We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B for divers, families, EVERYONE!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sueno Del Mar Resort
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in West End
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great B&B for divers, families, EVERYONE!”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

We loved our week in Roatan, mostly because we stayed at Sueno Del Mar! We enjoyed being with friends and family, and the diving and snorkeling was terrific! The breakfasts every morning were delicious, made-to-order; Tita's Bar on the premises had delicious food as well!!
Very reasonably priced, lovely beach and very great service made this our go-to place in Roatan!! We'll be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary1145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    35
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
28
49
32
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trinidad, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

We decided on staying at Sueno after reading all the reviews on TripAdvisor and are soooo happy we did! Our stay was perfect and we truly can not wait to visit again. This establishment is low-key, kick back and filled with fantastic peeps. Every one you meet from, Ray the owner, to Stuart and Roger the divemasters, Manuel the boat captain, Miguel who picked us up from the airport, Lisa who has your back for ANYTHING you may need (ie phone you can call the States with!!), to Tita & Steph at Tita's next door...EVERYONE there will make you smile and know you are in the perfect place. The rooms are not fancy but absolutely clean and ALL of them overlook the Carribean and have a porch with a hammock! You get breakfast every morning and the fresh fruit is to die for!! We noticed the beach getting raked every morning and we had zero problems with any sand flea bites :) Truly, great place...it will be our go to spot.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatS1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014

I've stayed at Sueno the past 3 years in a row, and I have written 2 other reviews. I have little to add to those, and reviews by others seem to capture the essence of this resort: small, quiet, right on the sandy beach, clean, and quite reasonably priced. In West End there are only 3 hotels that are actually on the beach and just a few that are rated higher than Sueno. So I thought I would compare Sueno to other resorts on that part of the island. Cocolobo, Lands End, and Seagrape are on iron shore, so they don't have beach. The Beach House is a lot more expensive and in the noisy middle of town. Splash Inn, Arco Iris, and Chillies are across the road from the water and very much in the noisy part as well. No one wants to patronize Crystal Beach, for obvious reasons. Sueno offers a free generous breakfast, but at Seagrape you have to hike out for breakfast. Sueno sits across the water from the Blue Channel snorkel/dive site, my favorite on the western part of the island.

Sueno has 4 kayaks at last count, but this year I just swam out to the reef every day, and it seemed easy. Half of it is across grass until you arrive at the sandy channel. My first day out there I saw 3 eagle rays swimming in. Then 2 turtles. And then a stingray in the grass led me home. The channel is a great place to see rays. The porches have hammocks, and I made good use of them as I worked my way through their greatly expanded paperback library. Can't get more relaxed than that.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidhauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 3, 2014

If you like great diving in a relaxed and friendly resort, this is the place!
Stuart and Roger, the dive masters, are fantastic! Fun, long and safe dives...regardless of your experience level, these guys will take care of you!
Ray cooks breakfast to order while you sit and relax, couldn't be better! Lunch, dinner and drinks with fun people are right next door at Tita's. This is where you go to relax, have great food and talk with the locals. Couldn't be better or easier!
All around, this is a great vacation spot!! Relaxation at it's finest!

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean, you can't go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missouri
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Small property- 8 rooms- that includes breakfast, has balconies with hammocks and oceanviews. Its nice to sit out on the balcony and watch the sunset or even watch the full moon go down in the early AM! The bar next door (Titas) can be noisy at night.....But has excellent food for a late lunch or dinner!
If you enjoy a great dive place-(with Stuart & Roger!) which is part of the resort and a small bar (that includes barking dogs at times) plus Sueno Del Mar is one of the few beachfront spots in West End- then you will .enjoy your time! Oh and you can catch the water taxi from the dive dock to West Bay Beach- "my favorite beach"- 5 min water tiaxi ride away! Plus, you can also walk to any place to eat in West End! Small and quaint and comfortable descibes Sueno Del Mar Resort!

Room Tip: I like the second floor for better oceanviews and less bar noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NatMissouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

My most relaxing vacation ever!

My sister had been here before and knowing I am a frequent traveler for work and stay at nice hotels, she told me to set my expectations low. Little did I know what I was in for.

The property has 8 rooms and the owner lives in an apartment on the property which is on a private stretch of beach. The rooms aren't upscale or fancy but they are clean and comfortable and every one has an unrestricted view of the sunset.

LOCATION
The resort is just outside of West End Village - and situated between West End and West Bay. In my opinion, it makes it the best location on the island. West End is the village is lovely. It is full of small shops, dive/scuba equipment stores, restaurants and bars. So when the cruise ships come to Roatan, the village is overrun with tourists from the ships. If you want to be part of it, great! You are an easy five minute walk. If you want to avoid the cruiseshippers, the property is away from the swarms. Ships come in about 3 days a week so you still have plenty of time to visit the village if you want to avoid the crowds.

West Bay has larger resorts, some casual, some upscale. But having so many properties and a busy beach, it's easy to find people selling crafts on the beach and is the location to sign up for various excursions on the island (although Ray, the owner of Sueno del Mar) can help with that too. The shopping is no where near as good in West Bay as it is in West End!

BEACHES
Ray's property is right on the water and has a private stretch of beach right off the reef. There are some weeds and fish nurseries so that might not be your thing. But if you like snorkeling, you're all set - just swim a bit off the beach and you're on the reef. If what you like to do is sit quietly and soak up the sun or read, this location can't be beat. There is are a few bigger beaches right in West End (a 5 minute walk) that are cleaner and more geared to swimming. And there is a huge resort style beach in West Bay where there are a lot of larger resorts so the beach can get quite busy. West Bay is easily and quickly accessible by a water taxi but you might also convince the resort's dive master to drop you off there if he's headed that way.

FOOD
Ray serves breakfast every day and it's included in your stay. Home cooked and served in his apartment, he always has eggs, bacon, sausage, french toast, pancakes, fresh fruit, juice, coffee, etc. If you are not a scuba diver, it's courteous to let the divers eat first so they don't miss the dive boat. The quality of the food is EXCELLENT but not fancy and is served buffet style.

Ray shares his property with Tita who runs one of the most popular bars in West End. Tita's Pink Seahorse is about ten feet away from Ray's building. Tita has some tables and a bar with stools in a grass roof, open air environment about 40 feet from the beach. Her food is also excellent and great value. If you're not into what's on the menu, she will likely fix up something special for you (and has done for me). If you're staying on the property, she will run a tab and you can pay through the resort at the end of your stay. Tita is vivacious and friendly. Her place is open from about 11 to 11 each day. You have to try Tita's monkey lala's. This is the island drink and I had them everywhere but Tita makes them best. The prices are incredibly reasonable.

There are way to many great places to eat in West End than I can mention. But expect great value for your money. It is extremely easy to eat on a budget in West End. We ate at budget places and high end places and had only one disappointment (It was average, not horrible but I have forgotten the name of the place)
- Argentinian Grill, a fabulous place for a nice dinner. Don't dress up. Nice atmosphere, open air, across the road from the water with an unobstructed view. They also set up tables on the beach.
- Rotisserie Chicken, delicious, mouthwatering chicken dinner for about $7. Not fancy but great quality.
- Sundowners, a great bar right on the beach. Wonderful bartenders. Cheap beer. THE place for hockey fans.
- Chapi Catrachas - tiny, a few steps up and nowhere to sit. They serve amazing churizo baleadas. Great place, especially if dining on a budget.
- can't remember the name of the place but every Friday, one restaurant roasts an entire pig. Get there before 5 because it will be all gone if you don't.

We also went to the Vintage Pearl in West Bay. This is a more expensive, nicer restaurant. But again, value for money. Delicious food, wonderful atmosphere and great, friendly service.

ACTIVITIES
This being a dive resort, there is obviously dives going out several times a day. Stuart is the dive master and people come back year after year to dive with Stuart's boat. Snorkelers can also jump on the boat with him. The dive boat goes out a minimum of two times a day (two morning dives) and sometimes goes out for an afternoon and occasional night dive. Stuart has a small dive boat and is able to get to the dive sites before big boats from the large resorts get to the locations.

Also because this is a dive resort, you get some serious divers. It often gets quiet fairly early after dinner because the divers want to rest up. So plan to get lots of sleep! Or you can go into the village and visit one of the many, many bars if you want to stay up late.

Ray does campfires occasionally and there was one night a batch of people played poker at Tita's until the wee hours of the morning.

GETTING AROUND
There really isn't a reason to use a car to get around West End. From Ray's to the far end of the village is about 2km with lots of shops along the way.

Water taxi can get you to West Bay. Negotiate with the owner before you get on the boat. The rate from West End to West Bay could be as low as $4 and as high as $20/person. There are often several boats lined up so just go to the next boat and ask.

Taxis also vary in price. You might want to take a taxi to West Bay if you want to go for a nice dinner or to Coxen Hole if you want to see the city. Again, negotiate before you get in the taxi. We got to Coxen Hole for $12 when we picked up a taxi on the street but could have paid as much as $25/person. If you plan in advance, Ray will arrange a taxi for you with one of his friends and the price will be competitive.

SUMMARY
This is not a posh resort in a posh location. This is a wonderful and cozy guest house in a casual village. It's clean, comfortable and relaxing. You can stay on the resort if you want to avoid the crowds and activities or venture around the island for more exciting stuff. I liked it so much I booked my next trip before leaving. My rating for the room (I'm giving a 3 is to be fair to people who are used to Hilton beds - the beds are comfortable but they are not sky high with big fluffy pillows)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ktmac2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Sueno del Mar is in the perfect location in West End - it is close to the action but not in the middle of it. The rooms were clean and comfortable - all with private balconies with a view of the sea and a hammock to enjoy the view.....ahhhhh. I still dream of that view. Then add to this - The made to order breakfast prepared each morning by Ray. The sea kayaks available whenever. Snorkeling gear to use right off the beach or head out with the dive boat. And Tita's Pink Flamingo where you can get strong drinks, cold beer and lion fish ceviche (and a delicious hamburger too).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Diana242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West End
2.0 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
0.7 mi away
Cocolobo
Cocolobo
#1 of 8 in West End
593 reviews
10.1 mi away
Clarion Suites Roatan at Pineapple Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#4 of 8 in West End
260 reviews
1.4 mi away
Foster's West Bay
Foster's West Bay
#8 of 14 in West Bay
418 reviews
0.3 mi away
Splash Inn Dive Resort
Splash Inn Dive Resort
#3 of 8 in West End
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sueno Del Mar Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sueno Del Mar Resort

Property: Sueno Del Mar Resort
Address: Carretera Pavimentada Principal | Main West End Road, West End, Roatan IB3108, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in West End
#4 Family Hotel in West End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sueno Del Mar Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Included with the rooms are airport transfers, breakfast,snorkeling. We installed a generator March of 2007 to deal with the current electric problems.Single price is $79 plus tax a night, doubles $89 plus tax. Dive packages available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Sueno Del Mar Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sueno Del Mar Hotel West End
Sueno Del Mar Resort Roatan, Honduras - West End

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing