We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“It was so great the first time, we just had to go back.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cocolobo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cocolobo
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in West End
Certificate of Excellence
South Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“It was so great the first time, we just had to go back.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2010

This was our second trip to Cocolobo in a year and we just love it. Ron and Bonnie are the best. They treat their guests like family. It is a very casual and easygoing atmosphere. The breakfasts are delicious and the rooms are spotless. The best part is happy hour at the main house. All of the guests hang out over drinks for an hour or so and most of the guests are really cool people. We had a hurricane this time and even that was fun! All of the businesses were closed and there was no electricity but Cocolobo has a generator. Ron and Bonnie opened up their personal refrigerator and fed a delicious impromptu meal for 12 guests. We can't wait to go back again and again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PrimaDawna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    473
    53
    10
    9
    1
See reviews for
51
312
68
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sausalito
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2010

I was ready to relax after spending 10 days in Guatemala as a medical volunteer with the US military. I arrived tired & thirsty . Ron & Bonnie arranged for my laundry to be done & an in room massage.The next day I was off to the beach by water taxi. I felt safe & I would go back in a second! Loved the hammock & listening to the ocean.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amacz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed for a week at Cocolobo, and it was a fantastic experience. Ron and Bonnie who manage the place are the most welcoming and warm people you can imagine. They were kind enough to invite us to join them for Canadian Thanksgiving, and when I asked who had the best key lime pie on the island, Bonnie made us one herself! The location is wonderful--secluded and quiet, but close to all the restaurants and shops of West End. The breakfast is absolutely delicious, and the staff is just wonderful. I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank niccisix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2010

We just returned from a week at Cocolobo and the place is exactly as described in all of the these positive reviews. We did lots of research to determine whether or not we wanted to stay in West Bay or West End and West End was definitely the right choice for us. There are many great bars and restaurants but its still very laid back and low key.

Cocolobo is only a 5 minute walk from the heart of West End and in a very quiet, peaceful area. The hotel is lovely with great, clean rooms, big and comfortable king beds, and a great staff. There is a fresh breakfast every morning by the pool which was a great start to every day.

Ron and Bonnie were great and did a great job giving advice on places to go and arranging transportation for us. I highly recommend Cocolobo and my wife and I definitely plan on returning.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CMJ1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2010

I did a lot of research on tripadvisor and wound up selecting Cocolobo. Loved it.

I think I had reservations initially because I wanted a beach, but in the end, I don't think I would have used a beach anyways, as it was too hot and the bugs were too strong. The hammock on the large balcony with a great view of the ocean (square on with sunset too), was just right.

The walk into west end is very short, but far enough that it's quiet - no mopeds zipping by.

Only recommendation would be perhaps more shaded areas by the pool - it's a bit exposed and hot, I'd wind up sitting in the shade by the bar.

Pictures on this site represent how the place currently looks.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nakedespresso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2010

This place is wonderful. The rooms are clean, perfect balcany view of the ocean. It's quiet, and the hosts Ron and Bonnie are helpful in many ways. Breakfast was always great and the lounge are was very relaxing. I recommend it to anyone trying to get away from it all. Leisurely walk to town (about ten minutes) and they can make arrangements should you want to get a taxi somewhere. No Beach area (rocky) but the views were breathtaking. AC is extra but we didn't need it at all while we were there.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toadybarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2010

Great, relaxing, place to unwind! The managers, Bonnie and Ron were so accomadating and made you feel right at home. The complimentary breakfast every morning was a delight! I would definitley recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kak2010sanantonio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West End
2.5 mi away
West Bay Lodge and Spa
West Bay Lodge and Spa
#1 of 14 in West Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
2.6 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
0.2 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#4 of 9 in West End
5.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center
1.4 mi away
Mayoka Boutique Hotel
Mayoka Boutique Hotel
#3 of 5 in Sandy Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seagrape Plantation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocolobo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocolobo

Property: Cocolobo
Address: Carretera Pavimentada Principal at Seagrape Plantation, West End, Roatan IB3108, Honduras
Phone Number:
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in West End
#2 Family Hotel in West End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cocolobo 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cocolobo is the most attractive up-market option for your stay on the gorgeous, unspoiled Caribbean island of Roatan. Cocolobo welcomes guests looking for a friendly island retreat. Whether you are a diver or just wanting to relax, you'll love our tranquil setting. Just 5 minutes walk from the dive shops, restaurants and night-life of West End, you can return to Cocolobo and hear only the sound of the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Cocolobo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocolobo West End
Cocolobo Hotel West End
Cocolobo Roatan, Honduras - West End

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing