We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem!”
Review of Por Que No

Por Que No
Ranked #12 of 64 Restaurants in West End
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $16
Cuisines: German, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Bronx
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Por Que No? Bistro is a great place in West End. My husband and I ran into it walking around and we loved it! We became regulars for breakfast for the week we were in Roatan. The German couple who own it are doing a great job with the service and ambiance! You should def try the Big German and the Sweet German for breakfast!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank BXbella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterConnyWestEnd, Owner at Por Que No, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thanks BXbella, it was a pleasure to have you as guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    27
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
148 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Great Bratwurst”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

My wife and I stopped off for lunch during our recent stay in Roatan and loved the food here. The bratwurust was excellent and we really liked their coffee. Highly recommended. We would have gone back for a second visit, but they are closed weekends.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank igs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterConnyWestEnd, Owner at Por Que No, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thanks for your rating! Hope we see you next time again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stop for a drink”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

The heat is on, and this great Bistro from Peter & Connie has the place to stop for a relaxing drink on their deck overlooking the bay. The service is brilliant with a cool breeze that blows across the deck, I did not eat this time but will return for sure for a Bratwurst and Peter's potato salad! Home made pastries and a great atmosphere to sit relax and watch the world go by. Make sure to put on your places to visit while in West End, Roatan.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony_Dix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterConnyWestEnd, Owner at Por Que No, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Thanks Tony, we´re looking forward seeing you next time again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Tustin, CA
Level Contributor
189 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We ate lunch here. My husband had a German sausage which he said was delicious. I had a wonderful fresh salad. The pastries looked delicious. This recently redone restaurant has a great ambiance. They had wine and beer.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tdm1841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterConnyWestEnd, Owner at Por Que No, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Thank you very much for enjoing our place and your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roatan, Honduras
Level Contributor
50 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Ach du Lieber What a GERMAN Meal”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Por qué no? Why not? Whatever you call it, this GERMAN restaurant that recently opened (o5/13) is donner and blitzen when it comes to the real deal. The "very big" plate was full of authentic brats and bavarian ham, totally authentic german style potato salad, cukes in a light cream sauce, sauteed onions, saurkraut and real red cabbage - plus the salad included...... ach du lieber what a meal. Smaller portions are available. They also do breakfast.... They have a great view of the Caribbean. The place is immaculate.... Stop by and try it. We really enjoyed. - phone 9631-5811

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sully111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterConnyWestEnd, Owner at Por Que No, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you, Sully, see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Por Que No also viewed

 

Been to Por Que No? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing