We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at Sueno Del Mar - Will return”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sueno Del Mar Resort
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in West End
California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great stay at Sueno Del Mar - Will return”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

This was our first trip to Roatan and had a great time. We picked Sueno Del Mar based on TA reviews and it did not disappoint.

Lots of pros:
- Great location in the quiet part of West End
- Restuarants and bars only few minutes walk
- Made to order breakfasts by Ray, the owner
- The resort is right on the beach, the dive shop is at the hotel, and the dock is just feet from the resort
- Clean rooms with A/C, in room safe, small refrigerator, full ocean view
- No TV or phone in the rooms
- Fantastic diving (more below). Dive sites very close to the resort.
- Package included pick up and drop off from the airport. Manuel was waiting for us when we arrived.
- Tremendous value for the price!
- Tita's Pink Seahorse next door. Perfect for lunch and your surface interval. Great chicken sandwich and blue cheese burgers

Cons
- Spotty internet connection, best connection from the balcony
- Bugs in Roatan (just like Belize). Not a Sueno issue, but bring insect repellant
- A/C just ok


Diving
We did 17 dives during the week (could have done a night dive as well, but we passed). All our dives were with Stuart or Roger. Both were very experienced and knew all the sites well. Stuart is a former Fire Captain and well versed in safety issues, first aid, etc. We only had 4 divers on most dives, but we had a few locals join us on a few of the dives. Our dives averaged about 60-65 minutes, with a few being 75 minutes. Obviously everyone was very good with air consumption. Depth ranged from around 100 (on the wreck) to 20 (above the reef) with most being 40-70 feet. Vis ranged from 50-80 on most days. Water temp was in the high 80's. All dives were drift dives. Most days we had very light to no current, but one day we went to a site called Texas, and the current was ripping. We flew over the reef, and dropped down the wall to get away from the current. There was a different current down the wall, and the current eventually pushed us off. We did our safety stop in the current and ended up several hundred yards from the boat. It took a few minutes for the boat to spot us, but we never felt at risk. That was our shortest dive at 45 minutes.

The reef was very healthy and we saw a lot of turtles, morays, groupers, lobster, crabs, and lion fish on most dives. We saw a couple of spotted eagle rays on one dive as well as a few cuttlefish. The week before a hammerhead was spotted, but we did not see any sharks. We asked Stuart to take us to see lion fish and we went to a sight about 15 minutes from the resort. He speared 3 and brought them back to Tita's, who made ceveche for us (it was really good). On other dives, he speared a few lion fish and the groupers would steal them right off the spear. We had a variety of terrain (reef, wall, canyon, cave) over our dives and overall the diving was excellent.

I had a leaky reg develop during our stay. Stuart had it taken in to a shop in town where they serviced it at no cost (a second stage adjustment was needed). My reg was ready the next morning.

Overall, Sueno was a tremendous value. The resort was nice with a great location, the diving was excellent and we will definitely return.

Room Tip: Bring a nice bottle of wine and sit on the dock at sunset. It is a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rudi_the_dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    35
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
27
49
32
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed at Sueno in the past and have on-going dives with this hotel and group. The hotel is "sweet", clean, has A/C and is at the quiet end of the road in W.End, yet you are able to walk to all shops/restaurants. Hotel patio overlooks the blue ocean: you can open the curtains and let it all in! I enjoy the diving with an easy-going group with individual attention as needed. Stuart, the divemaster, will guide you or be right by your side per your needs. No hard schedule for the divesites, with their experience, they go where the visibility is the best or known new sitings of underwater life! Diving with Scuba Diving Divas..makes it fun diving with the ladies, although men are always welcome! Sueno seems to cater to us all making it easy and relaxing. Topping it off, we all go to Tita's Restaurant/Bar right on the beach right next store for good food, ambience and drink.

Room Tip: Nice if you have a patio..(they may all have one?) to see that ocean for sunrise/sunset
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reefwaterlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roatan
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

If you are looking for a relaxing, yet adventurous place to stay, I highly recommend staying at Sueno Del Mar in West End on the island of Roatan. I recently went with Scuba Diving Divas and did one of their specialty weekends. Amazing! Great fun, at an exceptional price. True Value! We started off with a welcome cocktail, then since I'm not a diver, we still did a snorkel tour which was fantastic. I saw more marine life during that snorkel tour then in most others I've taken on the island. Sueno Del Mar is located right on the beach, so lots of fun sun in the sand, and Titas Pink Seahorse is right next door and provides great food and drinks.

If you are looking for a great value.....again I would highly recommend checking out a trip with Scuba Diving Divas and staying at Sueno Del Mar. You can Google Scuba Diving Divas for more info and find the website for upcoming trips.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Upachaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

This was our first trip to Roatan. We definitely picked the best place to stay. Located on the West End, this place is especially close to everything. But it's far enough to be private too. A 3 minute walk up the street in you have a bunch of bars and cafes to choose from. Titas Pink Seahorse bar, right next door, is an awesome choice for lunch and dinner. This place will definitely be our #1 choice on a return trip to Roatan!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fries_with_Ketchup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Recently I went to Honduras and stayed at Sueno Del Mar in West End Village and it was great. It is a quaint little eight room B&B.The accommodations were very good,clean and comfortable rooms,and the service was better.
Being a disabled traveler/scubadiver I appreciate the little things like when Ray,the owner,heard I was coming he had a ramp built for me and would bring breakfast down to my room---VERY COOL.Teta's beach bar&grill treated me very good too.The town is about five minutes from the hotel and is a lot of fun.There is always someone around for a smile a helpful hand.The Wi-Fi was a little rough but your on vacation and if needed,you can go in the town.
What can I say about the diving----ITS HONDURAS.The DMs,Brad,Rodger and Stuwart,who is also the DJ for the island, were patient and knowledgeable and great fun.

Room Tip: All the have a great view--take your bug spray.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidh240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

My husband and I have been staying and diving with Sueno Del Mar for many years. Nothing fancy, but right on the beach. All eight rooms have an ocean view facing west with a balcony for magnificent sunsets. The dive shop is on site as well as a beach bar. Breakfast is served each morning in the owner, Ray's home and is a nice way for everyone to talk about their plans for the day and to visit with other travelers.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cjack56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
quesochica
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

This hotel is great for someone who likes the small friendly posada. The rooms were simple but clean. Breakfast was good. The dive shop is experienced and you can go out snorkeling for free (w\tip) if the dive boat is going out. The owner is laid back and friendly and the owner of the beach bar is a pistol. We loved it. If you need 4-star service and high thread-count sheets, go to west bay. If you want a nice beach, great dive/snorkeling and close to town, stay at Sueno.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wayfaringviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West End
0.0 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
0.0 mi away
Cocolobo
Cocolobo
#1 of 8 in West End
589 reviews
0.0 mi away
Clarion Suites Roatan at Pineapple Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#4 of 8 in West End
256 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort
0.0 mi away
Foster's West Bay
Foster's West Bay
#8 of 14 in West Bay
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sueno Del Mar Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sueno Del Mar Resort

Property: Sueno Del Mar Resort
Address: Carretera Pavimentada Principal | Main West End Road, West End, Roatan IB3108, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in West End
#4 Family Hotel in West End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sueno Del Mar Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Included with the rooms are airport transfers, breakfast,snorkeling. We installed a generator March of 2007 to deal with the current electric problems.Single price is $79 plus tax a night, doubles $89 plus tax. Dive packages available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Sueno Del Mar Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sueno Del Mar Hotel West End
Sueno Del Mar Resort Roatan, Honduras - West End

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing