We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, even better staff.”
Review of Cocolobo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cocolobo
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in West End
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 25, 2013

If you stay at the Cocolobo you will been Ron and Bonnie, they are the on-site managers and they are awesome. The rooms were clean and spacious, it's super affordable, close to town and everyone that we met there was great. I would definitely go back, the breakfast was good and the beer is cold, nuff said.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bbaird303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (603)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

294 - 300 of 603 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2013

I have traveled all over the world and have stayed in hundreds of hotels, and this is the only hotel that I have returned to multiple times! While the hotel has amazing ocean views, is a good price, and offers relaxation, privacy and quiet, what truly makes this hotel is the people who run it.

Ron and Bonnie have an amazing intuition with their guests to know how involved guests want to be and who needs more guidance and advice. They completely go out of their way to make the guests feel welcome from the moment that they arrive. They work 24/7 for guests that lost their room keys, invite guests traveling alone to have a drink or have dinner with them, and create the atmosphere that makes the hotel more of a home. By the time we left the first time, we had made new friends. Each time that we returned it was like we were returning to visit friends, rather than staying in a hotel.

In September with Ron and Bonnie leaving, Cocolobo will still be a beautiful hotel with gorgeous views. However, the heart of the hotel will be missing; the piece that makes so many guests return time after time to a place where they immediately feel welcome and relaxed.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RebeccaH523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

My husband and I just returned from Cocolobo and had an amazing time. I love Roatan but it was the hotel that made our journey so special. The staff is excellent, the grounds are beautiful, the breakfast is fantastic and the location is superb. We actually ended up leaving to visit Utila and ended up running back happily, a few days later to extend our visit. Although, if the rumors are true about the managers Ron and Bonnie leaving than I would hesitate to return back. They create this special place by their warm inviting attitude, their helpfulness, and their offering of a safe, relaxing vibe and space that will unlikely be matched by alternative management. Their management style offers their guests trust and makes the place feel more like a home than a hotel. If they are remain there around this time next year, we will surely be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WanderlustGirl82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Cocolobo is located in West End. It was about a 3-5 minute walk to "the village" along the main road through West End. The B&B was very quiet as were all of the guests. The floral & fauna was lovely and the view of the ocean was great. We enjoyed our balcony hammock and the spacious room (we had oceanview room with 2 double beds and a twin bed). The shower was large and spacious as well. I was really surprised at how well the room must be sealed as we never spotted any bugs! I liked the laid back mentality of "take whatever you want from the bar and just write in the log for us" and same policy with the beer in our fridge. The breakfasts were delicious - coffee, juice, fresh fruit, granola, cereal, milk, and yogurt both days; and the "hot plate" varies daily - one day we had banana pancakes and the next we had egg & potato burritos, refried beans, and breakfast pastries.
This is a quiet place, but so is West End (at least when we were there). The bar scene in the village was noticeably locals and/or divers enjoying themselves but not crazy partying.
We rented a scooter and drove across the island to the French Key which took about 40 minutes or you can take a water taxi to West Bay for $3 per person (about 7-10 minutes).
We'd stay here again for sure!

Room Tip: Make sure to ask if your room will have an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rlbtx3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

After expecting great hosting and service, from reading this site, we got neither.

Management had clearly checked out (see intellitek's review as to why that might be), and generally the staff put about 3 minutes' effort into making sure we enjoyed the stay, spread evenly over a couple of weeks to make sure we didn't get too overwhelmed with kindness.

Given how small it is and the reputation for good hosting Cocolobo has, to say I'm disappointed would be an understatement.

Will return to Roatan - virtually every other place and service was excellent - but not to here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mellycat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

My fiance and I traveled to Roatan for a week of scuba and couldn't have asked for a better stay at Cocolobo. Sally was extremely helpful with answering questions and familiarizing us with the island. She arranged our airport shuttles and even made us a restaurant reservation. The hotel has the best location, tucked away in a quiet spot overlooking the ocean. We especially loved our porch hammock and the delicious homemade breakfast every morning. The wifi was spotty in our room, but had great service in the lobby/pool area. The bar uses the honor system, so it was nice to just tally our beers throughout the week and pay for everything together at the end.

My fiance proposed on our second day in Roatan and Sally helped coordinate a bottle of champagne and flowers sent from my parents in the US. With Sally's help and the beautiful surroundings of the hotel, it was a trip we'll never forget!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mh1387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I have nothing original to say in this review that has not been written in all the prior reviews. Great hotel and staff. We had a wonderful stay! Ronnie and Bonnie will be missed and I wish Cocolobo a smooth transition to new management. I do have one recommendation. If you need to pick a dive shop, Seagrape Plantation is very close and wonderful! Look up their stellar trip advisor reviews.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank haj1229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West End
2.6 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
0.2 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#4 of 9 in West End
267 reviews
8.2 mi away
Barefoot Cay Resort
Barefoot Cay Resort
#1 of 5 in French Harbour
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center
1.4 mi away
Mayoka Boutique Hotel
Mayoka Boutique Hotel
#3 of 5 in Sandy Bay
214 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seagrape Plantation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocolobo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocolobo

Address: Carretera Pavimentada Principal at Seagrape Plantation, West End, Roatan IB3108, Honduras
Phone Number:
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in West End
#2 Family Hotel in West End
Price Range: $111 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cocolobo 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cocolobo is the most attractive up-market option for your stay on the gorgeous, unspoiled Caribbean island of Roatan. Cocolobo welcomes guests looking for a friendly island retreat. Whether you are a diver or just wanting to relax, you'll love our tranquil setting. Just 5 minutes walk from the dive shops, restaurants and night-life of West End, you can return to Cocolobo and hear only the sound of the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Cocolobo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocolobo West End
Cocolobo Hotel West End
Cocolobo Roatan, Honduras - West End

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing