantation, West End, Roatan IB3108, Honduras
Phone Number:
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in West End
#2 Family Hotel in West End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cocolobo 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cocolobo is the most attractive up-market option for your stay on the gorgeous, unspoiled Caribbean island of Roatan. Cocolobo welcomes guests looking for a friendly island retreat. Whether you are a diver or just wanting to relax, you'll love our tranquil setting. Just 5 minutes walk from the dive shops, restaurants and night-life of West End, you can return to Cocolobo and hear only the sound of the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Cocolobo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocolobo West End
Cocolobo Hotel West End
Cocolobo Roatan, Honduras - West End

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing