We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a Real Bang for the Buck”
Review of Monkey Island Beach Cafe - CLOSED

Monkey Island Beach Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: Caribbean, Mexican, American, Bar, Seafood, Pub, South American, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Monkey Island Beach Cafe offers real Tex-Mex and Seafood in an amazing beachside and seaview location in the heart of the West End. We have a full bar featuring Roatan's signature drink, the Monkey LaLa, Margaritas, Honduran and American beers and wine. We have live music several nights a week. We also offer free Wi-Fi for all of our guests. Our signature menu items include our famous coconut lobster, the biggest and best coconut shrimp and bacon wrapped jumbo shrimp stuffed with jalapeno and cheese. We also feature real Tex-Mex food including Chile Rellenos, Fajitas, enchiladas, nachos, guacamole, queso and Bob Armstring dips and free chips and salsa for every table. For the fish lovers our fishermen bring us us whatever they are catching. It might be Mahi Mahi, Blackfin Tuna, Wahoo or even spearfish taken lionfish. It varies by the season and even daily so ask your server what we have in. You can get our fish coconut style, as our tequila fish, perfectly grillled or in our fish tacos. Click on the "Website" link on the upper left side of this page to see and like our Facebook page for food and drink specials, our live music and event schedule, more pictures, special event announcements and general Roatan fun and information.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Not a Real Bang for the Buck”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We had lunch here and were a bit disappointed with the service, food and price. We had fajitas that were lacking in the Tortilla Department. Just not enough Tortillas to go with the filling. When we asked for more....none came. The price was quite high, in fact very high for what you received. This place could be more if they would just give it some vision.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dixie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    66
    30
    14
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great view great food great staff and clean ,,,,,”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Went there on a carnival Cruise , Stopped by the west end and by luck found this place. The coconut shrimp were the size of baby arms. Drinks and lobster were the best i ever had. try the monkey lala and the dirty banana you wont regret it. Cool guy named Blake the manager,, free chips and salza ,,plus there was a band getting started before i left. You guys sold me on Roatan i will be back and we will party again. . The view was to die for cause u are right on the beach.
I will be there again .......

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gary j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West End, Honduras
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC!!!!!!”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

I really like this place! The food is delish, the staff is friendly and costumer service is a wonderful change beings that it is hard to find that in Central America! Try YUM!!! Right on the beach and when it gets hot just jump in then visit the shower out back! LOVE LOVE LOVE this place!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thame, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Overpriced sub average food”
Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

Went there on band night and was tempted to eat the coconut shrimp when the door man said they were the best on the island. If so, the island has a shrimp problem-Highly disappointed. The shrimp were rubbery and overcooked. My wife had chicken tacos which were also average but tasted better at half the price. Coconut shrimp was $16 and the chicken tacos were $8. I would recommend going for the entertainment but eat somewhere else first! Suggestion: Try Rotisserie Chicken or Cafe Escondido for a great meal at a reasonable price.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great!”
Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

I read some of the other reviews. You can't compare with other places.. Stick to what is at hand. I found the service to be excellent! Period. Caring attentive servers. The food is good. Love the fish. Of course everyone would like less expensive but, it is very comparable or less than other local restaurants.. I love all the staff from owners to management, to servers! Go there. Don't miss it!
This was the first place my friend and I visited here in Roatan. We have returned every day so far in our short 6 day stay? When I return to West End, Roatan I won't fail to visit Monkey Island again.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monkey Island Beach Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing