We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun time in Roatan”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Splash Inn Dive Resort
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in West End
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Fun time in Roatan”
Reviewed March 14, 2007

The Pura Vida 'resort' is a decent hotel...nothing fancy. Room is pretty small and basic but clean; with ac and a decent sized tv. The only english channel is HBO Plus. They have room safes and free wireless internet which I appreciated.

Staff are friendly enough. Was happy with the service if I needed anything.

They have a generator; which is important when staying on Roatan. Power failed for a few hours just about every other day; but it just took a sec for their generator to kick in.

Food is ok, nothing special. Pizzas are very good. Portions are large. Well except for the included breakfast, which is average but certainly acceptable. Maids do a good job each day.

I also dived with pura vida in their dive shop next door. They provide a friendly if basic service. They didn't ask to see my 'c' card; but discussed my experience with me. As an 'open water' diver on my own; they were careful to buddy me up with a DM (or trainee) who would stay at around 60' with me while other divers went deeper. They typically didn't have water on the boats which I wasn't thrilled by. You had to set up your own gear, basically do everything except carry the tanks around. But hey for 20 bucks a dive what do you want.

Overall I was quite happy with the hotel and the dive op, and would recommend it if you want to stay in West End.

  • Liked — Convenient for scuba diving. Also wireless internet & room safes.
  • Disliked — no pool, not very scenic
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Praxus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
splashinn_11, General Manager at Splash Inn Dive Resort, responded to this review, March 25, 2016
Thank you Praxus,
We are glad to read this comment. We hopw you are coming back to Pura Vida that changed its name to Splash Inn Dive Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    601
    161
    21
    3
    1
See reviews for
111
246
133
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2007

We stayed here cause we were booking at the last minute and it was the only place that would allow a short stay during the high season.
Pros: While we were disappointed that we couldn't stay on the beach, the location of Pura Vida turned out to be kind of fun. You are right accross the street from the water and the dock where the water taxis to West Bay beach stop. So that was very convenient and the water taxi trip to the beach is fun. It is not five min. as people say though.. it is more like 15, depending on how packed the boat is. . The hotel has a dock also where you can sit in the sun that mostly goes unused. The staff of the hotel were very helpful. Arranged transportation for us, booked us at area attractions and even converted currency for us. It was also nice staying right above what is considered to be one of the best restaurants on the island. Definately a good place to eat. Service in the restaurant was mixed from excellent to super slow - but we weren't in a hurry so we didnt really care. If you eat there , be aware that they dump a half a bottle of oregano on everything. I am Italian and I've never seen anything like it. You order a chicken sandwich and they cover your plate with dry ground oregano and sit the sandwich on top of it. Pizza.. half a bottle dumped on top..We finally wised up and said "NO OREGANO!" on everything we ordered and could finally taste the pizza, which was very good.
We ordered the package with airport transfers and breakfast included and were glad we did. Quick delicious omelets, pancakes etc. in the morning. If you go over your $2 alotment it's still a great deal. We were shocked at how low our food bill was for 3 days.
Hotel gave us beach towels to use which was nice and had quick, inexpensive laundry service.
Cons: The sheets are like sandpaper. The sorry old pillows are like bricks and there is NO water pressure. We showered under what can best be described as a trickle...the maid service was prompt and thorough, but the hotel is def. aging, with some peeling paint.. We felt like we were roughing it..which was kind of what we expected.
Even with the drawbacks it was somehow OK. It was kind of fun staying in the bustling center of town. We arrived on a cruise ship day and West End seemed a little crazed. But it was MUCH quieter after that. We didn't hear any noise from the area bars at night either. The staff was so helpful and really made our stay more enjoyable. If I stayed there again I would definately bring my own pillow! (and sheets!)
MUST DO Things on the Island:
Go to Anthony's Key Resort and do the $45 dolphin encounter.awesome!..not sure the $85 to snorkel with them is worth the extra charge. Go to Gumbalimba Park - right next to West Bay Beach. It is brand new and gorgeous. Monkeys and parrots will sit on your shoulder. They have a nice beach and clear kayaks and a cool new Diving simulutar that lets you snorkel 20 feet deep. We were the only ones at the park when we went ! It was awesome. Staff was outstandingly courteous and helpful.
Go fishing - you dont have to go to deep waters to fish (or snorkel) cause the reef is right there, 20 yards off shore. We got someone to take us fishing for $50 an hour. We never went out on a snorkel boat. The snorkeling on West Bay beach in shallow water is amazing. You can easily swim to the reef. Water is shallow. That is where all the boats stop anyway. We thought the snorkeling was better than the Caymans.
Also - We sprayed ourselves with Off and always sat on beach chairs and we didn't get a bug bite the whole time. (rent chairs for a $5 a day on west beach, if you tell them you are only there half a day you can have them for $2-3 - the guy even saved 2 chairs for us so we could return 4 hours later at no extra charge! (Compare that to florida beaches! ) I suppose if you are staying beachfront you dont have to rent your chair from your hotel... not sure. You dont need to worry about exchanging money before you get there. We used US dollars everywhere and got Lempiras for change- always got the going exchange rate. Experienced no one trying to rip us off. Cab drivers were all great too. But be prepared for some bumpy rides in really old beat up vehicles!
We will definately go back to Roatan. But unless you are really interested in the night life of West End, you are probably better off to try to get a hotel right on West Bay Beach. If money is an issue though, I would recommend this place..just have the proper expectations.

  • Liked — The restaurant and staff
  • Disliked — The shower and beds
  • Tips/Secrets — See review.
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank LRad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
splashinn_11, General Manager at Splash Inn Dive Resort, responded to this review, March 2, 2016
Thank you for taking your time to review us and giving us your feed back.
We hope you come back and check the changes on the whole operation. Hotel, Restaurant and Dive shop.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2006

My wife and I just returned from our Honduran vacation, which included a stay at Pura Vida. A few comments:

-Previous reviews included positive comments about the ownership and their service level. I never had the opportunity to meet them. I dealt with the local staff, who provided acceptable but not particularly pleasant service.

-The room was fine. Standard mid-end hotel stuff. It was not particularly nice. Just very average. No fridge or kitchen items.

-Pura Vida had promoted their ocean view rooms. I requested one and paid an extra 50% for it, thinking that to look out on the ocean would be nice for my wife and I. Unfortunately, none of the rooms really have an ocean view. You have to look over the roof tops in front through an awkwardly placed window. Not a good deal.

-Breakfast was included in the package. However, breakfast had a daily $5 maximum (not mentioned when i booked) and the food at breakfast was pretty poor. You could tell that many items had been prepared at the start of the day and left to sit over the breakfast hours. Service at breakfast was with scowl.

-I only ate at the restaurant one other time. My wife and I ordered a pizza. We were told that it would be 10 minutes. It took over an hour. When it finally arrived, it was chewy and unpleasant. We didn't go back. Fortunately, there are lots of place to eat in West End.

-The Dive Shop was terrific. Great staff. Terribly helpful. And when bad weather struck, they were still able to dive on the other side, unlike many other shops. My one complaint was that they were not eager to facilitate single dive days, preferring to encourage multiple dives, even though some days we only wanted to do one dive and then spend the rest of the day on the island. But that's a small issue. Overall, they were wonderful.

Bottom line, I'd suggest diving with Pura Vida but staying and eating elsewhere.

  • Liked — Its connection to its dive shop.
  • Disliked — Tough - Poor service, bad food, blah rooms.
  • Tips/Secrets — Use the dive shop. Go elsewhere.
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
splashinn_11, General Manager at Splash Inn Dive Resort, responded to this review, March 2, 2016
Thank you Jack,
Thank you for sharing your experience with other travellers. Hope to see you back again at Splash Inn Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2006

Great resort. Great food. Room rate includes breakfast, which is a nice perk. Loved the coffee! Dive Center is top-notch. It is so nice to roll out of bed onto the dive boat. Hotel provides transporation to and from the airport. Maid service daily. Front desk folks can double as a concierage. Just ask them about anything you may want to do. Pura Vida is located in the heart of the action. Couldn't ask for a better location.

  • Liked — location and a good air conditioner
  • Disliked — no complaints
  • Tips/Secrets — ask for a room in a quiet spot. Not a major issue but worth requesting.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank haj1229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
splashinn_11, General Manager at Splash Inn Dive Resort, responded to this review, March 2, 2016
Thank you for taking your time to review us.
We hope to see you back again on Roatan staying at Splash Inn Resort.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta GA
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2006

We just got back from our first visit to Roatan and are planning on returning for another trip. We plan on staying at Pura Vida agian. The location of the hotel is in the heart of West End which is where all the restaurants and bars are.The central location makes walking to the shops, the restaurants and bars very easy.

The rooms are very clean and are cleaned daily. They provide water in the room - we had no problems. All rooms have airconditioning and ceiling fans, cable TV and a safe. (Our safe was not working but we actually felt very secure and we didn't bring valuables. The front desk has a small lock box to use for passports extra cash and credit cards if you want to stash those while you dive).

The diving is incredible. Even if you are not a diver, get certified through this outfit. Safety is most important to them. They are very professional and fun plus Roatan is probably one of the cheapest places to get certified. The dive masters are fluent in many languages so it is easy to converse. The dive boats are very small but we had small dive groups so that was not an issue.

The restaurant is good and has good food and good sized portions. We ate at a few places that we were disappointed with but Pura Vida was consistent and good.

One more good thing to note is that they pick you up from the airport and drop you off - which you will be grateful for. I have to say that the taxi's are the only bad thing about the island. You must negotiate with them prior to getting in otherwise you will probably feel ripped off. The only bad thing about Pura Vida hotel is that is not on a good beach but water taxis come to the pier across the street and for $2 will take you to the best beach on the island, West Bay.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ATL_explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
splashinn_11, General Manager at Splash Inn Dive Resort, responded to this review, March 2, 2016
Thank you Moorhouse.
We hope to see you again in our little paradise.

Tnak you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chubbuck, idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2006

Clean rooms cleaned daily by great maid staff.
No bad meals. Huge portions and tasted great.
Great dive sites very close by. And if we wanted to dive a different site the dive master took us to that site. All the divemasters where excellent. Well trained. Friendly.
Wait staff called us by name after ordering our first meal.

Some people complain of small dive boats....Pura Vida's are small. But they don't pack them full of divers. We had small dive groups every dive. Dive Masters were awesome, funny, took the time before and after the dive to make sure we had a great time while diving.

First class operation in the middle of some great diving. The owners have a great location, great business philosophy(they were always there making sure our every wish was taken care of), great staff, great food.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank live2dive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
splashinn_11, General Manager at Splash Inn Dive Resort, responded to this review, March 2, 2016
Thank you Rocky,
We appreciate that you took your time to review us and we hope that yu come back to heaven very soon.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2006

Pura Vida was by far the best choice we made, we stayed for 10 days at there resort located in west end. The maids came every day and cleaned the room perfectly every time, the owner greeted us upon arrival, after we were picked up from the airport by there driver. The staff was more then friendly.

There dive operation was great as well, and made us feel very safe for our open water certification. I highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank jnicollnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
splashinn_11, General Manager at Splash Inn Dive Resort, responded to this review, March 2, 2016
Thank you Nicoll,
We hope you remember us and come back in a future. Our new name is Splash Inn Dive Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West End
0.4 mi away
Cocolobo
Cocolobo
#1 of 8 in West End
593 reviews
2.3 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
0.4 mi away
Lands End
Lands End
#6 of 8 in West End
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
West Bay Lodge and Spa
West Bay Lodge and Spa
#1 of 14 in West Bay
535 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seagrape Plantation Resort
2.0 mi away
Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Splash Inn Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Splash Inn Dive Resort

Property: Splash Inn Dive Resort
Address: Carretera Pavimentada Principal, West End, Roatan 31000, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in West End
#3 Romantic Hotel in West End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Splash Inn Dive Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in West End, on one of the best beaches on the island. The Hotel Splash Inn Dive Resort overlooks one of the most beautiful barrier reefs in the world. We will offer you personal attention and our trained staff will make your stay on Roatan an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Cancelon, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Splash Inn Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splash Inn Dive Hotel West End
Pura Vida Hotel Dive Center
Pura Vida Resort Dive Center
Splash Inn Dive Resort Roatan, Honduras - West End

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing