We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful place to stay... Staff is fantastic, rooms are amazing!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cocolobo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cocolobo
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in West End
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful place to stay... Staff is fantastic, rooms are amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

First of all.... the sunsets! It's been years since I've seen such breath taking sunsets. They have to be some of the best in the world with a view on the deck listening to the ocean waves.

The rooms have views of the ocean, and again, the sound of the ocean is just priceless. Everything was always clean and comfortable.

And then the staff... Amazing! Krys, the property manager, is so knowledgeable about the area and the island. She knows all of the specials at the local restaurants and bars... and can tell you the best places to eat, dive, snorkel. And breakfast at Cocolobo was is incomparable to any other hotel I've been to.

I cannot wait to make a return trip!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lpeters23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoatanKrys, Manager at Cocolobo, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you Linda for the kind review!! We all enjoyed your stay and handstands :) Hope to see you back down in the near future!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    495
    53
    11
    9
    1
See reviews for
57
324
69
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

I loved my stay at Cocolobo it was everything I hoped for and more. Krystal and the staff were fantastic, facilities, location, and the price was amazing, It was also really great for meeting other travelers as it is a nice boutique hotel.

Book it you won't regret it!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller11112014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoatanKrys, Manager at Cocolobo, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thanks Anna for a great review!!! Hope the trip home was easy and hope everything is working out well!! Hope to see you both back here in the near future!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

We chose Cocolobo based on the glowing TripAdvisor reviews and it did not disappoint. First off, the people are fantastic. Krys the property manager was amazing from first booking onwards. Her recommendations on diving, snorkeling, transportation, etc. were invaluable. She also worked tirelessly to keep the place running smoothly (despite the big storm). We were fortunate enough to overlap our stay with that of Sally, one of the owners. It was nice winding down each day over some drinks at the bar, chatting with Sally. The staff (especially Heidi) provide great breakfasts and keep the rooms immaculate. The place is close to town, but quiet. Will certainly return.

Room Tip: Top floors are probably best. Good view and away from the water pump.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JordanWard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoatanKrys, Manager at Cocolobo, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you Jordan for the great review!!

I am so excited that you both became hooked on diving and look forward to your return hopefully!!

All the best,
Krys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed here in July 2013, and based on the most recent reviews, it appears that there was a management change. Nevertheless, we would still return due to the convenient location (a short walk to the West End and our dive shop of choice, Coconut Tree Divers) and the quality of the accommodations. We stayed in a room on a first floor with an ocean view. In the morning, we would read on our balcony in a hammock with a cup of coffee, and then walk over to the main house for breakfast. We stayed at Cocolobo for three nights, and each day we had breakfast that was fresh, varied, and tasty. A great start to each day. The hotel is set back from the main road in the West End, so it is a short walk to a few restaurants and bars, but far enough away that there is only peace when you are ready to sleep. Best of luck to the new management.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonmlincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoatanKrys, Manager at Cocolobo, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you so much for the review! I hope to meet you in the future!
All the best, Krys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
141 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Our stay at Cocolobo was short but memorable. It's tucked away a bit removed from town but still within a comfortable walking distance. There is an ocean view, a small little pool surrounded by trees but also has a view, and the rooms, although simple, are comfortable and functional. The bed was comfortable and the showers were hot. The secluded nature of the place while also having that ocean front property makes it feel like a bit of an oasis. The trees swish in the wind and you can hear the waves crashing as you sleep. Breakfast was good and included in the price. The staff is present and friendly. We stayed at a few places at this price point in West End and I think it was the most comfortable.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank diddleydd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoatanKrys, General Manager at Cocolobo, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for reviewing Cocolobo! I hope you will be back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

My wife and I were recently married and had our honeymoon in Honduras. The first 6 nights we decided to stay on Roatan and primarily chose Cocolobo because of the great reviews on Tripadvisor. Every aspect of our stay in Roatan was great and a large part of that was due to staying at Cocolobo and all of the help that Krys provided during our stay there.

Even before we arrived, Krys went above and beyond to help plan our trip. I decided at the last minute that I wanted to have a surprise wedding ceremony and Krys arranged everything for me. She recommended a boat tour of the island thru Bay Islands Adventures (who were also fantastic) which she went on with us. Krys secretly packed a dress for my wife and a change of clothes for me. She arranged for the boat captain to perform a simple ceremony on Pigeon Cay. Bouquet, cake, everything. Krys even took pictures. I didn't have to do a thing (which is probably a good thing for my wife).

She recommended different restaurants and the transportation all over the island for us. She arranged a massage for my wife as well.

The room itself was great, we had a beautiful ocean view from our patio. The honor bar is awesome, it was a great place for us to meet the other guests that were staying there. The breakfasts every morning were fantastic.

While we found some aspects of our stay in Roatan (and Honduras as a whole) a little bit over priced (specifically some of the restaurants), Cocolobo was not one of them.

(As a point of comparison, the remaining 3 nights we chose to stay on the mainland, in the rainforest, at a place that is billed as a 'luxury resort'. The rooms were not as nice, the staff was not as good and the complimentary breakfast was inferior. All of this for 3 TIMES THE COST of Cocolobo. Needless to say, we wish we would have skipped that part of the trip and stayed in Roatan at Cocolobo.)

I would really have to nitpick to think of some negatives, so I won't. Our stay at Cocolobo was a great experience and we can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 0Mitchell0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoatanKrys, Manager at Cocolobo, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you so much for the kind review Mitchell and Kayla!!

I truly enjoyed having you two honeymooners at Cocolobo! I appreciated being part of your ceremony on the beach!!

I hope to see you both back here for some more relaxation, drinking, eating and boating!!!

All the best,
Krys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

This was our first trip to Roatan, and we went in with high expectations of a magical island with so much to offer. Our expectations were rightly justified , and Cocolobo - the place and the staff made it all happen.

We are experienced snorkelers and non-divers and we were wanting to try it out for our first time.
Krys was super helpful in telling us what to expect and where to go for our first dive. She also had great suggestions for snorkeling as well as good food (she called us the "foodies").

Our flights got all messed up and at the last minute we had to stay 2 extra nights, and Krys was amazing - super responsive, went out of her way to help out - and most importantly - became great friends with us. Every evening we would hang out by the honor-system bar and have great conversation and meet new people and exchange stories.

On multiple nights we went out partying/dancing/socializing with Krys and her friends Tom, Sarah, and other guests from the hotel. The owners of the hotel were there from England for christmas vacation and we were made to feel like part of their family - it was amazing. My wife was not feeling well, and Krys was so helpful - she gave us all the meds and the "devices" we needed and by the end of the trip, my wife was cured! We had a fabulous time, and when we return to Roatan, we would stay at the Cocolobo in a heartbeat.

Why is Cocolobo better than other hotels in the area:
- Fantastic location - west end main town is only 3 minute walk
- Very spacious rooms
- Excellent staff and service
- Great ocean views and breeze at night - the Lily Pond for example pales in comparison
- Very well facilitated rooms
- Great hammocks outside the room
- Great balcony to hang out
- Drinking water available everywhere on the property

There is no in-room wifi - which initially bugged me - but it was actually a great way to come down to the bar (where there is wifi) and chat with everyone.

The beds in the room are massive, but the mattress is slightly hard, which for us took a while getting used to - we had a couple of sleepless nights.

If I had to give one suggestion to the management - my suggestion would be to employ a good chef so that lunch and dinners can be made special there - the space is there, the kitchen is there, the view is there. Great food in Roatan is sometimes hard to find, and there is a big untapped opportunity here.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Politilly which is an amazing room for 2 reasons: 1. Great view and ocean breeze...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yummytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoatanKrys, Manager at Cocolobo, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you so much for the great review Akshay and Shama!! aka my foodies!!

I really enjoyed all the fun, laughter, dancing and chats during your trip!! Hopefully, I will see you back here in the future!! Please post some of your photos from your trip...I am sure you got some great ones of food etc.

Have a great time in Miami!

All the best,
Krys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West End
1.4 mi away
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center
2.4 mi away
West Bay Lodge and Spa
West Bay Lodge and Spa
#1 of 14 in West Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
2.6 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#4 of 7 in West End
5.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
8.2 mi away
Barefoot Cay
Barefoot Cay
#1 of 5 in French Harbour
5.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seagrape Plantation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocolobo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocolobo

Property: Cocolobo
Address: Carretera Pavimentada Principal at Seagrape Plantation, West End, Roatan IB3108, Honduras
Phone Number:
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in West End
#2 Family Hotel in West End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cocolobo 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cocolobo is the most attractive up-market option for your stay on the gorgeous, unspoiled Caribbean island of Roatan. Cocolobo welcomes guests looking for a friendly island retreat. Whether you are a diver or just wanting to relax, you'll love our tranquil setting. Just 5 minutes walk from the dive shops, restaurants and night-life of West End, you can return to Cocolobo and hear only the sound of the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Cocolobo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocolobo West End
Cocolobo Hotel West End
Cocolobo Roatan, Honduras - West End

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing