We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great location on West End” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Posada Arco Iris

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Posada Arco Iris
Ranked #3 of 12 West End B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
313 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Great location on West End”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Can't beat the location if you are staying on west end. Steps from the beach and they provide beach chairs and kayaks free of charge for their guests. Dive shops and bars are steps away and West Bay (a stunning beach) is only a 5 minute and $3 boat ride away. We stayed in the cheapest rooms with a/c. A little odd how they demand full payment for your entire stay before they even give you the keys. And if you want to use a credit card there is an 16% fee. Only had a couple interactions with the front desk and they make you feel like a nuisance. The attached restaurant is overpriced but there are plenty of other dining options with a 5 minute stroll. As for our room (again the cheapest type) - A/C (which is optional and adds about 30% to the cost of the room) is not very good, hot water and shower are just ok, and the bed is not the best. The cleaning crew is very good however. They were the only positive interaction I had with anyone who worked there.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    65
    12
    7
    1
See reviews for
25
52
27
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed 5 nights. Perfect location amongst tropcial trees but still steps away from the beach. Very central. Very very clean. The maid did a fantastic job. Each room has it's own outdoor terasse which was nice to sit and have a few drinks. We did have 2 cockroaches (on 2 separate evenings) in the bathroom but I think this is common in Central America. Fridge is the room was nice to have. Would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank linedesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

Stayed 7 nights.

Location can't be beat! West End embodies the best of what Roatan has to offer without over-commercialization! Dove with Native Sons Dive Shop next door (see review). The "Target" of mini-super bodegas is next door with everything you need. Sundowners - the best bar ever - is a 30 second walk away!

Stayed in a studio room with air conditioner (a nice luxury) and ceiling fan. Kitchen had a sink, stove, mini-fridge, and even a coffee-maker! Bathroom was had plenty of hot water. Toilet wouldn't flush properly during stay, but reported to front desk and fixed that day. Maid service daily with fresh towels (not the softest, but okay). Balcony had a table with chairs, a hammock and line to hang clothes.

Accommodations in the West End aren't necessarily luxurious, but Posada Arco Iris provides you everything you need with comfort and cleanliness. Would not hesitate to recommend or stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ITravelToEatGoodFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chi town
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

fantastic time here,quiet and peaceful, great location, views, great food and service. I love this place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChiTownJimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

I stayed at this hotel at the end of 3 month trip in Cuna and Central America.
I travelled thru Central America by motorcycle and had a pretty full agenda so I was looking to relax before returning to Australia.
This hotel was definitely the place to do it,
My room was large and comfortable with a fridge and a really comfortable bed and cleaned every day.
My private porch was a great place to relax especially with the hammock.
So close to the beach and the rest of town.
Would definitely stay here if I retuirn

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aidan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

I just stayed at Posada Arco Iris during Semana Santa and it was a great experience! The rooms were clean and the restaurant was fantastic. The location is perfect with an amazing beach right outside your front door. They have free lounge chairs and kayaks for guests which was a very nice amenity!

The only thing that could have made my stay better would be to have mosquito nets in the rooms. We stayed in a room with no A/Cso so it got a little buggy at night when the windows were open.

We also dove with Native Sons dive shop which directly next door and downed beers at Sundowners which made the trip even better!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miten P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2012

Rented #3, top floor...large unit. Clean unit and beds were okay. You will need to buy water, coffee, condiments...there is a little frig that worked good. Plenty of pots and pans and untensils. We loved the deck with table and chairs and hammock. Free kayaks and nominal fee for snorkel gear...we saw a turtle and lots of fish...We would definitely go back. Be prepared for lots of barking dogs during the night...we just put in some ear plugs. The restaurant was excellent and the service was excellent.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bobalouLosGatos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West End
0.2 mi away
Cocolobo
Cocolobo
#3 of 9 in West End
5.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#4 of 9 in West End
5.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
2.5 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sueno Del Mar Resort
Sueno Del Mar Resort
#7 of 9 in West End
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
2.3 mi away
West Bay Lodge and Spa
West Bay Lodge and Spa
#1 of 14 in West Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
0.3 mi away
Splash Inn Dive Resort
Splash Inn Dive Resort
#2 of 9 in West End
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Arco Iris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Arco Iris

Property: Posada Arco Iris
Address: Carretera Pavimentada Principal, Half Moon Bay, West End, Roatan IB3108, Honduras
Phone Number:
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in West End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Posada Arco Iris 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of West End-Half Moon Bay, in front of the beach with beautiful, relaxing view of the ocean in place where looking at the sunsets makes you feel like you never want to leave is located Posada Arco Iris. We have 19 units in total, different types of accommodation, standard rooms, studios with kitchenettes and apartments ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Posada Arco Iris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Arco Iris Hotel West End
Posada Arco Iris Roatan, Honduras - West End

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing