We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Vacation!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cocolobo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cocolobo
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in West End
Certificate of Excellence
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Vacation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

One of my girlfriends and I stayed here for 10 days. Wow! What a great vacation. We loved the staff and meeting all of the other travelers. I loved the complimentary breakfast every morning. It was really yummy and nice to start the day off with a great view and not having to search around the island for a meal. The price was very reasonable. Great location. We got great recommendations for activities from Ron & Bonnie. I would definitely go back!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bethie118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    462
    53
    10
    9
    1
See reviews for
50
306
66
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
126 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed at Cocolobo for two weeks and had a wonderfully relaxing time. Anna, Sally, Ron and Bonnie went out of their way to make us feel welcome and gave us great advice on restaurants and transportation. The location of the hotel is quiet, yet just a five minute walk to the heart of the West End. Breakfast is served daily and consists of fresh fruit, cereals, yogurt, juice, milk coffee, tea and a different hot dish each day. The food is delicious. We had a top floor, King bed room and were very pleased with the quality of the furnishings and the decoration. I don't think you could find a better ocean view, nicer rooms or friendlier staff in Roatan. We will absolutely stay there again on our next trip to the island.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pdxfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Spent a week relaxing at CocoLobo, diving every day in West End. Cocolobo is in the perfect location - nice a quiet, away from the main strip of West End, but only a very short walk to get there.

The staff (and owners) were very friendly and accommodating, going out of their way to ensure we had an excellent stay. Breakfast (included) was delicious and plentiful every morning.

Our room was very clean and comfortable, with an incredible view of the ocean.

Would highly recommend staying here - I hope to be back for another visit soon! :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank faulma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Cocolobo is situated only a short stroll away from the main street and the staff were terriffic. We initially had problems booking as our bank blocked transactions for the deposit from Honduras but they helped us through it so thumbs up for service.

The room had great views and the facilities were good, althought wifi is limited in the rooms so we ended up going to the main bar area to use the net, but otherwise everything else was great.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phong N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Many people come to Roatan to dive, but I came to just unwind. Cocolobo was the maximum destination to do this, so much so that I was quite content just hanging out on the grounds for most of the time. The hosts make you feel more than welcome, like you're among a group of friends, introducing you to other guests and making sure you are content and in good company. The breakfasts were great, the location perfect (tucked away from all of the hubbub of West End but a pleasant walk when you're looking for food and a change of pace), and there is low-key snorkeling a block away if desired. The buildings were designed to allow sea breezes to flow through them (so, no need for AC at all), and while I was there the surf was actually kicked up a bit from storms, so there was the pleasant crash of waves on the fossilized coral to lull me to sleep each night. Star gazing with a beer or glass of wine is a must.
Two minor items I would have liked to see improved: the internet does not reach the rooms, and the sheets were a little scratchy for me (especially after getting eaten alive from sand fleas at West Bay and having a constellation of itchy bites across my body to rub against the sheets). Not big set-backs to my stay, just constructive criticism of what would have made the whole experience "perfect".
All in all, Cocolobo WAS my destination, not just a hotel to sleep in, and I thoroughly enjoyed the stay! I truly hope I can get back there again, and in the near future!

Room Tip: All of the rooms face the water, so you can't go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yaegerbombs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Fantastic place. So welcoming. Perfect for relaxation and easy access to the scene at West Bay and the West End. Ron and Bonnie and the rest o fthe staff are very welcoming and were attentive to all of our needs - whether at CocoLobo or arranging transport or outings. We happened to stay while the owners were in town - it was honestly the best service we have ever had - they are totally focused on their customers. Breakfasts were fantastic, the afternoon happy hours and the pool were a great way to relax after days of diving and snorkeling. Quiet, clean, spacious rooms with fans and AC made down time as nice as time on the beach. Huge decks with chairs and hammocks made it especially easy to enjoy early mornings or sunsets.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank muchbutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
146 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Cocolobo is a special place -- a calm and lovely oasis just steps away from everything you could want on Half Moon Bay and West End. Every night, when the music was booming on West Bay and even Half Moon Bay, all you could hear at Cocolobo was the music of the ocean. I couldn't believe how close we were to everything -- bars, restaurants, snorkeling, etc. just steps away -- without being bothered by any of the noise that comes with a tourist beach destination.

Ron and Bonnie, Anne (one of the owners), and everyone on the staff made us feel entirely welcome and at home. Everything and everyone they recommended to us was wonderful. The rooms, grounds, and bar/breakfast/lounge/pool area were spotless. Breakfast was delicious and substantial. Their beverage prices were reasonable. The grounds were full of trees, birds, and flowers. I believe all rooms have ocean views and a big porches with hammocks. The ironshore behind the hotel kept the shoreline quiet and wild, and enhanced the nightly sunset viewing from the pool. floor-to-ceiling picture windows take full advantage of the 180-degree view of the Caribbean.

I would definitely return -- right now, if I could.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to have equally fabulous views. My one tip is to bring an eye mask if you want to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West End
2.5 mi away
West Bay Lodge and Spa
West Bay Lodge and Spa
#1 of 14 in West Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 492 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center
2.6 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#4 of 9 in West End
5.0 of 5 stars 217 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mayoka Boutique Hotel
Mayoka Boutique Hotel
#2 of 4 in Sandy Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 189 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seagrape Plantation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocolobo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocolobo

Property: Cocolobo
Address: Carretera Pavimentada Principal at Seagrape Plantation, West End, Roatan IB3108, Honduras
Phone Number:
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in West End
#2 Family Hotel in West End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cocolobo 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cocolobo is the most attractive up-market option for your stay on the gorgeous, unspoiled Caribbean island of Roatan. Cocolobo welcomes guests looking for a friendly island retreat. Whether you are a diver or just wanting to relax, you'll love our tranquil setting. Just 5 minutes walk from the dive shops, restaurants and night-life of West End, you can return to Cocolobo and hear only the sound of the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Cocolobo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocolobo West End
Cocolobo Hotel West End
Cocolobo Roatan, Honduras - West End

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing