We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing gem on the beach”
Review of The Sunset Grill - CLOSED

The Sunset Grill
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The Sunset Grill is located at the West End in Half Moon Bay on the beautiful Caribbean island of Roatan. It features water on both sides, the Caribbean sunset at your back and a Half Moon beach in the front. If you want to fish, kayak, or simply play on the beach, this setting supports all three. Our shore has beautiful white sand beaches protected by a living coral reef that is so close you can swim, snorkel, or shore dive just a short walk from our restaurant and bar. Oh yeah, did we mention the sunsets!
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing gem on the beach”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This place is new and right beside the Lighthouse on West bay which is really popular. The food is amazing -- and you get a doubled sided view of the ocean -- from both sides of the restaurant. Check this little oasis out. I am vegetarian and they even made a special veggie dish for me which was delicious. They also have awesome fish, lobster and all with jerk or habenero sauce!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ahanda90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    11
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“It pays!”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Great place with an amazing chef, the drinks are pretty darn good also. Say hello to the owner Ernie who I met at the airport on the way back to Miami last Saturday. Keep up the great work Ernie!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mitch L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roatan, Honduras
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth finding”
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

My family and I just had one of the best meals of our lives at Sunset Grill. The food was amazing and Brian, one of the owners, was a delight to meet. My only regret is that we didn't find this place sooner in our stay. Like every other place we've been on Roatan, it isn't easy to find. But Sunset Grill is absolutely worth the effort to locate in West End. Thanks Brian. You've started something really special.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MichaelB1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayzata, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful shrimp!”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

This place has wonderful food! Definitely find this place! It's a hidden gem! Brian was very friendly and they are working hard to get this new restaurant on the map! A must try for an excellent meal! The wine list is one of the best in the west end!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbay ,Roatan
Level Contributor
125 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“The island shrimp is addictive”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We went for drinks a few weeks ago as the setting is so pretty. We were not planning on eating anything as we had already had dinner, but Brian told us about the Island shrimp. He described them and we couldnt say No. They were the most delicious shrimp on the island. They are tangy,spicy and a big appetizer. I cannot wia tot go back and try the seafood dinner for 2. I highly recommend this place and the wait staff ae wonderful.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lovergirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian B, Owner at The Sunset Grill, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
As the weeks and months progress, we hope to see you guys here again. We are looking forward to becoming part of the Roatan Family. Thank you SO much for your words and patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sunset Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing