We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great location, Great Rooms” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Posada Arco Iris

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Posada Arco Iris
Ranked #3 of 12 West End B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location, Great Rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

If you are looking for a small place to stay with a local feel, this is your place. If you are looking for 5 stars, pools, room service, and 1200 thread count sheets -- it isn't! Our rooms was clean, we opted for no AC and in January with fans on and windows open, no problems. They are screens on the windows so there is no problems with bugs. The sheets and towels are a bit tired, but it didn't bother me. If you are a sheet/towel snob, bring your own. The location can't be beat. There are free kayaks for your use and the paddles are found in the office (open 8a-8p). One night some guests were parting loudly, but I mentioned it to the office in the morning and there wasn't any other problems.

Room Tip: The stairs are steep to the second floor with no elevator, so if you have a problem with stairs, ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cafefrog83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    65
    12
    7
    1
See reviews for
25
52
27
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Arco Iris is nicely located down one of the beach across from the popular Sundowners Beach Bar. We had a room on the second floor with two queen beds and one master bedroom and bathroom. There was plenty of space, nice, high ceilings and plenty of fans to keep air circulating. Windows are completely covered with fly-screen to further keep the place nice and breezy.

The balcony was a great place to sit after a day of diving and enjoy a drink. The kitchen was well stocked with everything you need to make meals; a very convenient way to eat on a budget. Food isn't overly expensive of the island but it's not cheap either.

Staff were pretty friendly, if not a little overly directly immediate in requesting payment. Bear in mind there's a 16% surcharge on anything purchased on credit cards on the entire island, so cash is king.

Sundowners is usually open until 10pm or so, after which the Blue Marlin can be great for a few drinks until 12. We dove with Reef Gliders who were amazing and had some really great food just off the taco man across the road from the dive shop.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrenage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Arco Iris offers it all - a great location right in the action at an unbeatable price. At $42 a night per couple for a basic room you really can't find anything better.
We stayed here over Christmas-NYE this past December. The posada offers lounge chairs at no cost to their guests on the beach infront of the hotel. This little spot is nice because it is less crowded than the public area where all of the cruise ship visitors go. The rooms are basic but they include a fridge (which is nice if you want to keep cold beers/wine in the room for cocktail hour on the porch). The beds were the only thing that weren't great. They were pretty old and since the rooms don't get direct sunlight the matresses were a bit damp.
Overall if you're not fussy about the little things you'll be very comfortable here.

Room Tip: Rooms near the back are quieter (there is a restaurant at the front) but you will hear the generator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank monique p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed here multiple times while completing my house in West Bay. The location is great, the staff knows you by name and the food is some of the best in West End. They have two other locations that are newer, but this one has the best location.
I dropped a satchel containing quite a bit of cash and it was returned to me intact when I got back to my room later that day
There are more luxurious accommodations available on the island, this one is the best value.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ken W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Perfect location, Good price, Rooms dated & bed was awful & worn out, Nice staff, Will look for a nicer room next time, A TV would be nice.i did like the "rain forest" look and the beach, however small, is nice. The food in the restaurant is not great & rather pricy. The small local guy cooking on the street is very good and a tenth the cost. I hope they update their rooms. Always pay the extra for the A/C!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TNRoatan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
313 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Can't beat the location if you are staying on west end. Steps from the beach and they provide beach chairs and kayaks free of charge for their guests. Dive shops and bars are steps away and West Bay (a stunning beach) is only a 5 minute and $3 boat ride away. We stayed in the cheapest rooms with a/c. A little odd how they demand full payment for your entire stay before they even give you the keys. And if you want to use a credit card there is an 16% fee. Only had a couple interactions with the front desk and they make you feel like a nuisance. The attached restaurant is overpriced but there are plenty of other dining options with a 5 minute stroll. As for our room (again the cheapest type) - A/C (which is optional and adds about 30% to the cost of the room) is not very good, hot water and shower are just ok, and the bed is not the best. The cleaning crew is very good however. They were the only positive interaction I had with anyone who worked there.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed 5 nights. Perfect location amongst tropcial trees but still steps away from the beach. Very central. Very very clean. The maid did a fantastic job. Each room has it's own outdoor terasse which was nice to sit and have a few drinks. We did have 2 cockroaches (on 2 separate evenings) in the bathroom but I think this is common in Central America. Fridge is the room was nice to have. Would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank linedesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West End
0.2 mi away
Cocolobo
Cocolobo
#3 of 9 in West End
5.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#4 of 9 in West End
5.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
2.5 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sueno Del Mar Resort
Sueno Del Mar Resort
#7 of 9 in West End
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
2.3 mi away
West Bay Lodge and Spa
West Bay Lodge and Spa
#1 of 14 in West Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
0.3 mi away
Splash Inn Dive Resort
Splash Inn Dive Resort
#2 of 9 in West End
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Arco Iris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Arco Iris

Property: Posada Arco Iris
Address: Carretera Pavimentada Principal, Half Moon Bay, West End, Roatan IB3108, Honduras
Phone Number:
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in West End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Posada Arco Iris 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of West End-Half Moon Bay, in front of the beach with beautiful, relaxing view of the ocean in place where looking at the sunsets makes you feel like you never want to leave is located Posada Arco Iris. We have 19 units in total, different types of accommodation, standard rooms, studios with kitchenettes and apartments ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Posada Arco Iris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Arco Iris Hotel West End
Posada Arco Iris Roatan, Honduras - West End

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing