We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Wonderful spot, even for non-divers” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Splash Inn Dive Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Splash Inn Dive Resort
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in West End
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful spot, even for non-divers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a week and wanted to provide a review as non-divers. We chose the Splash Inn for the proximity to great snorkelling and a chance to enjoy the culture and get away from the all-inclusive scene, which we experienced a few years ago at West Bay.
We paid for half-board at Splash and found the meals to be very good, of good value and offering an excellent variety of lunch and dinner menu selections. The breakfasts could use a bit more creativity, though I enjoyed the big bowl of yogurt and fresh fruit and Honduran coffee each day. Our waiter Ben concocted a special breakfast fruit shake for us as an alternative to plain orange juice. Service in the restaurant and throughout the hotel was consistently very good.
The West End strip offers a dozen good restaurants and some stores. We recommend the Argentinian Grill and Tong’s Thai place.
The room was quite spacious and nicely decorated, with good mattresses and a huge shower for two. It would have met our needs very well had it not rained for six of the seven days, or perhaps if we had been divers. Being cooped up during the wet (but warm) weather, we would have liked to have a comfortable and shaded place to read in a guest area if not the room itself. Edith was kind enough to find a comfortable chair for me, the only one. Because of the open hallways, we kept our curtains drawn which contributed the feeling of confinement. We did not need the air conditioning, even with the windows closed at night.
Night-time noise was a problem for my husband. The inn is centrally locally on a busy urban road – a bit like Key West. You will hear barking dogs, crying babies, motorcycles, loud music until 2 a.m. and then roosters (we were in room 25). Even so, I had no problem with it.
We snorkelled 4-5 times during the week, walking in our bare feet a few hundred metres down the (recently paved) road to Half Moon Bay, just behind the white church. There, just a few minutes’ swim away, we saw enough variety of coral and fish to satisfy most snorkellers: a resting barracuda, a family of reef squid, French angelfish, blue tang, parrotfish, needlefish, a spotted eel in the grass, and dozens of other colourful fish, many of them a foot long. On one day, we joined the Splash Inn divers to a nearby dive site, but found the wildlife at that site disappointing compared to Half Moon Bay.
We recommend Splash Inn for a unique experience, but next time would stay 3-4 days and then spend time at a quiet place on the island with better opportunities for walking.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cody16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    477
    150
    19
    3
    1
See reviews for
95
195
107
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LAKEWOOD
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Based on reviews here, my husband and I spent a wonderful week at this great little hotel/diveshop/restaurant. When arriving by taxi, we had a moment of "Oh my God. What did we get ourselves into?" West End really is a developing country town. However, our doubts quickly disappeared as we began to check in and then were shown our room. Ours was the king room shown on their website and it looked exactly like that. Nicely decorated, clean, and spacious. The bed was firm and comfortable and the airconditioner worked well as did the overhead ceiling fan. Was this a five star hotel? Of course not -- not at their very reasonable rates. Yet we had it all. The grounds are kept clean and our room was quiet at night.

The dive operation was very professionally done. I would have liked a bit longer dives -- most were about 45 minutes -- but they had a lot of newbies which they seemed to do a good job of training. We had our own gear but what I saw of theirs was new and of good quality. Dive masters are enthusiastic and professional. Dive sites are five to ten minutes away and your return to their shop between for surface intervals. This provides a lot of flexibility to pick and choose the dives you want to go on. At the end of the week, you pay based on how many dives you did rather than paying one set fee. Discounts are given for more dives.

The restaurant's food was wonderful. We opted for the all inclusive and you would have thought we would have run through the menu quickly. The opposite was the case. Each lunch and dinner, it was difficult to choose as the options were plentiful. I ended up repeating a couple of dishes not because of a limited menu but because I just had to have them again. Both my husband and I gained weight. The seafood risotto was to die for.

Will we return? Absolutely.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScubaNettie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

I stayed for 10 days and did an advance dive course through them. Had a great time and learned a lot. The instructors were very qualified and patient. They are also great people, we had a lot of laughs. The actual location could not be better having so many dive sites right at your doorstep. The restaurant had quality food and friendly staff. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VancouverKris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

This last January was my fifth time in the Splash Inn. Diving is always excellent, the team is professional, the equipment is first class, prices are very good, the people are welcoming...there probably be a sixth time.Recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mcxmcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HERAKLION
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

Perfect diving place, and our instructor Thanasis was very cooperative. the night life is very close to the resort, you can go everywhere on foot. although, there was a lot of noise because of the construction in near buildings. They start work at 7 in the morning and finish at 5. The personnel was very kind and friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ELENI F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

This dive resort in located on Main Street in West End, Roatan. I had not been diving for 15 years and was quite nervous. My daughter has been to Roatan several times over the last year and has always enjoyed diving out of this dive shop. At their advice, I took a scuba tune up course which included an open water review. My dive master was very patient, but we were able to cover the material in an efficient manner and off we went. I felt more comfortable on my first dive back than I ever had been in years past. My daughter and I ended up diving with Splash Inn for 5 dives this week. We had alot of fun, felt completely safe, and saw amazing things on our dives. I definately recommend this dive shop, especially for anyone who has any anxiety about diving. Their small dive groups and individual attention will have you up to speed in no time. My daughter has her advanced open water and she also says it is her favorite dive shop. Splash Inn...West End, Roatan...roatansplashinn.com

Helpful?
Thank OHIONEC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utila, Honduras
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Spent four night at Splash in with my girl friend on a lil get away from Utila, the location is hands down the best, they have their own dive school witch comes in handy or just head down 15 feet and there is west end divers.. The location is the best.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sharlazelaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West End
2.1 mi away
West Bay Lodge and Spa
West Bay Lodge and Spa
#1 of 14 in West Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
2.2 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
0.4 mi away
Cocolobo
Cocolobo
#3 of 9 in West End
5.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sueno Del Mar Resort
Sueno Del Mar Resort
#7 of 9 in West End
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seagrape Plantation Resort
2.0 mi away
Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Splash Inn Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Splash Inn Dive Resort

Property: Splash Inn Dive Resort
Address: Carretera Pavimentada Principal, West End, Roatan 31000, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in West End
#3 Romantic Hotel in West End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Splash Inn Dive Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in West End, on one of the best beaches on the island. The Hotel Splash Inn Dive Resort overlooks one of the most beautiful barrier reefs in the world. We will offer you personal attention and our trained staff will make your stay on Roatan an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Splash Inn Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splash Inn Dive Hotel West End
Pura Vida Hotel Dive Center
Pura Vida Resort Dive Center
Splash Inn Dive Resort Roatan, Honduras - West End

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing