We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will Go Back!”
Review of Cocolobo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cocolobo
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in West End
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Will Go Back!”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

The Cocolobo is the place to stay. The rooms are large and spacious. The beds are very comfortable and the rooms were very clean. The staff was gracious and never at a loss for smiles. From the hammocks located on every deck, to the dousing now and again in the pool, made for a lovely relaxing and comfortable stay. Krys, the mananger, made our large group feel like part of the Cocolobo family. She was very accommodating & knowledgable about the island and it's many offerings. She directed us to some good eats and even a little West End night life :-). I will be back to stay at Cocolobo for sure! One of the funnest and relaxing stays in my travels in years. Tx Krys!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ja S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoatanKrys, Manager at Cocolobo, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Jerrianne,

I had a great time getting to know you during your stay and look forward to your return! Hopefully, I will be able to get in a few dives with you next time!

Krys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    507
    55
    12
    9
    1
See reviews for
61
331
70
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
1 review
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Look no further, Cocolobo has it all. The attentive staff and great hospitality make this place a winner. I took a group of 12 and everybody had a wonderful time. The bar is super convenient and adds a nice touch to the entire ambiance. The daily breakfast poolside is always delicious and something you find yourself looking forward to. The rooms are airy and clean. A thumbs up from the gang at Thunder Reef Divers!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoatanKrys, Manager at Cocolobo, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you Jen!

I had a great time getting to know your divers from Thunder Reef! I really enjoyed our pool and bar time! Looking forward to you and your groups return!

Krys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 7, 2013

If you're reluctant to stay or return to Cocolobo because of a new manager, don't be. Krys is a lovely young lady that has amazing knowledge of Roatan and is excited to share it. We're divers that enjoyed her expert advise on the best dive sights. She also knew all the ins and outs of the local dining locations. Most importantly, she was friendly without being intrusive.

Good variety for breakfast. Could have eaten the Sunday muffins and banana bread every morning.

The pool was a savior on the very hot humid days. Being able to grab a cool beverage was also a plus.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonya W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoatanKrys, Manager at Cocolobo, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thanks Tonya!
It was so much fun having you two here for the week! Hopefully, you guys will be back in a few months :)
All the best,
Krys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

There was a new manager the day we arrived and she was great. Two of the owners were there as well (one from Canada, the other from South America by way of England) delightful people all around. Beautiful pool. I love the honor system with the refreshments. I can't say enough good things about this place, I would go back.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoatanKrys, Manager at Cocolobo, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
James,
Thank you so much for the kind words!! Loved having you here! Hopefully, you will come back and do some more singing!!
Krys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We visited Roatan and stayed at Cocolobo during the first week of September 2013, which we discovered was the low season. The hotel was wonderful and Cocolobo really made our trip memorable. The site is absolutely beautiful, and the owners and new manager of the property were lovely, and really went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed. They also provided great restaurant and activity recommendations, even for non-divers like us. Breakfast was delicious and the staff very kind. Krys, the manager, knows a lot about the entire island, even beyond West End and West Bay, and was especially helpful. My boyfriend suffered an uncomfortable sunburn, and Krys was prepared with sunburn remedies and advice, not to mention, she showed genuine concern about his well being and the comfort of all the guests. Other guests were similarly friendly and delightful, and I highly recommend staying at Cocolobo in Roatan for both a relaxing and fun vacation getaway.

Room Tip: All rooms have an fantastic ocean view, but the room we stayed in on the ground floor was obstructed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoatanKrys, Manager at Cocolobo, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
It was wonderful meeting you both! I hope Sean is feeling better and didn't have too much discomfort on the flights home! Hope to see you both back down for another adventure! Best wishes, Krys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Great place, good people. The atmosphere at this place managed to prove itself best in the cosmos - totally stellar! I managed to get to talk to the managers, Ron and Bonnie, a bit - who are a delight - and managed to make friends with most of the people at the place. One day, 12 of us managed to rent a catamaran for a sunset cruise. It's either "that kind of place," or I'm just an incredibly awesome friendship manager; probably not the latter.

I only used the word manage so much, because I think the owners have managed to let the Ron and Bonnie go - big mistake. The place is obviously great, but what set this place apart from the other lovely places in the same area was the great, trusting, relaxing tone that was set. You'll know what I mean when you visit.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed at Cocolobo over the past week (low season) and loved our stay. Cocolobo is a 5 minute walk to the main strip in West End in an idyllic little peninsula. The rooms, pool, and bar area are very serene, all with ocean views. If you are adventurous you can even snorkel on the reef just in front of the hotel. We spent most of the week diving with Coconut Tree Divers and many wonderful dive sites were right out front of where Cocolobo sits. We also had the good fortune to stay when 2 of the owners, Sally and David, were visiting - they showed excellent hospitality and made for very interesting conversation at the pool and bar in the late afternoons. Both have spent the greater portion of their lives living abroad in Latin America, but have recently returned to England and Canada for retirement and now come to Roatan simply for fun. Also, they got a new manager this week, Kris, who is very sweet and attentive and willing to go out of her way to help give advice about the island, diving, call for a rental car, even cheer you on during the weekly Karoke session at Blue Marlin :). Kris actually saved me when, toward the end of the week when I had trouble clearing my ears, she gave me some sudafed so I could complete my last day of diving. If you want a peaceful stay at a beautiful site with great hospitality, come to Cocolobo.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amber4339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoatanKrys, Manager at Cocolobo, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thanks again for staying with us at Cocolobo! You both were such a pleasure and I truly enjoyed helping you guys celebrate your 10 year anniversary! Hope to see you back here soon, Krys.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West End
2.6 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
2.4 mi away
West Bay Lodge and Spa
West Bay Lodge and Spa
#1 of 14 in West Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#4 of 7 in West End
5.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
8.2 mi away
Barefoot Cay
Barefoot Cay
#1 of 5 in French Harbour
5.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mayoka Boutique Hotel
Mayoka Boutique Hotel
#4 of 5 in Sandy Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocolobo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocolobo

Property: Cocolobo
Address: Carretera Pavimentada Principal at Seagrape Plantation, West End, Roatan IB3108, Honduras
Phone Number:
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in West End
#2 Family Hotel in West End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cocolobo 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cocolobo is the most attractive up-market option for your stay on the gorgeous, unspoiled Caribbean island of Roatan. Cocolobo welcomes guests looking for a friendly island retreat. Whether you are a diver or just wanting to relax, you'll love our tranquil setting. Just 5 minutes walk from the dive shops, restaurants and night-life of West End, you can return to Cocolobo and hear only the sound of the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Cocolobo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocolobo West End
Cocolobo Hotel West End
Cocolobo Roatan, Honduras - West End

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing